Promise Me, Dad: A year of hope, hardship, and purpose by
The Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller From President-Elect Joe Biden, Promise Me Dad is his deeply moving memoir about the year that would forever change both a family and a country. "Biden splices a heartbreaking story with an election story and a foreign affairs story. And in so doing, he offers something for everyone, no matter which strand draws you in."--The New York Times Book Review In November 2014, thirteen members of the Biden family gathered on Nantucket for Thanksgiving, a tradition they had been celebrating for the past forty years; it was the one constant in what had become a hectic, scrutinized, and overscheduled life. The Thanksgiving holiday was a much-needed respite, a time to connect, a time to reflect on what the year had brought, and what the future might hold. But this year felt different from all those that had come before. Joe and Jill Biden's eldest son, Beau, had been diagnosed with a malignant brain tumor fifteen months earlier, and his survival was uncertain. "Promise me, Dad," Beau had told his father. "Give me your word that no matter what happens, you're going to be all right." Joe Biden gave him his word. Promise Me, Dad chronicles the year that followed, which would be the most momentous and challenging in Joe Biden's extraordinary life and career. As vice president, Biden traveled more than a hundred thousand miles that year, across the world, dealing with crises in Ukraine, Central America, and Iraq. When a call came from New York, or Capitol Hill, or Kyiv, or Baghdad--"Joe, I need your help"--he responded. For twelve months, while Beau fought for and then lost his life, the vice president balanced the twin imperatives of living up to his responsibilities to his country and his responsibilities to his family. And never far away was the insistent and urgent question of whether he should seek the presidency in 2016.
The Archive of Political Emails was founded in July 2019 to compile political fundraising and advocacy emails sent by candidates, elected officials, PACs, nonprofits, NGOs, and other political actors.Source The archive includes screenshots and searchable text from emails sent by 2020 presidential candidates. To review the Biden campaign's emails, click here.
Biden was born in 1942 in Scranton, Pennsylvania. When he was 10, his family moved to Claymont, Delaware. He graduated from the University of Delaware with a degree in history and political science and received his law degree from the Syracuse University Law School. Biden practiced law and worked as a public defender before seeking public office.
From 1970 to 1972, Biden served on the New Castle County Council. He was elected to represent Delaware in the U.S. Senate at 29, receiving 58% of the vote to defeat incumbent Sen. James Caleb Boggs (R). Two weeks after the election, his wife and daughter were killed in a car accident, which his two sons survived.
Biden served in the Senate from 1973 to 2009. During his Senate career, he chaired the Senate Judiciary Committee and the Committee on Foreign Relations for several years.
Biden launched his first presidential bid in 1987 but withdrew from the race. He launched a second presidential campaign in 2007, dropping out of the race following the 2008 Iowa caucuses, where he placed fifth. Then-candidate Barack Obama announced Biden was his choice for running mate in August 2008, and the pair won the general election. Biden served as vice president from 2009 to 2017.
From Joe Biden's election campaign website, this is a timeline of notable moments in his life.
Below are some of Joe Biden's policy positions. These are taken from the Joe Biden Ballopedia entry, where you can also find the full list of his policy positions.
The following policy positions were compiled from the candidate's official campaign website, editorials, speeches, and interviews.
Joe Biden's campaign website says he will adopt some of the following immigration enforcement policies in his first 100 days in office: "Immediately reverse the Trump Administration’s cruel and senseless policies that separate parents from their children at our border. End Trump’s detrimental asylum policies. End the mismanagement of the asylum system, which fuels violence and chaos at the border. Surge humanitarian resources to the border and foster public-private initiatives. End prolonged detention and reinvest in a case management program. Reverse Trump’s public charge rule. End the so-called National Emergency that siphons federal dollars from the Department of Defense to build a wall. Protect Dreamers and their families. Order an immediate review of Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for vulnerable populations who cannot find safety in their countries ripped apart by violence or disaster." [source]
Joe Biden proposes protecting and building on the Affordable Care Act instead of switching to a Medicare for All system.
Biden's campaign website says about the Affordable Care Act: "Because of Obamacare, over 100 million people no longer have to worry that an insurance company will deny coverage or charge higher premiums just because they have a pre-existing condition – whether cancer or diabetes or heart disease or a mental health challenge. Insurance companies can no longer set annual or lifetime limits on coverage. Roughly 20 million additional Americans obtained the peace of mind that comes with health insurance. Young people who are in transition from school to a job have the option to stay covered by their parent's plan until age 26. But, every day over the past nine years, the Affordable Care Act has been under relentless attack. As president, Biden will protect the Affordable Care Act from these continued attacks. He opposes every effort to get rid of this historic law – including efforts by Republicans, and efforts by Democrats. Instead of starting from scratch and getting rid of private insurance, he has a plan to build on the Affordable Care Act by giving Americans more choice, reducing health care costs, and making our health care system less complex to navigate." Biden also wrote in a Medium post that he would lower the Medicare eligibility age to 60. [source]
Joe Biden's campaign website lists the following key elements of his clean energy plan: "Build a modern infrastructure. Position the U.S. auto industry to win the 21st century with technology invented in America. Achieve a carbon pollution-free power sector by 2035. Make dramatic investments in energy efficiency in buildings, including completing 4 million retrofits and building 1.5 million new affordable homes. Pursue a historic investment in clean energy innovation. Advance sustainable agriculture and conservation. Secure environmental justice and equitable economic opportunity." [source]
Joe Biden's campaign website says, "The goal of every decision about trade must be to build the American middle class, create jobs, raise wages, and strengthen communities. To stand up for American workers, Biden’s tax and trade strategy will take a number of steps, including Take aggressive trade enforcement actions against China or any other country seeking to undercut American manufacturing through unfair practices. Rally our allies in a coordinated effort to pressure the Chinese government and other trade abusers to follow the rules and hold them to account when they do not. Confront foreign efforts to steal American intellectual property. Apply a carbon adjustment fee against countries that are failing to meet their climate and environmental obligations. Support strong and independent trade unions here in the United States and in every one of our trading partners." [source]
Joe Biden's campaign website list the following four pillars of his Build Back Better economic recovery plan: "Mobilize American manufacturing and innovation to ensure that the future is made in America, and in all of America. Mobilize American ingenuity to build modern infrastructure and an equitable, clean energy future. Mobilize American talent and heart to build a 21st-century caregiving and education workforce which will help ease the burden of care for working parents, especially women. Mobilize across the board to advance racial equity in America."
His website continues, "We’ve seen millions of American workers put their lives and health on the line to keep our country going. As Biden has said, let’s not just praise them, let’s pay them — a decent wage, at least $15 per hour, and ending the tipped minimum wage and sub-minimum wage for people with disabilities, and strong benefits so they can live a middle-class life and provide an opportunity for their kids." [source]
Joe Biden's campaign website lists the following five education goals: "Support our educators by giving them the pay and dignity they deserve. Invest in resources for our schools so students grow into physically and emotionally healthy adults, and educators can focus on teaching. Ensure that no child’s future is determined by their zip code, parents’ income, race, or disability. Provide every middle and high school student a path to a successful career. Start investing in our children at birth."
Biden's website continues: "Invest in our schools to eliminate the funding gap between white and non-white districts, and rich and poor districts. Improve teacher diversity. Make sure children with disabilities have the support to succeed. Create more opportunities for high school students to take practical classes that lead to credentials." [source]
*Content transcribed from Ballotpedia's 2020 Election coverage.
Biden And Harris Forge Ahead With Transition Plans
NPR - Nov. 8, 2020
Ballotpedia's Daily Presidential Press Briefing
provides a curated account of the day's most important news in the 2020 presidential election.
This section featured five news stories about Biden and his presidential campaign.
Joe Biden Announces He is Running For President
CNN - April 25, 2019
Joe Biden for President, "Joe's Vision,"
Accessed May 13, 2020
Biden formally clinches Democratic presidential nomination
AP - June 6, 2020
CNBC - August 11, 2020
The official website for the incoming Biden-Harris administration.
The official website for Joe Biden's 2020 Presidential election campaign.
Find easy-to-read information from Ballotpedia on Joe Biden's campaign financial situation.
"outside spending" refers to political expenditures made by groups or individuals independently of, and not coordinated with, candidates' committees. Groups in this category range from conventional party committees to the more controversial super PACs and 501(c) "dark money" organizations.
You can use this site to research campaign spending.
FiveThirtyEight's tracking the Democratic endorsements with all potential candidates for the Democratic ticket.
Joe Biden for President, "Joe and Kamala's Plan to Beat COVID,"
Biden/Harris Website - Accessed Nov. 15, 2020
Biden Campaign Emails: The Archive of Political Emails was founded in July 2019 to compile political fundraising and advocacy emails sent by candidates, elected officials, PACs, nonprofits, NGOs, and other political actors.Source The archive includes screenshots and searchable text from emails sent by 2020 presidential candidates.