Skip to main content

CSU

Elections

This guide contains information about American and international governments and elections.

About This Page

 

This page contains information to help you find sources related to American and international elections. It also provides links to resources related to government documents and information. You will also find how you can register to vote, change your voter registration information, or check your current registration status. 


Your Vote Matters!

From USA.gov-

Voting is a fundamental right in the United States and every vote counts. Voting gives you the opportunity to choose a candidate who best represents your beliefs, values, and who will fulfill the office to the best of their abilities. If you want your candidate in office, you need to get to the ballot box and encourage those around you to do the same. Don't know who to choose? How to Judge a Candidate is a great source of information to find out what to consider when making a decision on who to vote for. 

It only takes one vote to sway a primary or election. Don't let others choose your government officials for you. Look up your state's primary or caucus and register to vote, if you haven't already. 

Did You Know?

Only 45 percent of voters, (PDF, Download Adobe Reader) under the age of 30 voted in the 2012 Presidential election. You Americans can influence the direction of this country, but less than half of young voters are doing so. Know the issues you care about. Find out who represents your values and concerns best and vote for that person. 

(Adapted from Patricia Kenly, GeorgiaTech)

Register To Vote in Georgia

Election Basics

Fact Checking

Databases For Scholarly Research

This is a comprehensive list of databases, related to elections and political science, that are available to Columbus State University faculty and students to help with their research tasks and projects. To see all the databases available:

  1. Go to CSU Libraries Homepage
  2. Under the "Resources" Section click, "GALILEO Databases"
  3. Click on "Databases A-Z"
  4. Use the search bar to use a keyword to find related databases. 

Video

Kanopy and Films on Demand are two databases available to faculty and students that contain video content on 100's of topics and disciplines.