United Nations General Assembly Voting Data
This is a dataset of roll-call votes in the UN General Assembly 1946-2014 compiled by Erik Voeten of Georgetown University. It also contains Affinity of Nations scores and ideal point estimates derived from these votes. Data in tab-delimited format.
United Nations Roll Call Votes
General Assembly and Security Council roll call votes from 1946-present. In addition to the voting breakdown, there are links to the full text of the resolution.
United Nations Security Council Vetoes
Table listing all UNSC vetoes from 1946-present. The table indicates the Permanent Member casting a negative vote. To see how non-permanent members voted, view the attached meeting record.
European Parliament Roll Call Votes
Collection of roll call vote data from the first 6 sessions of the European Parliament (1979-2009) by Simon Hix, Abdul Noury, and Gerard Roland. Data in Excel format.
Voting records of individual MEPs, of state delegations, and of EP party blocs from 2004-present on all bills and resolutions of the European Parliament and the Council of Ministers. Also includes information on party/bloc cohesion, loyalty to national parties, and party coalitions.
Search or browse the full list of cases brought before the WTO's Dispute Settlement Body.
International Republican Institute Election Observation and Assessment Reports
Since 1983, IRI has monitored more than 135 elections in more than 41 countries.
Carter Center Election Reports
Numerous election reports for many countries going back to the early 1990s in some cases. Final reports are in bold.
National Democratic Institute Election Mission Archives
Dozens of election observation and monitoring reports grouped by region and country back to 1986.
Global Network of Domestic Election Monitors (GNDEM)
Links to hundreds of election monitoring organizations around the world, grouped by country.
Electoral observation organizations
Collection of links from the Electoral Integrity Project to the most prominent election monitoring organizations around the world.
Jeremy Darrington, the Politics Librarian at Princeton University, has created an excellent guide to foreign election data sites at the multi-country level, the electoral constituency/ district level, as well as voting data for international organizations. I encourage you to visit the site to find overseas election results. The data is located HERE
ParlGov is a data infrastructure for political science and contains information for all EU and most OECD democracies (37 countries). The database combines approximately 1600 parties, 930 elections (8500 results), and 1500 cabinets (3500 parties).
Detailed information about political regimes and transitions since 1800.
The Institutions and Elections Project
IAEP is a collection of data on political institutions and practices, and political elections for all countries in the international system between 1972 and 2005.
Election Resources On the Internet
Links to Internet sites around the world that provide complete and detailed national and local election statistics, as well as other election resources.
Expert Perceptions of Electoral Integrity dataset
Uses experts to rate whether national elections meet internationally recognized standards. Covers elections in 150+ countries, 2012+. Collects 49 indicators to evaluate eleven stages in the electoral cycle as well as generating an overall Perception of Electoral Integrity (PEI) index and comparative ranking. The Electoral Integrity Project site posts an annual Year in Election report describing the full results. See also this list of surveys that gauge the public's perception of electoral integrity.
Drawing on the reports of international election monitoring organizations and the State Department's Country Reports on Human Rights Practices, this dataset codes numerous variables about the conduct and quality of national-level legislative and presidential elections in more than 100 countries from 1980-2004. It also codes the actions of international election monitors.
Free and Fair Elections Dataset
Dataset by Bishop and Hoeffler provides ten variables to assess the quality of elections covering 169 countries over the period 1975–2011. Codes both electoral rules and rights and their application during the campaign and the actual election. Sources include Keesing’s Contemporary Archives, the U.S. State Department's Human Rights Reports, and reports from organizations like Freedom House and election observers. Data in Stata and Excel.
Derailing Democracy in Afghanistan by
This volume shows how Afghani elections since 2004 have threatened to derail the country's fledgling democracy. Examining presidential, parliamentary, and provincial council elections and conducting interviews with more than one hundred candidates, officials, community leaders, and voters, the text shows how international approaches to Afghani elections have misunderstood the role of local actors, who have hijacked elections in their favor, alienated communities, undermined representative processes, and fueled insurgency, fostering a dangerous disillusionment among Afghan voters.
Militarizing the Nation : The Army, Business, and Revolution in Egypt by
Egypt’s army portrays itself as a faithful guardian “saving the nation.” Yet saving the nation has meant militarizing it. Zeinab Abul-Magd examines both the visible and often invisible efforts by Egypt’s semi-autonomous military to hegemonize the country’s politics, economy, and society over the past six decades. The Egyptian army has adapted to and benefited from crucial moments of change. It weathered the transition to socialism in the 1960s, market consumerism in the 1980s, and neoliberalism from the 1990s onward, all while enhancing its political supremacy and expanding a mammoth business empire. Most recently, the military has fought back two popular uprisings, retained full power in the wake of the Arab Spring, and increased its wealth. While adjusting to these shifts, military officers have successfully transformed urban milieus into ever-expanding military camps. These spaces now host a permanent armed presence that exercises continuous surveillance over everyday life. Egypt’s military business enterprises have tapped into the consumer habits of the rich and poor alike, reaping unaccountable profits and optimizing social command. Using both a political economy approach and a Foucauldian perspective, Militarizing the Nation traces the genealogy of the Egyptian military for those eager to know how such a controversial power gains and maintains control.
Jordan and the Arab Uprisings: Regime Survival and Politics Beyond the State by
In 2011, as the Arab uprisings spread across the Middle East, Jordan remained more stable than any of its neighbors. Despite strife at its borders and an influx of refugees connected to the Syrian civil war and the rise of ISIS, as well as its own version of the Arab Spring with protests and popular mobilization demanding change, Jordan managed to avoid political upheaval. How did the regime survive in the face of the pressures unleashed by the Arab uprisings? What does its resilience tell us about the prospects for reform or revolutionary change? In Jordan and the Arab Uprisings, Curtis R. Ryan explains how Jordan weathered the turmoil of the Arab Spring. Crossing divides between state and society, government and opposition, Ryan analyzes key features of Jordanian politics, including Islamist and leftist opposition parties, youth movements, and other forms of activism, as well as struggles over elections, reform, and identity.
Britain and the European Union by
Introduces the UK's relationship to the EU and the impact of EU membership on the UK New for this Edition Two new chapters on Europeanisation and on The British Media and the EU Updated to include the fallout from the 2015 UK Parliament general election and the 2014 European Parliament election Examples, tables and figures updated throughout The relationship between Britain and the European Union is complex and frequently misunderstood, often as a result of misrepresentation in the media. This updated guide examines the different relationships between the various tiers of government in the UK and the EU, and how the EU's powers affect the UK, from a range of perspectives.
Covers the Parliamentary, Presidential, and European Parliament elections and EU-related referendums for 31 countries for 1990-2010. Constituency-level data is available and downloadable, graphable, and mappable.
Electoral Results in Europe (Résultats électoraux)
listed by country, contains information on electoral results, political parties in European countries
provides national election results, analysis and web sites to political parties
covers elections in Europe and provides election results, statistics and links to election news
Parties and Elections in Europe
offers information on parliamentary elections in European countries since 1945 including an electoral calendar, news, and links to political parties around the world
United Kingdom Election Results
The first stop for detailed information and analysis on British elections. Includes election results, data and information from the United Kingdom.
Information about elections in Northern Ireland since 1885
European Election Studies (EES)
The European Election Studies (EES) are about electoral participation and voting behavior in European Parliament elections as well as the evolution of an EU political community and a European public sphere, with citizens' perceptions of and preferences about the EU political regime, and with their evaluations of EU political performance. Studies include: Voter Study; Elite Study; Social Media Study; Euromanifesto Study; Media Study; Panel Study
Democratic Elections in Poland, 1991-2007 by
This book is a political history of democratic elections in Poland from the first fully competitive parliamentary elections in 1991 to the unexpected, most recent election in 2007. Until now, there has been no equivalent study covering similar developments in this, or any other, post-communist country; this book fills the gap and provides a detailed electoral perspective on the trajectory of political development in the context of post-authoritarian change. It also provides an invaluable account of the evolution of electoral processes and institution-building in the context of democratic regime development.
Popular Choice and Managed Democracy: the Russian Elections of 1999 And 2000 by
Twice in the winter of 1999-2000, citizens of the Russian Federation flocked to their neigbourhood voting stations and scratched their ballots in an atmosphere of uncertainty, rancor and fear. This book is a tale of these two elections - one for the 450-seat Duma, the other for president.; Despite financial crisis, a national security emergency in Chechnya, and cabinet instability, Russian voters unexpectedly supported the status quo. The elected lawmakers were prepared to co-operate with executive branch, a gift that had eluded President Boris Yeltsin since he imposed a post-Soviet constitution by referendum in 1993. When Yeltsin retired six months in advance of schedule, the presidential mantle went to Vladimir Putin - a career KGB officer who fused new and old ways of doing politics. Putin was easily elected president in his own right.; This book demonstrates key trends in an extinct superpower, a troubled country in whose stability, modernization and openness to the international community the West still has a huge stake.
Candidate Strategies and Electoral Competition in the Russian Federation by
In the early 1990s, competitive elections in the Russian Federation signaled the end to the authoritarian political system dominated by a single political party. More than ten years and many elections later, a single party led by Russian President Vladimir Putin threatens to end Russia's democratic experiment. Russia's experience with new elections is not unique but it does challenge existing theories of democratic consolidation by showing that competitive elections cannot guarantee successful democratic consolidation. This book explores the conditions under which electoral competition contributes to democratic development by examining impact of elections on democratic consolidation.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) - 2018 Russian Election
Report on Russian Elections - March 26, 2000
Published by the Government Publishing Office (GPO).
Governance and democracy in Africa : regional and continental perspectives by 
Election 2019: South Africa : change and stability in South Africa's democracy by
The sixth general election since the arrival of democracy occurs at a critical moment in South Africa's history. The immediate question this book poses is will the ANC manage to manufacture a sixth electoral victory despite its disastrous record in government since 2014? It finds the answer in the personal popularity of Ramaphosa, the ANC's capacity to forge political unity when confronted by the risk of losing power, established voting trends amongst older voters, a sharp decline in participation among the youth which might otherwise have produced electoral shifts, and the failure of opposition parties to present themselves as viable alternatives.
Kenya S Past As Prologue by
During the run-up to Kenya�s 2013 general elections, crucial political and civic questions were raised. Could past mistakes, especially political and ethnic-related violence, be avoided this time round? Would the spectre of the 2007 post-electoral violence positively or negatively affect debates and voting? How would politicians, electoral bodies such as the IEBC, the Kenyan civil society, and the international community weigh in on the elections? More generally, would the 2013 elections bear witness to the building up of an electoral culture in Kenya, characterized by free and fair elections.
Islam, Democracy and the State in Algeria : Lessons for the Western Mediterranean and Beyond by
Modern Algeria has been, in many ways, a harbinger of events and trends that have affected the Arab and Muslim worlds. The country's bold experiment in democratization broke down in the early 1990s, largely over the question of whether the Islamic Salvation Front (FIS) should be permitted to come to power following its victories in local, regional, and national elections. A devastating civil war followed. Now that order has been restored and the country has a new government, questions about governance, Islam and international relationships are once again at the top of Algeria's political agenda. How these issues are resolved will not only determine Algeria's future, but will also have important implications for other states in North Africa and the western Mediterranean. This book was previously published as a special issue of the Journal of North African Studies.
Democratic Evaluation and Democracy: Exploring the Reality by
Democratic evaluation brings a way of thinking about evaluation's role in society and in particular, its role in strengthening social justice. Yet the reality of applying it, and what happens when it is applied particularly outside the West, is unclear. Set in South Africa, a newly formed democracy in Southern Africa, the book affords an in-depth journey that immerses a reader into the realities of evaluation and its relation to democracy. The book starts with the broader introductory chapters that set the scene for more detailed ones which bring thorough insights into national government, local government, and civil societies' experience of evaluation, democratic evaluation and their understanding of how it contributes to strengthening democracy (or not). A teaching case, the book concludes by providing guiding questions that encourage reflection, discussion and learning that ultimately aims to inform practice and theory.
Published by the GPO.
Elections and Democracy in Africa, 1989-2007
a website that includes a freely download data set created by Dr. Staffan I. Lindberg in the Department of Political Science and the Center for African Studies at the University of Florida. The database can be downloaded in Stata and SPSS portable formats. Data sets are at the bottom of the web page.
Dynasties and Democracy by
Although democracy is, in principle, the antithesis of dynastic rule, families with multiple members in elective office continue to be common around the world. In most democracies, the proportion of such "democratic dynasties" declines over time, and rarely exceeds ten percent of all legislators. Japan is a startling exception, with over a quarter of all legislators in recent years being dynastic. In Dynasties and Democracy, Daniel M. Smith sets out to explain when and why dynasties persist in democracies, and why their numbers are only now beginning to wane in Japan--questions that have long perplexed regional experts.
Cambodia Votes by
This detailed study charts the evolution of internationally assisted elections in Cambodia beginning in 1993 with the vote supervised by the United Nations Transitional Authority (UNTAC). Although the UNTAC operation was unprecedented in its size and political scope, the less-than-democratic outcome of the 1993 vote (with Hun Sen and his Cambodian People's Party losing but remaining in power) began two decades of internationally assisted elections manipulated and controlled by Hun Sen and the CPP. Since then, disparate international actors have been complicit in supporting 'authoritarian elections' while promoting a more democratic and transparent electoral process. This has produced a relatively stable political-economic system serving the interests of a powerful and wealthy ruling elite but at the expense of overall positive socio-economic and political change. It has also allowed opposition forces to co-exist alongside a repressive state and to compete in elections that still hold out the possibility for change.
The Dynamics of Conflict and Peace in Contemporary South Asia by
This book engages with the concept, true value, and function of democracy in South Asia against the background of real social conditions for the promotion of peaceful development in the region. In the book, the issue of peaceful social development is defined as the conditions under which the maintenance of social order and social development is achieved - not by violent compulsion but through the negotiation of intentions or interests among members of society. The book assesses the issue of peaceful social development and demonstrates that the maintenance of such conditions for long periods is a necessary requirement for the political, economic, and cultural development of a society and state. Chapters argue that, through the post-colonial historical trajectory of South Asia, it has become commonly understood that democracy is the better, if not the best, political system and value for that purpose. Additionally, the book claims that, while democratization and the deepening of democracy have been broadly discussed in the region, the peace that democracy is supposed to promote has been in serious danger, especially in the 21st century. A timely survey and re-evaluation of democracy and peaceful development in South Asia, this book will be of interest to academics in the field of South Asian Studies, Peace and Conflict Studies and Asian Politics and Security.
Top-Down Democracy in South Korea by
While popular movements in South Korea rightly grab the headlines for forcing political change and holding leaders to account, those movements are only part of the story of the construction and practice of democracy. In Top-Down Democracy in South Korea, Erik Mobrand documents another part ? the elite-led design and management of electoral and party institutions. Even as the country left authoritarian rule behind, elites have responded to freer and fairer elections by entrenching rather than abandoning exclusionary practices and forms of party organization. Exploring South Korea?s political development from 1945 through the end of dictatorship in the 1980s and into the twenty-first century, Mobrand challenges the view that the origins of the postauthoritarian political system lie in a series of popular movements that eventually undid repression. He argues that we should think about democratization not as the establishment of an entirely new system, but as the subtle blending of new formal rules with earlier authority structures, political institutions, and legitimizing norms.
Shifting the Meaning of Democracy: Race, Politics, and Culture in the United States and Brazil by
This book offers a historical analysis of one of the most striking and dramatic transformations to take place in Brazil and the United States during the twentieth century--the redefinition of the concepts of nation and democracy in racial terms. The multilateral political debates that occurred between 1930 and 1945 pushed and pulled both states towards more racially inclusive political ideals and nationalisms. Both countries utilized cultural production to transmit these racial political messages. At times working collaboratively, Brazilian and U.S. officials deployed the concept of "racial democracy" as a national security strategy, one meant to suppress the existential threats perceived to be posed by World War II and by the political agendas of communists, fascists, and blacks. Consequently, official racial democracy was limited in its ability to address racial inequities in the United States and Brazil. Shifting the Meaning of Democracy helps to explain the historical roots of a contemporary phenomenon: the coexistence of widespread antiracist ideals with enduring racial inequality.
From Development to Dictatorship : Bolivia and the Alliance for Progress in the Kennedy Era by
During the most idealistic years of John F. Kennedy's Alliance for Progress development program, Bolivia was the highest per capita recipient of U.S. foreign aid in Latin America. Nonetheless, Washington's modernization programs in early 1960s Bolivia ended up on a collision course with important sectors of the country's civil society, including radical workers, rebellious students, and a plethora of rightwing and leftwing political parties. In From Development to Dictatorship, Thomas C. Field Jr. reconstructs the untold story of USAID's first years in Bolivia, including the country's 1964 military coup d'état.
Understanding Central America : Global Forces, Rebellion, and Change by
Understanding Central America explains how domestic, global, political and economic forces have shaped rebellion and regime change in Costa Rica, Nicaragua, El Salvador, Guatemala, and Honduras throughout their histories, during the often-turbulent 1970s and since. The text provides students a comprehensive coverage of Central America, political science, and international relations. The authors explain the origins and development of the region's political conflicts, their resolution and ongoing political change. This Sixth Edition provides the most up-to-date information on the recent political changes in each of the five countries presented.
Democracy from Above?: The Unfulfilled Promise of Nationally Mandated Participatory Reforms by
People are increasingly unhappy with their governments in democracies around the world. In countries as diverse as India, Ecuador, and Uganda, governments are responding to frustrations by mandating greater citizen participation at the local and state level. Officials embrace participatory reforms, believing that citizen councils and committees lead to improved accountability and more informed communities. Yet there's been little research on the efficacy of these efforts to improve democracy, despite an explosion in their popularity since the mid-1980s. Democracy from Above? tests the hypothesis that top-down reforms strengthen democracies and evaluates the conditions that affect their success. Stephanie L. McNulty addresses the global context of participatory reforms in developing nations. She observes and interprets what happens after greater citizen involvement is mandated in seventeen countries, with close case studies of Guatemala, Bolivia, and Peru. The first cross-national comparison on this issue, Democracy from Above? explores whether the reforms effectively redress the persistent problems of discrimination, elite capture, clientelism, and corruption in the countries that adopt them. As officials and reformers around the world and at every level of government look to strengthen citizen involvement and confidence in the political process, McNulty provides a clear understanding of the possibilities and limitations of nationally mandated participatory reforms.
by Karen Lindvall-Larson, retired Latin American Studies Bibliographer, a chronology of elections since independence at the municipal, state, and federal levels in selected Spanish-speaking Latin American countries that also lists sources of statistics for each election as identified. Other countries are added as they are completed.
Latin American Electoral Data - Latin American Electronic Data Archive (LAEDA)
Data collection from the University of Texas. Links to Latin American elections data by country.
contains recent and archived election information and links to public web resources.
contains summaries of the electoral systems in Latin America.
a non-governmental Internet-based project from Georgetown University that provides reference materials, primary documents, comparative studies, and statistical data for countries in the Western Hemisphere.
