This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
Trump was born in Queens, New York, in 1946.[source] He attended Fordham University before transferring to the Wharton School of Finance at the University of Pennsylvania, earning a B.S. in economics in 1968.[source]
After graduation, Trump joined his family's company, Elizabeth Trump & Son. He took control of the company in 1971 and later renamed it the Trump Organization.[source] He was involved in various real estate and other business ventures in the following years. From 2004 until 2015, Trump hosted and served as executive producer of The Apprentice on NBC.[source][source]
In 1999, Trump ran as a Reform Party presidential candidate; he withdrew from the race in February 2000.[source][source] Between 1987 and 2012, he changed his official party affiliation five times, registering most recently as a Republican in April 2012.[source]
Trump declared his candidacy for the 2016 presidential election on June 16, 2015, and officially received the nomination of the Republican Party on July 19, 2016, at the Republican National Convention.
On November 8, 2016, Trump was elected the 45th president of the United States. He received 304 electoral votes to Hillary Clinton's 227.[source]
*From Ballotpedia biography of Donald Trump. You can view the full entry on the President as well.
Below is an abbreviated outline of Trump's professional and political career:
The following policy positions were compiled from the candidate's official campaign website, editorials, speeches, and interviews.
Donald Trump's campaign website says, "President Trump has enforced immigration laws to protect American communities and American jobs. Upon entering office, President Trump called on Congress to fully fund a wall along the southern border, to close legal loopholes that enable illegal immigration, to end chain migration, and to eliminate the visa lottery program. Under President Trump’s leadership, the Department of Homeland Security took action to wind down the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program in an orderly fashion, following the assessment of the Department of Justice (DOJ) that DACA lacks legal authorization. The Department of Homeland Security launched the office of Victims of Immigration Crime Engagement (VOICE). The President released his immigration reform proposal which calls for the transition to a merit-based immigration plan." [source]
Donald Trump's campaign website says, "President Trump has worked to improve access to affordable quality health care. As part of the landmark Tax Cuts and Jobs Act President Trump repealed the individual mandate, which forced people to buy expensive insurance and taxed those who couldn’t afford it. President Trump signed a six-year extension of CHIP to fund healthcare for 9 million. President Trump has mobilized his entire administration to address drug addiction and opioid abuse by declaring the opioid crisis a nationwide public health emergency." [source]
Donald Trump's campaign website says that "President Trump has approved the infrastructure and provided the resources needed to unleash oil and gas production in the U.S. The administration approved the Keystone XL and Dakota Access pipelines, supporting an estimated total of 42,000 jobs and $2 billion in wages. President Trump rescinded President Obama’s costly Clean Power Plan and instead has proposed the Affordable Clean Energy Rule. In addition to the Clean Power Plan, the Trump administration has rescinded many costly Obama-era regulations." [source]
Donald Trump's campaign website says, "President Trump has kept his promise to crack down on trade cheaters and to promote fairer and equal trade for all Americans. In his first year in office, President Trump took action to protect America’s critical steel and aluminum industries, which were harmed by unfair trade practices and global excess capacity. One of President Trump’s first actions was to withdraw the United States from the Trans-Pacific Partnership, advancing his agenda to protect American workers. The Trump Administration successfully litigated WTO disputes targeting unfair trade practices and protect our right to enact fair trade laws." [source]
Donald Trump's campaign website says, "President Trump is unleashing economic growth and jobs. Since his election, the Trump administration’s pro-growth policies have generated 6 million new jobs, the unemployment rate has fallen to its lowest point in 50 years, and wages have grown at more than 3% for 10 months in a row. Under President Trump’s leadership, Congress passed historic tax cuts and relief for hard-working Americans. The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act. U.S. Gross Domestic Product (GDP) growth has soared under President Trump, topping 3% in 4 quarters under his administration." [source]
Donald Trump's campaign website says, "President Trump’s proposed budgets have made school choice a priority. The Trump Administration successfully implemented the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) to empower states with the flexibility they need to educate their students. The Trump Administration implemented the year-round distribution of Pell grants, instead of limiting these grants to the spring and fall semesters. The Trump Administration brought in financial experts to modernize the way FSA offers and services student loans." [source]
This section featured five news stories about Trump and his presidential campaign. For a complete timeline of Trump's campaign activity, click here.
*From Ballotpedia. View the full entry on Trump in the news.
Ballotpedia's analysis and easy-to-read reports of Trump's campaign financials.
Associated Press - October 2, 2020
CNN - February 5, 2020
Business Insider - December 31, 2019
CNN - December 18, 2019
provides a curated account of the day's most important news in the 2020 presidential election.
Trump 101 by
In "Trump 101, " Trump himself becomes your personal mentor and coach as he shares tips, tactics, and strategies, all designed to help you make the most of yourself, your career, and your life. Each chapter covers a basic rule or belief, and shows you how to make it work for you. Learn the vital qualities and skills that every successful businessperson needs.
Trump Never Give Up by
In Never Give Up, Donald Trump tells the dramatic stories of his biggest challenges, lowest moments, and worst mistakes--and how he uses tenacity and creativity to turn defeat into victory. Each chapter includes an inspiring story from Trump's career and concludes with expert commentary and coaching from adversity researcher and author Paul Stoltz. Inspirational and intelligent, Never Give Up will help you deal with your own personal challenges, failures, and weaknesses.
Trump: the Art of the Deal by
President Donald J. Trump lays out his professional and personal worldview in this classic work--a firsthand account of the rise of America's foremost deal-maker. "I like thinking big. I always have. To me it's very simple: If you're going to be thinking anyway, you might as well think big."--Donald J. Trump Here is Trump in action--how he runs his organization and how he runs his life--as he meets the people he needs to meet, chats with family and friends, clashes with enemies, and challenges conventional thinking. But even a maverick plays by rules, and Trump has formulated time-tested guidelines for success. He isolates the common elements in his greatest accomplishments; he shatters myths; he names names, spells out the zeros, and fully reveals the deal-maker's art. And throughout, Trump talks--really talks--about how he does it. Trump: The Art of the Deal is an unguarded look at the mind of a brilliant entrepreneur--the ultimate read for anyone interested in the man behind the spotlight. Praise for Trump: The Art of the Deal "Trump makes one believe for a moment in the American dream again."--The New York Times "Donald Trump is a deal maker. He is a deal maker the way lions are carnivores and water is wet."--Chicago Tribune "Fascinating . . . wholly absorbing . . . conveys Trump's larger-than-life demeanor so vibrantly that the reader's attention is instantly and fully claimed."--Boston Herald "A chatty, generous, chutzpa-filled autobiography."--New York Post
Trump's Farewell Address - From the White House Archives
Site by two professors (Baylor & Vanderbilt) containing the text of major speeches by presidents and presidential candidates. Contains speeches back to Washington. Also contains a list, by the president, of links to other sites with information on rhetoric and speeches of that president.
Fully searchable archive of nearly all of Pres. Trump's tweets since assuming office. Data can also be downloaded in bulk as a .csv or JSON file (click on FAQ at the top).
In January 2021, the following websites were archived as a way to preserve the online presence of the administration of President Donald J. Trump.
Official White House site providing text, photos, and video of statements, speeches, remarks, proclamations, executive orders, etc.
The Glory and the Burden: The American Presidency From FDR to Trump by
The Glory and the Burden: The American Presidency from FDR to Trump is a timely examination of the state of the American presidency and the forces that have shaped it over the past seventy-five years, with an emphasis on the dramatic changes that have taken place within the institution and to the individuals occupying the Oval Office. In this fascinating book, Robert Schmuhl traces the evolution of the modern presidency back to the terms of Franklin Roosevelt, maintaining that FDR's White House years had a profound impact on the office, resulting in significant changes to the job and to those who have performed it since. Specifically, the 22nd Amendment to the Constitution, limiting a president to two terms, has largely redefined each administration's agenda. News sources and social media have also grown exponentially, exercising influence over the conduct of presidents and affecting the consequences of their behavior. Schmuhl examines the presidency as an institution and the presidents as individuals from several different perspectives. He identifies recent trends in the office and probes the relationship between the White House and various forms of contemporary media. This book is an engrossing read for a general audience, particularly those with an interest in politics, American history, journalism, and communications.
Donald Trump: 45th US President by
The 2016 election season was like no other. Billionaire and international celebrity Donald Trump dominated both the primaries and the general election. His reputation--as a negotiator; salesman; reality show host; and builder of glittering skyscrapers, golf courses, and casinos--set him apart from all of the other candidates. His campaign set him apart as well. He commanded public and media attention via Twitter.
