| Presidential Candidate | Vice President | Party |
|---|---|---|
| Donald J. Trump* | Mike Pence | Republican (GOP) |
| Joe R. Biden, Jr. (winner) | Kamala Harris | Democrat |
| Jo Jorgensen | Spike Cohen | Libertarian |
| Howie Hawkins | Angela Nicole Walker | Green Party |
*Denotes Incumbent
For more information on the candidates of the 2020 Election, including those who dropped out, visit: Click on the presidential candidate's name to be brought to their official campaign website.
Information on presidential candidates and primaries for the 2020 election year provided by Ballotpedia.
November supplement of the Current Population Survey (CPS) provides results on reported voting and registration in presidential and congressional elections broken down by various demographic and socioeconomic characteristics down to the state level. Does not include reported partisan vote. Detailed tables in Excel or .csv, including historical time series from 1960s–.
National and state turnout rates for the voting-eligible population (VEP) and voting age population (VAP) for the 1980-present November general elections. Also, national turnout rates for presidential and midterm general elections, 1787-2012. Data in Excel format. Some years have primary figures as well. Compiled by Prof. Michael McDonald of the University of Florida.
50 state list providing details on voter registration list data availability, permitted uses, cost, and links to state election sites for requesting.
Comprehensive turnout statistics for general and primary elections for presidential, congressional, and state gubernatorial races. Extensive tables provide state level figures (including partisan turnout) grouped by office or election type in 20 year chunks. Also includes chronologies of major events and election law changes affecting turnout. Data in Excel or .csv.
The National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) provides 50-state research on many election laws and procedural issues dealing with all aspects of elections. Also useful is their comparison by the state of the process for completing and certifying elections and state laws and regulations around voting outside the polling place.
"Brings together academics and election administration experts to assess and promote best practices to ensure the election can proceed with integrity, safety, and equal access." Features state profiles/reports on election administration and mail balloting, a tracker of covid-related election litigation, and data visualizations and open data (on Github) of state election administration metrics.
The project by the Center for Public Integrity and Stateline is to collect and standardize data on polling locations used in each election cycle since 2012 for 30 states (with more to be added). Lists each polling place’s county, precinct, name, and address. Data in .csv.
Verified Voting (a non-partisan organization focused on technology in election administration) provides a comprehensive dataset of voting equipment down to the precinct level 2006-present. Includes the type of voting equipment, makes and models, accessibility, and whether there is a voter-verified paper audit trail. Data in Excel, .csv, and JSON.
A project at MIT (formerly at Pew Research) to track how efficient and effective states are in administering elections. Ranks and measures the states on 17 indicators (e.g., voter registration rate, turnout %, voting wait time, provisional ballots rejected, etc.). Data available in .csv and as an interactive report; 2008-2018.
EAVS is the only nationwide census of primary data concerning election administration and policy. Covers voter registration, uniformed and overseas citizens absentee voting, domestic civilian absentee ballots, provisional ballots, and Election Day activities. Reports at county and municipality level (where municipalities administer the elections). Data in multiple formats. It also includes responses from the Statutory Overview, which allows for comparison across states of election administration legal requirements and practices. 2004–present (for 2004-2010, click on the Archives link in the navigation box on the right).
Election Administration by the Numbers: An Analysis of Available Datasets and How to Use Them, 2012. This report from the Pew Center on the States discusses the strengths and weaknesses of several significant datasets for studying election administration.
"This book focuses on how the tools of public management and policy evaluation can be used to give election officials the data they need to improve elections." In print at JK1976 .A68 2013 (Firestone Library).
Tables and charts from the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) that describe the title, method of selection, and appointing authorities for Chief Election Officials at the state and local level.
Directory of county and some city election officials with website, phone, fax, email, and mailing address compiled by the U.S. Vote Foundation. Also provides statewide voter information (eligibility and ID requirements, dates, registration info, state elections websites, etc.). For a similar list of local election officials for all counties in a table format, see the Federal Voting Assistance Program's Local Election Office Directory.
Post-election surveys with an extensive set of questions on the voting experience of voters residing outside the US (active duty military and spouses, overseas citizens). Generally 2000–present.
In the presidential election of November 2000, approximately 180,000 ballots in Florida's 67 counties were uncertified because they failed to register a "valid" vote for president. These ballots included those in which no vote was recorded (undervotes) and those who voted for more than one candidate (overvotes). The 2000 Florida Ballots Project examined the undervotes and overvotes. The project's goal was not to declare a "winner" but to carefully examine the ballots to assess the relative reliability of the three major types of ballot systems used in Florida.
* *From Jeremy Darrington's U.S. Elections: Election and Voter Data Guide. It is an excellent guide to finding data sources for various topics related to elections and politics.
From 270 to win, this link provides the polling data by state from the months preceding the election.
See how the polls preceding the election looked by electoral vote count.
November supplement of the Current Population Survey (CPS) provides results on reported voting and registration in presidential and congressional elections broken down by various demographic and socioeconomic characteristics down to the state level. Does not include reported partisan vote. Detailed tables in Excel or .csv, including historical time series from 1960s–