GIL-Find is CSU Library's Catalog
This page is intended to provide users with credible and trustworthy information about election fraud and integrity. It links scholarly journal articles, published news and media, credible websites, and print and electronic books. It is intended to connect users to other universities that conduct and publish extensive studies, collect data, and/or publish datasets for researchers to use appropriately in their research.
Sources of information posted in this guide are primarily primary and non-partisan that publish data or directly report information such as timeline information, statistics derived from the Census Bureau, results from original research, biographical information, etc.
See the Election Research tab for more information on researching election-related topics.
The U.S. Constitution - congress.gov
The U.S. Constitution in full text with annotations.
The Constitution of the United States - The National Archives
Read the text and see images of the constitution in full. See links to discussions of the interpretation of the document and links to other documents in their Founding Documents gallery.
Since its launch in 2015, this nonpartisan tool has allowed learners of all ages to engage with the text of the Constitution, discover how experts agree and disagree about its history and meaning, and explore arguments on all sides of the constitutional debates at the center of American life. It is published by The National Constitution Center.
The National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) provides 50-state research on many election laws and procedural issues dealing with all aspects of elections. Also helpful is their comparison of the individual state processes for completing and certifying elections and state laws and regulations around voting outside the polling place. You can also find the state policies regarding election security. Other helpful areas of this site related to election security can be found on the Election Technology Overview, such as Voting System Standards, Testing, Certification, Maintaining Accurate Voter Registration Rolls, and Post-Election Audits. However, there is a wealth of information made public and easy to find by the NCSL related to elections, election security, and public policy.
Reports the types of election crimes and how the FBI investigates them. Provides information on money scams that are common around election time, like campaign donation websites.
Discusses types of public corruption and how the FBI investigates public corruption-related crimes. There is also a Press Release section with the most current news and statements by FBI officials and the director.
Provides useful statistics and laws surrounding elections and how they work.
This bipartisan commission is tasked with performing several election-related jobs and providing information.
Verified Voting (a non-partisan organization focused on technology in election administration) provides a comprehensive dataset of voting equipment down to the precinct level 2006-present. Includes the type of voting equipment, makes and models, accessibility, and whether there is a voter-verified paper audit trail. Data in Excel, .csv, and JSON.
"Brings together academics and election administration experts to assess and promote best practices to ensure the election can proceed with integrity, safety, and equal access." Features state profiles/reports on election administration and mail balloting, a tracker of covid-related election litigation, and data visualizations and open data (on Github) of state election administration metrics.
In the presidential election of November 2000, approximately 180,000 ballots in Florida's 67 counties were uncertified because they failed to register a "valid" vote for president. These ballots included those in which no vote was recorded (undervotes) and those in which people voted for more than one candidate (overvotes). The 2000 Florida Ballots Project examined the undervotes and overvotes. The goal of the project was not to declare a "winner" but rather to carefully examine the ballots to assess the relative reliability of the three major types of ballot systems used in Florida.
The Center for Public Integrity is a nonprofit, nonpartisan newsroom investigating democracy, power, and privilege. Their reporting focuses on the influence of money and the impact of inequality on our society (from their About Us page). The organization promotes a higher standard of integrity in the American political process and in government. Investigates, analyzes, and reports about public service issues.
EAVS is the only nationwide census of primary data concerning election administration and policy. Covers voter registration, uniformed and overseas citizens' absentee voting, domestic civilian absentee ballots, provisional ballots, and Election Day activities. Reports at the county and municipality level (where municipalities administer the elections). Data in multiple formats. It also includes responses from the Statutory Overview, which allows for comparison across states of election administration legal requirements and practices. 2004–present (for 2004-2010, click on the Archives link in the navigation box on the right).
NCSL's Election Administration at State and Local Levels
Tables and charts from the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) that describe the title, method of selection, and appointing authorities for Chief Election Officials at the state and local levels.
U.S. Polling Places (2012-2018)
Project by the Center for Public Integrity and Stateline to collect and standardize data on polling locations used in each election cycle since 2012 for 30 states (with more to be added). Lists each polling place’s county, precinct, name, and address. Data in .csv.
Local Election Officials Directory
Directory of the county and some city election officials with website, phone, fax, email, and mailing address compiled by the U.S. Vote Foundation. It also provides statewide voter information (eligibility and ID requirements, dates, registration info, state elections websites, etc.). For a similar list of local election officials for all counties in a table format, see the Federal Voting Assistance Program's Local Election Office Directory.
Federal Voting Assistance Program Surveys
Post-election surveys with an extensive set of questions on the voting experience of voters residing outside the US (active duty military and spouses, overseas citizens). Generally 2000–present.
A project at MIT (formerly at Pew Research) to track how efficient and effective states are in administering elections. Ranks and measures the states on 17 indicators (e.g., voter registration rate, turnout %, voting wait time, provisional ballots rejected, etc.). Data available in .csv and as an interactive report; 2008-2018.
See the Datasets, Polling, and Statistics page of this guide for additional statistical information related to voting, voters, and elections.
A 50-state list providing details on voter registration list data availability, permitted uses, cost, and links to state election sites for requesting. Also, see NCSL's 50-state table.
Report analyzing the strengths and weaknesses of the major commercial national voter files. Doesn't identify vendors by name; rather discusses the strengths and limitations of this category of data.
About this project
“Who Can Vote?” is the 2012 project of News21, a national investigative reporting project funded by the Carnegie Corporation of New York and the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation.
The goal of the program, headquartered at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Arizona State University, is to produce in-depth, innovative, and interactive investigative journalism on issues of national importance.
The voting rights project was produced by 24 students from 11 universities across the country under the direction of journalism professionals. The Ethics and Excellence in Journalism Foundation provided a grant supporting the work of six of the students, and the Hearst Foundations supported another three fellows.
Election Manipulation: Is America's Voting System Secure? by
Law enforcement and intelligence experts warn that Russia and other foreign countries are likely to try to interfere in America's presidential election in 2020. Federal and state officials must guard against computer hacks, disinformation and fake news on social media, and attempts to disrupt the voting system. This book examines how America's voting system can be made more secure.
Dirty Tricks in the Digital Age by
How American elections are increasingly vulnerableand what must be done to protect themUntil recently, most Americans could assume that elections, at all levels of government, were reasonably clean and well managedmost of the time. Yes, there were exceptions: some states and localities were notorious for occasional election-rigging, losers often complained that winners somehow had unfair advantages, and money increasingly distorted the electoral process. But even when voters did not like the results, the overall system of elections did not seem nearly as corrupt or warped as in many other countries.
The Future of Voting in the United States: Protecting American Democracy by
During the 2016 presidential election, America's election infrastructure was targeted by actors sponsored by the Russian government. Securing the Vote: Protecting American Democracy examines the challenges arising out of the 2016 federal election, assesses current technology and standards for voting, and recommends steps that the federal government, state and local governments, election administrators, and vendors of voting technology should take to improve the security of election infrastructure. In doing so, the report provides a vision of voting that is more secure, accessible, reliable, and verifiable.
Why American Elections Are Flawed (and How to Fix Them) by
The flaws in the American electoral process have become more apparent over many years. The contemporary tipping point in public awareness occurred during the 2000 election count, but several major structural weaknesses exacerbated doubts in the 2016 campaign, worsening party divisions and further corroding public trust in the electoral process. It is impossible to fix a problem without understanding its nature. To gather independent evidence about the quality of elections around the world, the Electoral Integrity Project (EIP), an independent project with a research team based at Harvard and Sydney universities, was established in 2012.
Voter Suppression in U. S. Elections by
Historians have long been engaged in telling the story of the struggle for the vote. In the wake of recent contested elections, the suppression of the vote has returned to the headlines, as awareness of the deep structural barriers to the ballot, particularly for poor, black, and Latino voters, has called attention to the historical roots of issues related to voting access. Perhaps most notably, former state legislator Stacey Abrams's campaign for Georgia's gubernatorial race drew national attention after she narrowly lost to then-secretary of state Brian Kemp, who had removed hundreds of thousands of voters from the official rolls. After her loss, Abrams created Fair Fight, a multimillion-dollar initiative to combat voter suppression in twenty states. At an annual conference of the Organization of American Historians, leading scholars Carol Anderson, Kevin M. Kruse, Heather Cox Richardson, and Heather Anne Thompson had a conversation with Abrams about the long history of voter suppression at the Library Company of Philadelphia. This book is a transcript of that extraordinary conversation, edited by Jim Downs. Voter Suppression in U.S. Elections offers an enlightening, history-informed conversation about voter disenfranchisement in the United States. By gathering scholars and activists whose work has provided sharp analyses of this issue, we see how historians in general explore contentious topics and provide historical context for students and the broader public. The book also includes a "top ten" selection of essays and articles by such writers as journalist Ari Berman, Pulitzer Prize-winning historian David Blight, and civil rights icon John Lewis.
The Hidden History of the War on Voting by
"Hartmann's history of voter suppression in America is necessary information given current news about voter registration purges and redistricting...a particularly timely topic for an election year, and anyone who is seriously concerned about the survival of American democracy will want to read this book and apply its lessons."--Booklist America's #1 progressive radio host looks at how elites have long tried to disenfranchise citizens--particularly people of color, women, and the poor--and shows what we can do to ensure everyone has a voice in this democracy. In today's America, only a slim majority of people register to vote, and a large percentage of registered voters don't bother to show up: Donald Trump was elected by only 26 percent of eligible voters. Unfortunately, this is not a bug in our system, it's a feature. Thom Hartmann unveils the strategies and tactics that conservative elites in this country have used, from the foundation of the Electoral College to the latest voter ID laws, to protect their interests by preventing "the wrong people"--such as the poor, women, and people of color--from voting while making it more convenient for the wealthy and white. But he also lays out a wide variety of simple, commonsense ways that we the people can fight back and reclaim our right to rule through the ballot box.
Threats to Civil Liberties: Voting by
In recent years more than two dozen states have purged voter rolls, closed polls in certain areas, and introduced strict voter ID laws which have the impacted voting rights of young people, the elderly, and minorities. This book helps teen readers understand what the issues are, how they have come about, what actions are being taken to address the concerns, and why some of those actions are controversial.
The Myth of Voter Fraud by
Allegations that widespread voter fraud is threatening to the integrity of American elections and American democracy itself have intensified since the disputed 2000 presidential election. The claim that elections are being stolen by illegal immigrants and unscrupulous voter registration activists and vote buyers has been used to persuade the public that voter malfeasance is of greater concern than structural inequities in the ways votes are gathered and tallied, justifying ever tighter restrictions on access to the polls. Yet, that claim is a myth. In The Myth of Voter Fraud, Lorraine C. Minnite presents the results of her meticulous search for evidence of voter fraud. She concludes that while voting irregularities produced by the fragmented and complex nature of the electoral process in the United States are common, incidents of deliberate voter fraud are actually quite rare.
Voter Fraud by
During the 2016 Presidential election, there were repeated allegations made about voter fraud, by the winning candidate. Semi-annual studies by the Brennan Center for Justice of NYU conclusively demonstrate however, that most allegations of fraud turn out to be baseless. Issues relating to false numbers are more often the result of mistakes made by voters and election officials than intentional foul play. Nevertheless, voter fraud can occur. This edition examines issues related to election processes and the problem of fraud. It includes primary and secondary sources from a variety of perspectives; eyewitnesses, scientific journals, government officials, and many others.
The Voting Wars: From Florida 2000 to the Next Election Meltdown by
In 2000, just a few hundred votes out of millions cast in the state of Florida separated Republican presidential candidate George W. Bush from his Democratic opponent, Al Gore. The outcome of the election rested on Florida's 25 electoral votes, and legal wrangling continued for 36 days. Then, abruptly, one of the most controversial Supreme Court decisions in U.S. history, Bush v. Gore, cut short the battle. Since the Florida debacle we have witnessed a partisan war over election rules. Election litigation has skyrocketed, and election time brings out inevitable accusations by political partisans of voter fraud and voter suppression. These allegations have shaken public confidence, as campaigns deploy ?armies of lawyers? and the partisan press revs up when elections are expected to be close and the stakes are high. Richard L. Hasen, a respected authority on election law, chronicles and analyzes the battles over election rules from 2000 to the present. From a nonpartisan standpoint, he explores the rising number of election-related lawsuits and charges of voter fraud as well as the decline of public confidence in fair results.
Interference in Elections by
Allegations of Russian meddling in the 2016 presidential election have brought the issue of election interference to the fore, but is it actually a significant issue in the United States? This volume explores the history of election interference in the United States and beyond, as well as the various methods of interference. It also discusses whether interference can be effectively combatted and what attempts are being made to do so. Election interference has been declared a threat to the electoral process and democracy as a whole, and it is more important than ever to understand the various factors at play.
Troll Factories by
Many Americans became aware of Russia's web brigades during the 2016 presidential election, during which allegations of Russian interference came to light. However, Russia's history of online meddling extends back to the early 2000s and far beyond just the United States. This volume explores the little known history of Russia's troll factories and the role they have played in various political movements and events, as well as the factors that enabled this interference and the possible means of combatting it.
A Short History of Presidential Election Crises by
An urgent primer on what can be done to combat emerging threats to the core of U.S. Democracy--presidential elections. In 2000, we learned that an exceptionally close presidential election can produce chaos, because we have no reliable Constitutional mechanism for resolving disputes. Joe Biden just won a presidential election that was extremely close in a number of states. Trump--and his many supporters--refuse to accept the legitimacy of those vote results, leading to an insurrection at the Capitol Building. Where do we go from here? In A Short History, Constitutional scholar Alan Hirsch presents a concise history of presidential elections that resulted in crises and advocates clear, common-sense solutions, including abolishing the Electoral College and the creation of a permanent, non-partisan Presidential Election Review Board to prevent or remedy future crises. "Hirsch does a very good job of offering historical context to illuminate the present--and the terrifying future. His imaginative proposals are probably too sensible to be implemented in an age of parochial partisanship."--David Shipler, former reporter for the New York Times and Pulitzer Prize winner "Democracy is broken, but as Alan Hirsch explains, it really doesn't have to be. This is the real story of how our voting system became so vulnerable to attacks from within and without, told with precision, verve, and even hope. This is the way out."--Douglas Rushkoff, author of Team Human "This is a must-read for anyone who cares about safeguarding presidential electionsâe*which should be everyone."--Evan Caminker, Professor and former Dean, University of Michigan Law School "The noted law historian, author of Impeaching the President, examines the handful of seriously problematic presidential elections in American history and what the Constitution elucidates about the process of undoing such an event--namely, nothing. . . . A highly relevant study featuring much food for thought and prospects for change."--Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review " [A] seminal work of meticulous and informative scholarship that should be considered as an essential and unreservedly recommended addition to community, college, and university library Contemporary Political Science collections. It should be noted for the personal reading lists of students, academia, political activists, and non-specialist general readers with an interest in the subject."--Midwest Library Review
Not all information sources are created equal for your research projects. Different types of research and writing projects will require different types of sources. Some disciplines will require you to use primarily primary sources of information. Some research or writing assignments will require secondary sources such as a book or literature review. The following are definitions are the different types of information sources.*
Primary sources contain first-hand information, meaning that you read the author’s account on a specific topic or event that s/he participated in. Examples of primary resources include scholarly research articles, books, and diaries. Primary sources, such as research articles, often do not explain terminology and theoretical principles in detail. Thus, readers of primary scholarly research should have a foundational knowledge of the subject area. Use primary resources to obtain a first-hand account of an actual event and identify original research done in a field. For many of your papers, the use of primary resources will be a requirement.
Examples of primary sources are:
Secondary sources describe, summarize, or discuss information or details initially presented in another source, meaning the author, in most cases, did not participate in the event. This type of source is written for a broad audience. It will include definitions of discipline-specific terms, history relating to the topic, significant theories and principles, and summaries of major studies/events as related to the topic. Use secondary sources to overview a topic and/or identify primary resources. Refrain from including such resources in an annotated bibliography for doctoral-level work unless there is a good reason.*
Examples of secondary sources are:
A tertiary source is a distillation and collection of primary and secondary sources. Examples are:
The last two U.S. Presidential Elections have been very controversial and have drawn out a lot of emotions from all political sides. Controversy from the 2016 and 2020 Presidential elections has also resulted in much misinformation published intentionally and unintentionally for many reasons.
It is essential to know if the source of information you are looking at is primary or secondary to give yourself a chance to make the best judgments, arguments, and decisions. Knowing the type of information you are looking at will also help you get a better understanding of the content and whether or not it was based on an opinion or the actual source of information. All of which will help determine for yourself what the truth is on an issue as well.
*Definitions of primary and secondary sources are from the Research Process Libguide at Northcentral University Library.
Many secondary sources will claim to say, "the law says..." or "according to Georgia state law...." How can we find out what the law actually says? Below are resources to find out what the law actually says. However, many legal experts, lawmakers, and judges interpret the law in different ways and will publish their opinions. This is one example of why it is important to know the difference between primary and secondary sources.
One of the first official government websites you should head to is usa.gov. This is the official website of The United States Government. It will take you to a wealth of information about the government. You will also be able to find out how to obtain official state and local information. If you scroll down this box, you will find a short tutorial on how to find Georgia's state laws, which can be applied to other local and state governments as well.
It should also be noted that the official laws and government information produced will almost always have the '.gov' domain extension. To know who is publishing the information, look at the 'About...' link. The 'About..." will tell you if it is the U.S. government publishing it, or another organization or person.
Usa.gov provides a directory that will take you to any state or territory's official government website. From there, you will have access to a lot of official information including contact information, names of the governor and other officials, and links to many of the state government agencies. To find the state laws, each state will have the link located in a different place. However, it is typically very intuitive to find.
To get step-by-step instructions on how to find local and state laws, click on the Election Research page and select, How to Find US and State Law page from the dropdown.