Nancy Pelosi (D), Majority Leader & Speaker of the House
House Minority Leader
Senate Majority Leader
Senate Minority Leader
The U.S. House of Representatives
The U.S. SenateLinks to information on current officials and candidates.
This page will take you to Georgia's official government website of current elected officials.
CRS, CBO, and GAO Reports
These agencies submit reports to Congress - these reports summarize key legislation or analyze issues, or provide cost analyses.
Congressional Research Service (CRS Reports) - many are available through third-party sources, especially:
Federation of American Scientists - the focus is on national security, foreign policy, and related topics.
Thurgood Marshall Law Library (Univ. of Maryland) - the focus is on CRS reports in homeland security/terrorism and health law and policy.
Congressional Budget Office (CBO) - select "Publications" (available from 1975 onward) or "Cost Estimates".
CBO is strictly nonpartisan; conducts objective, impartial analysis; and hires its employees solely on the basis of professional competence without regard to political affiliation. CBO does not make policy recommendations, and each report and cost estimate summarizes the methodology underlying the analysis.
Government Accountability Office (GAO)- (until 2004 the Government Accounting Office) - This website has full-text to more than 50,000 reports from 1970 onward (select "Reports & Testimonies"). Can also browse hot topics' current list of reports by selecting "Topic Collections".
Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives
The Clerk of the U.S. House Representatives lists elections results from 1920 to the most recent, the official vote counts for presidential electors, U.S. senators, and U.S. Representatives. From the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives. Links to Congressional District maps; apportionment info., historical election statistics -- and -- vacant Congressional Districts.
The Congressional Directory is the official directory of the U.S. Congress, prepared by the Joint Committee on Printing (JCP). It presents:
Short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district.
Committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers for Members of Congress.
Lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies, including D.C. government officials, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press, radio, and television galleries.
Congressional Pictorial Directory
Search for members of congress for their official headshot photograph.
Maps of Congressional districts and political boundaries.
State Election Information on the Web
C-SPAN site provides links to the election and redistricting information for each state.
Amendment giving African American men the right to vote by declaring that the "right of citizens of the United States
Direct Election of Senators
Amendment guarantees American women the right to vote.
Amendment to change the commencement of office from march to January.
Amendment to the U.S. Constitution eliminating the Poll Tax.
Amendment to lower legal voting age to 18
Roll Call covers news regarding the US Congress. Its politics page has information regarding congressional elections.
Federal Election Commission: Background, Issues, and Campaign Finance Oversight by
Over 40 years ago, Congress created the Federal Election Commission (FEC) to administer the Federal Election Campaign Act (FECA) and related amendments. Today, the FEC is responsible for administering disclosure of millions of campaign finance transactions; interpretation and civil enforcement of FECA and agency regulations; and administering the presidential public financing program. This book provides selected information about the FECs history and ongoing issues that are likely to be of interest to Congress for appropriations, legislative, or oversight activities. It also provides Congress with a resource for understanding the FECs enforcement process and context for why enforcement is consequential; discusses deadlocked votes among members of the FEC; discusses current Supreme Court and other case law evaluating the constitutionality of limits on contributions and expenditures; and examines recent developments of the state of campaign finance policy.
The Financiers of Congressional Elections by 
Interest Groups and Campaign Finance Reform in the United States and Canada by
In the early 2000s, the United States and Canada implemented new campaign finance laws restricting the ability of interest groups to make political contributions and to engage in political advertising. Whereas both nations' legislative reforms sought to reduce the role of interest groups in campaigns, these laws have had opposite results in the two nations. In the United States, interest groups remained influential by developing broad coalitions aimed at mobilizing individual voters and contributors. In Canada, interest groups largely withdrew from election campaigns, and, thus, important voices in elections have gone silent. Robert G. Boatright explains such disparate results by placing campaign finance reforms in the context of ongoing political and technological changes.
Campaigns and Elections American Style by
Dramatic changes in political institutions and behavior over the past three decades have underscored the dynamic nature of American politics, confronting political scientists with a new and pressing intellectual agenda. The pioneering work of early postwar scholars, while laying a firm empirical foundation for contemporary scholarship, failed to consider how American politics might change or recognize the forces that would make fundamental change inevitable. In reassessing the static interpretations fostered by these classic studies, political scientists are now examining the underlying dynamics that generate transformational change. Transforming American Politics is a series that brings together texts addressing four closely related aspects of change. A first concern is documenting and explaining recent changes in American politics--in institutions, processes, behavior, and policymaking. A second is reinterpreting classic studies and theories to provide a more accurate perspective on postwar politics. The series looks at historical change to identify recurring patterns of political transformation within and across the distinctive eras of American politics. Last and perhaps most important, the series presents new theories and interpretations that explain the dynamic processes at work and thus clarify the direction of contemporary politics. All of the books focus on the central theme of transformation--transformation in both the conduct of American politics and in the way we study and understand its many aspects.