Accessible Via GALILEO*
Public Access
Additional Information (hover mouse over icon)
Note: * Are titles can be viewed by the public, content may be restricted.
Need research or homework help and cannot come to the library? No problem! Type your question in the chatbox below, call the reference desk, send a text, or email and a library professional will respond to you shortly after, during our normal hours. If you submit your question outside of regular hours, we will respond as soon as possible when we return the following business day. Our subject-specific research and study guides can be very helpful,l as well.
Check out our list of reference faculty and staff if you have a subject-specific question and want to contact a librarian directly, who also often respond even after the regular chat and text hours. However, this is not guaranteed. The faculty and staff at CSU Libraries can be fairly flexible in meeting you virtually or one-on-one to assist you in your academic goals and pursuits.
This part of the Criminal Justice Research Guide contains statistics and data sources for related topics to include, including court systems, crime statistics, caseloads, and many other topics. Most of the links here are publicly accessible unless otherwise noted.
The Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology (FCSM) is an interagency committee dedicated to improving the quality of Federal statistics. The FCSM was created by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) to inform and advise OMB and the Interagency Council on Statistical Policy (ICSP) on methodological and statistical issues that affect the quality of Federal data.
The UCR Program was conceived in 1929 by the International Association of Chiefs of Police to meet a need for reliable, uniform crime statistics for the nation. In 1930, the FBI was tasked with collecting, publishing, and archiving those statistics from over 17,000 law enforcement agencies around the U.S.
With a mission to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, prisons, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government, the Bureau of Justice provides data to federal, state, and local policymakers. Provides users with the software to create and customize tables
U.S. Department of State: Countries
Contains summary information on countries of the world including travel warnings, climate, demographics, society, economics, and government
UNICRI is a United Nations entity established in 1965 to support countries worldwide in preventing crime and facilitating criminal justice.
United Nations Surveys on Crime Trends and the Operations of Criminal Justice Systems
Collects data on the incidence of reported crime and the operations of criminal justice systems with a view to improving the analysis and dissemination of that information globally.
The Department of Justice provides statistics on a wide variety of subjects.
Federal and state statistics and polls (from Justice Center Web Site, University of Alaska).
This guide is from the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data. It gives an overview of the survey and methodology and discusses access to data files and options for online analysis.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics - University of Albany
This resource from the University of Albany is divided into six sections covering a wide variety of topics including corrections, capital punishment, guns, immigration, and courts.
The OPE Campus Security Statistics Website, from the U.S. Dept. of Education Office of Post Secondary Education, provides statistics on reported criminal offenses for over 6000 colleges and universities in the United States.
This webpage from the Bureau of Justice Statistics provides a statistical overview and lists relevant publications.
This is a guide from the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data. It provides an overview of federal statistical program agencies and their data collection efforts with access to dataset files.
The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS), through its Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center (FJSRC), compiles comprehensive information describing suspects and defendants processed in the Federal criminal justice system. The goal of FJSRC is to provide uniform case processing statistics across all stages of the Federal criminal justice system. This website creates custom tables and provides links to publications.
This webpage from the Bureau of Justice Statistics provides summary findings, selected statistics, and a list of data collections (many available in the National Archive for Criminal Justice Data).
Statistical tables on the caseload of the federal Judiciary for the 12-month period ending March 31 address the work of the U.S. courts of appeals, district courts, and bankruptcy courts, as well as the federal probation and pretrial services system.
This annual statistical report is published by the U.S. Sentencing Commission and provides descriptive figures, tables, and charts, and selected district, circuit, and national sentencing data.
TRAC is a data gathering, data research, and data distribution organization at Syracuse University. The public web site, TRACReports, provides information on selected federal enforcement agencies, special topical reports, and "bulletins" about federal enforcement, staffing, and expenditures. Look here for data on U.S. federal criminal prosecutions and data from individual federal agencies such as the Federal Bureau of Investigation, Drug Enforcement Agency, Internal Revenue Service, and the Department of Homeland Security.
Summary findings and related publications from the Bureau of Justice Statistics.
National Center for State Courts - Court Statistics Project
The Court Statistics Project collects and analyzes data relating to the work of our nation's state courts. Examining the Work of State Courts provides a comprehensive analysis of the business of state trial and appellate courts. State Court Caseload Statistics provide detailed information about the state course systems and caseloads. Guides are available to provide definitions. An interactive statistics query is also available. State Court Statistics series data sets are available from ICPSR.
Presents trend data from State Court Organization data collections covering the years 1987-2004. The report examines changes in the organization and operations of the Nations state trial and appellate courts over this time period. Topics include the selection and educational requirements of judges, regulations of criminal and civil juries, the development of unified court systems, and adjustments in court management and staffing to address growing caseloads.
The Bureau of Justice Statistics presents summary findings, publications, and related links.
National Survey of Prosecutors
The National Survey of Prosecutors is a Bureau of Justice Statistics data collection program. Data set files are available from ICPSR.
Westlaw Campus Research
HeinOnline
