Accessible Via GALILEO*
Public Access
Additional Information (hover mouse over icon)
Note: * Are titles can be viewed by the public, content may be restricted.
Assessments in Forensic Practice by
Assessments in Forensic Practice: A Handbook provides practical guidance in the assessment of the most frequently encountered offender subgroups found within the criminal justice system. Topics include: criminal justice assessments offenders with mental disorders family violence policy and practice
Forensics in the Real World by
Forensic scientists study crime scenes, examine evidence, and invent new ways to solve crimes. Forensics in the Real World examines the history of this field, what forensic scientists do today, and what's next for this branch of science.
World of Forensic Science by
A revision of the 2006 edition, this two-volume set is a comprehensive guide to the scientific processes and the legal, social, and ethical issues involved in the forensic sciences.
The Wiley Blackwell Handbook of Forensic Neuroscience by
Explores how the explosion of neuroscience-based evidence in recent years has led to a fundamental change in how forensic psychology can inform working with criminal populations. This book communicates knowledge and research findings in the neurobiological field to those who work with offenders and those who design policy for offender rehabilitation and criminal justice systems, so that practice and policy can be neurobiologically informed, and research can be enhanced. Starting with an introduction to the subject of neuroscience and forensic settings, The Wiley Blackwell Handbook of Forensic Neuroscience then offers in-depth and enlightening coverage of the neurobiology of sex and sexual attraction, aggressive behavior, and emotion regulation; the neurobiological bases to risk factors for offending such as genetics, developmental, alcohol and drugs, and mental disorders; and the neurobiology of offending, including psychopathy, antisocial personality disorders, and violent and sexual offending. The book also covers rehabilitation techniques such as brain scanning, brain-based therapy for adolescents, and compassion-focused therapy. The book itself: Covers a wide array of neuroscience research Chapters by renowned neuroscientists and criminal justice experts Topics covered include the neurobiology of aggressive behavior, the neuroscience of deception, genetic contributions to psychopathy, and neuroimaging-guided treatment Offers conclusions for practitioners and future directions for the field. The Handbook of Forensic Neuroscience is a welcome book for all researchers, practitioners, and postgraduate students involved with forensic psychology, neuroscience, law, and criminology.
Forensic Social Work, Second Edition by
This extensively revised edition reviews the latest research and practices in forensic social work. Readers learn to integrate socio-legal knowledge when working with diverse populations in a variety of settings. Noted interdisciplinary contributors review the most common forensic issues encountered in the field to better prepare readers to deal with the resulting financial, psychological, emotional, and legal ramifications. Using a human rights and social justice approach, the book demonstrates the use of a forensic lens when working with individuals, families, organizations, and communities who struggle with human rights and social justice issues. Each chapter features objectives, competencies, Voices from the Field, a summary, exercises, and additional resources. Features: Highlights working with various populations such as minorities, immigrants, veterans, the elderly, LGBTQ persons, persons with disabilities, substance abusers, trauma survivors, and more.Reviews the field's conceptual and historical foundation and pertinent laws to better prepare readers for professional practice (Part 1).Introduces the most common forensic issues encountered when working in various settings including health care, social and protective services, the child welfare system, the criminal justice system, school systems, immigration services, addiction treatment facilities, and more (Part 2).Provides a wealth of practical guidance via case studies and interviewing, assessment, and intervention tips.Voices from the Field written by seasoned practitioners introduce common situations readers are likely to encounter. New to this Edition: Highlights the 2015 Council on Social Work Education's (CSWE) Policies and Accreditation Standards throughout the text.Greatly expanded coverage from 26 to 32 chapters with more on healthcare, housing, employment, the juvenile and criminal justice system, adult protective services, and the dynamics of oppression.New Part dedicated to the core skills that must be mastered by forensic social workers including evidence-based assessments and interventions, forensic interviewing, expert testimonies, case and policy advocacy, program development, and research and evaluation (Part 3).Highlights the latest interventions including trauma informed and restorative justice practices.Updated content related to the DSM-5 and healthcare reform.Reflects the latest immigration policies, criminal justice reform, the Violence Against Women Act, and the Older Americans Act.More instructor resources including sample syllabi, Power Points, interviewing, evaluation, and assessment forms and checklists. Ideal for MSW and BSW courses in forensic social work as well as forensic/legal courses taught in criminal justice and psychology, practitioners working in a variety of settings who must have a working knowledge of forensic social work will appreciate this book's comprehensive overview of the field.
Wrongful Conviction : From Prevention to the Reversal of Injustice by
The magnitude of wrongful conviction is increasing across the country and around the world, with individuals arrested, convicted, and incarcerated for extended periods of time. This book provides an understanding of legal remedies, organizational reforms, and policy changes that have been proposed and implemented. In various jurisdictions, these procedures reduce the likelihood of a wrongful conviction. Legal and organizational reforms and changes in criminal justice policy are considered at three key junctures of the process: (1) the investigation, evidence gathering, and forensic analysis, (2) prosecutorial decision-making, and (3) the judicial review and exoneration of a wrongfully convicted defendant. Each chapter opens with a wrongful case vignette that illustrates the reform strategies being considered. The investigatory process is studied on each case, and the police process is analyzed in detail. Part 1 includes the introductory chapter that provides an overview of wrongful convictions, and the investigatory process routinely employed to gather evidence and identify a suspect. The analysis of forensic evidence is explored, including the chain of custody, contamination of the evidence, misinterpretation, and the falsification of forensic reports. Part 2 focuses on the prosecutors, defense attorneys, judges and juries. Plea bargaining strategies, coaching witnesses, violations of the rules of discovery, use of jailhouse snitches, inadequate defense counseling, lack of preparation and adequate resources are examined. Part 3 analyzes the processes involved in the reversal of wrongful convictions, the judicial review, and obstacles encountered in the exoneration process. In addition, the authors provide a thorough analytical overview of the criminal justice processes involved in wrongful conviction and the reforms that are needed to prevent and reverse injustices. This book is an invaluable resource for prosecutors, defense attorneys, judges, advocates for the wrongfully convicted, criminal justice policymakers, law and society, and will contribute to academic courses in the fields of criminology and justice.
Forensics in the Real World by 
Forensic Analysis of Gunshot Residue, 3D-Printed Firearms, and Gunshot Injuries by
As technology continues to advance forward, it is crucial that the forensic disciplines maintain their lead over the criminal element. The field of firearm analysis is one such area that has experienced rapid developments, spurred on by recent technological advancements. With the invention of high resolution 3D-printing, new improvements in instrumental techniques such as Raman Spectroscopy and Mass Spectrometry, and improvements in simulation capabilities for ballistic wounding potential, entirely new fields of study have evolved. This book takes an in-depth look at the current state of gunshot residue analysis and wound ballistics, and showcases groundbreaking research in these crucial areas. The ramifications of the availability of 3D-printed firearms are also discussed, with authors submitting evaluations of new and existing forensic methods on trace analysis of GSR and fingerprinting, as well as potential protocol adaptations to better address the unique challenges of 3D-printed firearms. Whereas this book is primarily oriented toward forensic researchers and practitioners, others with an interest in keeping up with developments in forensic science may find it informative and useful.
DNA Forensics by
This book reveals amazing examples of what has and is happening with science and DNA forensics. The public now knows the DNA molecule by sight and how it can assist in solving crimes such as murder and sexual assaults. In this book, the authors demonstrate how DNA forensics has developed over the years. DNA has assisted in finding criminals and releasing those who were wrongly accused, including prisoners on death row and a few who were already executed
Forensic Alcohol Test Evidence (FATE) by
Everyday problems associated with the consequences of alcohol use disorders require answers, and it is for this reason Forensic Alcohol Test Evidence (FATE) was written. Forensic alcohol test evidence focuses on the evaluation, interpretation and application of the effects of alcohol or an alcohol test result to some legal issue such as a crime, accident or consequence of alcohol exposure. In FATE, many of the issues pertinent to a thorough forensic evaluation and trial testimony are discussed, but most importantly is the focus on consistent, unbiased, and comprehensive application of diverse scientific disciplines and research to questions of forensic interest. This requires evaluating behavioral, analytical, physiological, pharmacological and toxicological evidence in the puzzle; determining if the pieces go together; and reaching a conclusion to a reasonable degree of scientific certainty.
Forensic Evidence in Court by
The interpretation and evaluation of scientific evidence and its presentation in a court of law is central both to the role of the forensic scientist as an expert witness and to the interests of justice. This book aims to provide a thorough and detailed discussion of the principles and practice of evidence interpretation and evaluation by using real cases by way of illustration. The presentation is appropriate for students of forensic science or related disciplines at advanced undergraduate and master's level or for practitioners engaged in continuing professional development activity. The book is structured in three sections. The first sets the scene by describing and debating the issues around the admissibility and reliability of scientific evidence presented to the court. In the second section, the principles underpinning interpretation and evaluation are explained, including discussion of those formal statistical methods founded on Bayesian inference. The following chapters present perspectives on the evaluation and presentation of evidence in the context of a single type or class of scientific evidence, from DNA to the analysis of documents. For each, the science underpinning the analysis and interpretation of the forensic materials is explained, followed by the presentation of cases which illustrate the variety of approaches that have been taken in providing expert scientific opinion.
Investigating Trace Evidence by
Introduce students to the real-life science behind their favorite fictional detectives. Dramatic true crime stories solved using trace evidence inspire readers to learn about the exciting field of forensic science. Vibrant images and engrossing narratives support a detailed examination of how biology, chemistry, hard work, and attention to detail can turn the smallest trace into evidence against criminals. This book includes compelling sidebars for extra science instruction in each chapter, as well as additional reading recommendations and information on how readers can pursue careers in this fascinating field.
Killer Instinct : Having a Mind for Murder by
Forensic psychiatrist Donald Grant asks, what is it about murder that fascinates us? Is it the chill whisper of fear reminding us we too can kill? Grant describes ten true murder cases, each with unique triggers. For most of us, murder is an arm's length experience, close enough to frighten and fascinate yet far enough not to traumatise. For those directly affected, murder can be scarring. Our restless chatter about murder, our state of heightened alert, our endless appetite for news, may all just be play therapy, reassuring us that our own killer instincts are under control.
Bad Psychology : How Forensic Psychology Left Science Behind by
For decades the psychological assessment and treatment of offenders has run on invalid and untested programmes. Robert A. Forde exposes the current ineffectiveness of forensic psychology that has for too long been maintained by individual and commercial vested interests, resulting in dangerous prisoners being released on parole, and low risk prisoners being denied it, wasting enormous amounts of public money. Challenging entrenched ideas about the field of psychology as a whole, and how it should be practised in the criminal justice system, the author shows how effective changes can be made for more just decisions, and the better rehabilitation of offenders into society, while significantly reducing the cost to the taxpayer. This is a fearless account calling for a return to scientific evidence in the troubled field of forensic psychology.
Ethics Challenges in Forensic Psychiatry and Psychology Practice by
Forensic psychiatry and psychology involve specialized practice with unique patients, including children, the incarcerated, and involuntary clients, presenting practitioners with specific ethics challenges. Griffith provides a roadmap for specialists in these evolving fields to recognize dilemmas, articulate problems, and create solutions.
Security, Privacy, and Digital Forensics in the Cloud by
In a unique and systematic way, this book discusses the security and privacy aspects of the cloud, and the relevant cloud forensics. Cloud computing is an emerging yet revolutionary technology that has been changing the way people live and work. However, with the continuous growth of cloud computing and related services, security and privacy has become a critical issue. Written by some of the top experts in the field, this book specifically discusses security and privacy of the cloud, as well as the digital forensics of cloud data, applications, and services. The first half of the book enables readers to have a comprehensive understanding and background of cloud security, which will help them through the digital investigation guidance and recommendations found in the second half of the book. Part One of Security, Privacy and Digital Forensics in the Cloud covers cloud infrastructure security; confidentiality of data; access control in cloud IaaS; cloud security and privacy management; hacking and countermeasures; risk management and disaster recovery; auditing and compliance; and security as a service (SaaS). Part Two addresses cloud forensics - model, challenges, and approaches; cyberterrorism in the cloud; digital forensic process and model in the cloud; data acquisition; digital evidence management, presentation, and court preparation; analysis of digital evidence; and forensics as a service (FaaS). Thoroughly covers both security and privacy of cloud and digital forensics Contributions by top researchers from the U.S., the European and other countries, and professionals active in the field of information and network security, digital and computer forensics, and cloud and big data Of interest to those focused upon security and implementation, and incident management Logical, well-structured, and organized to facilitate comprehension Security, Privacy and Digital Forensics in the Cloud is an ideal book for advanced undergraduate and master's-level students in information systems, information technology, computer and network forensics, as well as computer science. It can also serve as a good reference book for security professionals, digital forensics practitioners and cloud service providers.
Digital Forensics and Incident Response by
About This BookLearn incident response fundamentals and create an effective incident response frameworkMaster forensics investigation utilizing digital investigative techniquesContains real-life scenarios that effectively use threat intelligence and modeling techniquesWho This Book Is ForThis book is targeted at Information Security professionals, forensics practitioners, and students with knowledge and experience in the use of software applications and basic command-line experience. It will also help professionals who are new to the incident response/digital forensics role within their organization.What You Will LearnCreate and deploy incident response capabilities within your organizationBuild a solid foundation for acquiring and handling suitable evidence for later analysisAnalyze collected evidence and determine the root cause of a security incidentLearn to integrate digital forensic techniques and procedures into the overall incident response processIntegrate threat intelligence in digital evidence analysisPrepare written documentation for use internally or with external parties such as regulators or law enforcement agenciesIn DetailDigital Forensics and Incident Response will guide you through the entire spectrum of tasks associated with incident response, starting with the preparatory activities associated of creating an incident response plan with creating digital forensics capabilities within your own organization. You will then begin a detailed examination of digital forensic techniques including acquiring evidence, examining volatile memory, hard drive analysis, and collecting network-based evidence. You will also explore the role that threat intelligence plays in the incident response process. Finally, a detailed section on preparing reports will help you prepare a written report for use either internally or in a courtroom.By the end of the book, you will have mastered forensic techniques and incident response, and you will have a solid foundation from which to increase your ability to investigate such incidents in your organization.
Windows Forensics Cookbook by
Maximize the power of Windows Forensics to perform highly effective forensic investigationsAbout This Book* Prepare and perform investigations using powerful tools for Windows,* Collect and validate evidence from suspects and computers and uncover clues that are otherwise difficult* Packed with powerful recipes to perform highly effective field investigationsWho This Book Is ForIf you are a forensic analyst or incident response professional who wants to perform computer forensics investigations for the Windows platform and expand your took kit, then this book is for you.What You Will Learn* Understand the challenges of acquiring evidence from Windows systems and overcome them* Acquire and analyze Windows memory and drive data with modern forensic tools.* Extract and analyze data from Windows file systems, shadow copies and the registry* Understand the main Windows system artifacts and learn how to parse data from them using forensic tools* See a forensic analysis of common web browsers, mailboxes, and instant messenger services* Discover how Windows 10 differs from previous versions and how to overcome the specific challenges it presents* Create a graphical timeline and visualize data, which can then be incorporated into the final report* Troubleshoot issues that arise while performing Windows forensicsIn DetailWindows Forensics Cookbook provides recipes to overcome forensic challenges and helps you carry out effective investigations easily on a Windows platform. You will begin with a refresher on digital forensics and evidence acquisition, which will help you to understand the challenges faced while acquiring evidence from Windows systems. Next you will learn to acquire Windows memory data and analyze Windows systems with modern forensic tools. We also cover some more in-depth elements of forensic analysis, such as how to analyze data from Windows system artifacts, parse data from the most commonly-used web browsers and email services, and effectively report on digital forensic investigations.You will see how Windows 10 is different from previous versions and how you can overcome the specific challenges it brings. Finally, you will learn to troubleshoot issues that arise while performing digital forensic investigations.By the end of the book, you will be able to carry out forensics investigations efficiently.Style and approachThis practical guide filled with hands-on, actionable recipes to detect, capture, and recover digital artifacts and deliver impeccable forensic outcomes.
Python Digital Forensics Cookbook by
Over 60 recipes to help you learn digital forensics and leverage Python scripts to amplify your examinationsAbout This Book* Develop code that extracts vital information from everyday forensic acquisitions.* Increase the quality and efficiency of your forensic analysis.* Leverage the latest resources and capabilities available to the forensic community.Who This Book Is ForIf you are a digital forensics examiner, cyber security specialist, or analyst at heart, understand the basics of Python, and want to take it to the next level, this is the book for you. Along the way, you will be introduced to a number of libraries suitable for parsing forensic artifacts. Readers will be able to use and build upon the scripts we develop to elevate their analysis.What You Will Learn* Understand how Python can enhance digital forensics and investigations* Learn to access the contents of, and process, forensic evidence containers* Explore malware through automated static analysis* Extract and review message contents from a variety of email formats* Add depth and context to discovered IP addresses and domains through various Application Program Interfaces (APIs)* Delve into mobile forensics and recover deleted messages from SQLite databases* Index large logs into a platform to better query and visualize datasetsIn DetailTechnology plays an increasingly large role in our daily lives and shows no sign of stopping. Now, more than ever, it is paramount that an investigator develops programming expertise to deal with increasingly large datasets.By leveraging the Python recipes explored throughout this book, we make the complex simple, quickly extracting relevant information from large datasets. You will explore, develop, and deploy Python code and libraries to provide meaningful results that can be immediately applied to your investigations. Throughout the Python Digital Forensics Cookbook, recipes include topics such as working with forensic evidence containers, parsing mobile and desktop operating system artifacts, extracting embedded metadata from documents and executables, and identifying indicators of compromise. You will also learn to integrate scripts with Application Program Interfaces (APIs) such as VirusTotal and PassiveTotal, and tools such as Axiom, Cellebrite, and EnCase.By the end of the book, you will have a sound understanding of Python and how you can use it to process artifacts in your investigations.Style and approachOur succinct recipes take a no-frills approach to solving common challenges faced in investigations. The code in this book covers a wide range of artifacts and data sources. These examples will help improve the accuracy and efficiency of your analysis-no matter the situation.
Network Forensics by 
Mobile Forensics Cookbook: ata acquisition, extraction, recovery techniques, and investigations using modern forensic tools by 
O'Hara's Fundamentals of Criminal Investigation by
Fundamentals of Criminal Investigation has served as the "Bible" of criminal investigation for many years. The ninth edition reflects the changes in advancements in forensic science, practices of criminalistics, computerization, electronic databases, and the Internet while remaining focused on the fundamentals of criminal investigation to help investigators build a solid foundation of investigative skills. Criminal investigators will learn what is meant by a complete investigation and acquaint themselves with the proofs of the most important crimes. In addition, they will become familiar with the employment of technical methods and services that are available. The tools of the investigator are referred to as the three "I's," namely, "Information," "Interrogation," and "Instrumentation." This new edition includes an expanded discussion of this valuable tool. Among the changes in this new edition are the following: Updates to crime rates and occurrences; updated references and resources; updated glossary; a new chapter and section outline in the appendix to help facilitate locating material; revised crime scene investigation procedures; new information of the Next Generation Identification electronic database; new information on serial number restoration; new discussion of stress and determining deception; new discussion of intelligence analysis; revision of arson investigation techniques and practices; expanded discussion of Internet swindles; and an updated discussion of commonly abused drugs. The presentation of material in this book is directed to the beginning student of investigation, but experienced investigators and supervisors will find this text an excellent resource.
Criminal Investigation by
Criminal Investigation, Fourth Edition, offers a comprehensive and engaging examination of criminal investigation and the vital role criminal evidence plays in the process. The text focuses on the five critical areas essential to understanding criminal investigations: background and contextual issues, criminal evidence, legal procedures, evidence collection procedures, and forensic science.
Crime scene staging : investigating suspect misdirection of the crime scene by 
The Psychology of False Confessions by
Provides a comprehensive and up-to-date review of the development of the science behind the psychology of false confessions Four decades ago, little was known or understood about false confessions and the reasons behind them. So much has changed since then due in part to the diligent work done by Gisli H. Gudjonsson. This eye-opening book by the Icelandic/British clinical forensic psychologist, who in the mid 1970s had worked as detective in Reykjavik, offers a complete and current analysis of how the study of the psychology of false confessions came about, including the relevant theories and empirical/experimental evidence base. It also provides a reflective review of the gradual development of the science and how it can be applied to real life cases. Based on Gudjonsson's personal account of the biggest murder investigations in Iceland's history, as well as other landmark cases, The Psychology of False Confessions: Forty Years of Science and Practice takes readers inside the minds of those who sit on both sides of the interrogation table to examine why confessions to crimes occur even when the confessor is innocent. Presented in three parts, the book covers how the science of studying false confessions emerged and grew to become a regular field of practice. It then goes deep into the investigation of the mid-1970s assumed murders of two men in Iceland and the people held responsible for them. It finishes with an in-depth psychological analysis of the confessions of the six people convicted. Written by an expert extensively involved in the development of the science and its application to real life cases Covers the most sensational murder cases in Iceland's history Deep analysis of the 'Reykjavik Confessions' adds crucial evidence to understanding how and why coerced-internalized false confessions occur, and their detrimental and lasting effects on memory The Psychology of False Confessions: Forty Years of Science and Practice is an important source book for students, academics, criminologists, and clinical, forensic, and social psychologists and psychiatrists.
Chasing a Serial Killer by
"Criminal profilers have the challenging task of building a profile, or description, of an unknown criminal offender. Using clues left behind at a crime scene and various investigative processes, they can discover what the culprit was feeling, planning, and perhaps even their next move. This is especially important when the perpetrator is a serial killer who will likely strike again. Readers will be engrossed in this account of a criminal profiler on a case. Vivid on-the-job photographs and images perfectly match the action of the story and support key attributes of this important career."
Special Issue : Cultural Expert Witnessing by
Studies in Law, Politics, and Society provides a vehicle for the publication of scholarly articles within the broad parameters of interdisciplinary legal scholarship. In this latest edition of this highly successful research series, chapters examine a diverse range of legal issues and their impact on and intersections with society. This volume is a collection of chapters exploring expert witnessing in Asylum Cases. Topics covered include: judicial ethnocentrism, political asylum, race identity and cultural defense. This volume brings together leading scholars and will be vital reading for all those researching in this subject area.
The Suspect : An Olympic Bombing, the FBI, the Media, and Richard Jewell, the Man Caught in the Middle by
A based-on source for the Warner Bros. film Richard Jewell, starring Sam Rockwell, Kathy Bates, Jon Hamm, Olivia Wilde, and Paul Walter Hauser​ "Meticulously reported, bracingly written, full of memorable and bizarre characters, the book casts a wary eye on the worlds of law enforcement and journalism, and their multiple failures in this tale. It's a story with no winners - except for readers of this terrific book."​ -- Jeffrey Toobin The masterful true-crime account of the 1996 Centennial Olympic Park bombing that captured the world's attention, and the heroic security guard-turned-suspect at the heart of it all On July 27, 1996, a hapless former cop turned hypervigilant security guard named Richard Jewell spotted a suspicious bag in Atlanta's Centennial Olympic Park, the town square of the 1996 Summer Games. Inside was a bomb, the largest of its kind in FBI and ATF history. Minutes later, the bomb detonated amid a crowd of fifty thousand people. But thanks to Jewell, it only wounded 111 and killed two, not the untold scores who would have otherwise died. With the eyes of the world on Atlanta, the Games continued. But the pressure to find the bomber was intense. Within seventy-two hours, Jewell went from the hero to the FBI's main suspect. The news leaked and the intense focus on the guard forever changed his life. The worst part: It let the true bomber roam free to strike again. What really happened that evening during the Olympic Games? The attack left a mark on American history, but most of what we remember is wrong. In a triumph of reporting and access in the tradition of the best investigative journalism, former U.S. Attorney Kent Alexander and former Wall Street Journal reporter Kevin Salwen reconstruct all the events leading up to, during, and after the Olympic bombing from mountains of law enforcement evidence and the extensive personal records of key players, including Richard himself. The Suspect, the culmination of more than five years of reporting, is a gripping story of the rise of domestic terrorism in America, the advent of the 24/7 news cycle, and an innocent man's fight to clear his name.
Convenient Suspect : A Double Murder, a Flawed Investigation, and the Railroading of an Innocent Woman by
On Thursday, December 15, 1994, Joann Katrinak and her three-month-old son, Alex, went missing from their Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, home. Four months later, when their bodies were found in a lonely patch of woods, the police would launch a three-year investigation leading to the arrest of Patricia Lynne Rorrer--a young mother who had never met either victim--as the monster responsible. In Pennsylvania's first use of mitochondrial DNA in a criminal case, Patricia Rorrer was quickly tried, convicted, and sentenced to life in prison without parole. But did the jury make the right decision? Is Patricia Rorrer truly guilty? As new evidence continues to surface, including allegations of evidence tampering, that question requires an answer even more. With a subject matter and storytelling style reminiscent of the hit podcast Serial , Convenient Suspect will keep readers on the edge of their seats. The book reveals information never before made public--information gathered directly from more than 10,000 official documents, including Pennsylvania State Police reports, FBI files, forensic lab results, and the 6,500-page trial transcript. After four years of intensive research, countless interviews with those involved, and hundreds of letters, phone calls, and personal visits with Patricia Rorrer, the truth about the evidence used to convict her can finally be revealed.
Blood, Sweat and Fear by
Finalist, Crime Writers of Canada Arthur Ellis Award During his forty-two-year-career he helped detectives in Vancouver, Victoria, and throughout BC solve hit-and-runs, safe-crackings, and some of the most sensational murder cases of the 20th century. Vance was constantly called to crime scenes and to testify in court because of his skills in serology, toxicology, and autopsy. When Vance was first called to a crime scene in 1914, forensics was in its infancy. Vancouver was the first police department in Canada to have a scientist on staff and one of the few police departments in North America to use forensics in investigations. Vance's knowledge of poisons helped solved a sensational death case, while his work in blood analysis allowed him to distinguish human from animal blood--and thereby send a murderer to the gallows. His work in firearms examination was leading-edge, and Vance was able to bring his expertise in trace evidence and explosives to solve dozens of robberies, earning him front-page headlines. Vance's skills and analytic abilities were so effective that in 1934 there were seven attempts on his life, and for a time, he and his family were under constant police guard from criminals afraid to go up against him in court. Blood, Sweat, and Fear delves into some of the most notorious cases in BC's history while giving a sense of what life was like in Vancouver during the first half of the century. At the same time, it reveals the untold story of the personal struggle of John F.C.B. Vance, a scientist who never lost his moral compass in the midst of corruption that reached to the top of the police force and to City Hall.
Plane Crash : The Forensics of Aviation Disasters by
One of the most amazing feats of modern life is the frequency with which airplanes safely take off and land: about 40,000 times a day in the United States alone. Commercial aviation is by far the safest mode of transportation and is becoming safer all the time. But on the exceedingly rare occasion that a plane does crash, comprehensive accident analysis, thorough investigation, and implementation of remedial actions significantly reduces the probability of an already remote event ever recurring. Plane Crash, an unprecedented collaboration between mechanical engineering professor George Bibel and airline Captain Robert Hedges, shares the riveting stories of both high-profile and lesser-known airplane accidents. Drawing on accident reports, eyewitness accounts, and simple diagrams to explain what went wrong in the plane and in the cockpit, Hedges provides invaluable insight into aviation human factors, while Bibel analyzes mechanical failures. No prior scientific knowledge is needed to understand the principles and procedures this book describes, only an interest in the view from what Captain Hedges describes as "the best seat in the house." Organized around the phases of flight--takeoff, climb, cruise, approach, and landing--this book is a captivating look at some of the most dramatic plane crashes of the modern age, including Asiana Airlines 214, Air France 447, and Malaysia Airlines 370. If you have ever wondered what goes through a pilot's mind as a flight takes a turn for the dangerous, what impact turbulence actually has on flight safety, or even just how the wonders of aeronautics work to keep passengers safe day in and out, Plane Crash will both fascinate and educate.
Environmental Crime: Evidence Gathering and Investigative Techniques by
This book will provide invaluable assistance to the new criminal environmental investigator in the highly regulated and complex field of criminal environmental investigations. This type of criminal investigation comes with a very steep learning curve. Every activity that takes place at an environmental crime scene involving a hazardous substance is strictly regulated by numerous laws and mandated procedures which must be met for a prosecutor to pursue a successful criminal prosecution. Written in a format which will bring the new criminal environmental investigator through this lengthy learning process, its goal is to supply the criminal environmental investigator with the comprehensive procedures and techniques necessary to conduct a successful criminal environmental investigation that involves the release to the environment of a chemical, biological or radiological hazardous substance. The first issues addressed are those related to the specialized training, equipment, and resources needed to safely and effectively conduct this unique type of criminal investigation. This is followed by several chapters related to environmental crime search warrants, which includes such subjects as establishing probable cause, search warrant planning and search warrant execution. In addition, the criminal environmental investigator is provided with the hazardous evidence collection protocols necessary to collect chemical, biological and radiological evidence in their various forms and matrices. This work goes beyond simply describing "how" to collect hazardous evidence: it informs the reader "why" the hazardous evidence must be collected in a specific manner to meet the many challenges that can be expected to be brought forth by the adversarial criminal justice system.
Massacres : Bioarchaeology and Forensic Anthropology Approaches by
This volume integrates data from researchers in bioarchaeology and forensic anthropology to explain when and why group-targeted violence occurs. Massacres have plagued both ancient and modern societies, and by analyzing skeletal remains from these events within their broader cultural and historical contexts this volume opens up important new understandings of the underlying social processes that continue to lead to these tragedies.In case studies that include Crow Creek in South Dakota, Khmer Rouge?era Cambodia, the Peruvian Andes, the Tennessee River Valley, and northern Uganda, contributors demonstrate that massacres are a process?a nonrandom pattern of events that precede the acts of violence and continue long afterward. They also show that massacres have varying aims and are driven by culture-specific forces and logic, ranging from small events to cases of genocide. Many of these studies examine bones found in mass graves, while others focus on victims whose bodies have never been buried. Notably, they also expand widely held definitions of massacres to include structural violence, featuring the radical argument that the large-scale death of undocumented migrants in Arizona?s Sonoran Desert should be viewed as an extended massacre.This is the first volume to focus exclusively on massacres as a unique form of violence. Its interdisciplinary approach illuminates similarities in human behavior across time and space, provides methods for identifying killings as massacres, and helps today?s societies learn from patterns of the past.Contributors Cheryl P. Anderson | Cate E. Bird | William E. De Vore | David H. Dye | Julie M. Fleischman | Julia R. Hanebrink | Ryan P. Harrod | Keith P. Jacobi | Ashley E. Kendell | Krista E. Latham | Justin Maiers | Debra L. Martin | Alyson O?Daniel | Anna J. Osterholtz | Marin A. Pilloud | His Excellency Sonnara Prak | Tricia Redeker Hepner | Sophearavy Ros | Al W. Schwitalla | Dawnie Wolfe Steadman | J. Marla Toyne | Vuthy Voeun | P. Willey A volume in the series Bioarchaeological Interpretations of the Human Past: Local, Regional, and Global Perspectives, edited by Clark Spencer Larsen
The Journal of Digital Forensics, Security and Law by
Peer-reviewed, Coverage: 2006 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - present, Open-access
Environmental Forensics
03/01/2000 - present (Full-Text Delay: 18 months)
Journal of Forensic Practice
Criminal Justice Database 11/01/2003 - present (Full-Text Delay: 1 year)
Nursing & Allied Health Database 11/01/2003 - present (Full-Text Delay: 1 year)
ProQuest Central 11/01/2003 - present (Full-Text Delay: 1 year)
Journal of Forensic Psychiatry & Psychology
Academic Search Complete 04/01/2003 - present (Full-Text Delay: 18 months)
Academic Search Ultimate 04/01/2003 - present (Full Text Delay: 18 months)
Advanced Placement Source 04/01/2003 - present (Full-Text Delay: 18 months)
Legal Source 04/01/2003 - present (Full-Text Delay: 18 months)
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection 04/01/2003 - present (Full-Text Delay: 18 months)
Trade publication focused exclusively on evidence collection, processing, and preservation.
The Journal of Forensic and Legal Medicine publishes topical articles on aspects of forensic and legal medicine.
The journal Forensic Toxicology provides an international forum for the publication of studies on toxic substances, drugs of abuse, doping agents, chemical warfare agents, and their metabolisms and analyses, which are related to laws and ethics. Look for articles marked Open Access.
A forensic psychology website, curated by a psychologist, Dr. Sherri Restauri, designed to help anybody looking for detailed information and resources. A great introduction to the field of forensic psychology.
This page describes a retired police officer's opinion of using a computer composite program. He also provides some of the actual images from the program.
This site was designed to help accident reconstructionists to learn how to study the evidence. There are a number of cases presented and solutions are offered by individuals. In some cases, there are several solutions that have been offered.
All Resources are publicly accessible .
Need research or homework help and cannot come to the library? No problem! Type your question in the chatbox below, call the reference desk, send a text, or email and a library professional will respond to you shortly after, during our normal hours. If you submit your question outside of regular hours, we will respond as soon as possible when we return the following business day. Our subject-specific research and study guides can be very helpful,l as well.
Check out our list of reference faculty and staff if you have a subject-specific question and want to contact a librarian directly, who also often respond even after the regular chat and text hours. However, this is not guaranteed. The faculty and staff at CSU Libraries can be fairly flexible in meeting you virtually or one-on-one to assist you in your academic goals and pursuits.
Westlaw Campus Research
HeinOnline
