Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CSU

Criminal Justice

Resources and help for topics relating to criminal justice.

Introductory Information

Introduction to the Supreme and Federal Courts

Introduction to the Structure of the Federal Court System

 

Court Resources - Online

A National Institute of Justice website focused on research on and evaluation of United States Court programs and practices.

NCJRS resources on-court issues related to case processing, civil justice, types of courts, equipment/technology, facilities/security, personnel, pretrial release, sentencing, and sanctions.  Publications, reports, and statistics.

The mission of this government agency is to promote improvement in the judicial administration of the United States federal court system. The Center's site offers publications on court operations and procedures, court history, and educational materials. A database of Judges of the United States Courts provides biographical information on judges who have served on the U.S. District Courts, the U.S. Courts of Appeals, the Supreme Court, and other life-tenured courts since 1789.

A nonpartisan, nonprofit, statewide court reform organization striving to improve the judicial system in New York State; the site includes Court Monitoring reports, Citizens Jury Project reports, and a guide to judicial selection in New York State.

A companion website to the 2007 PBS series, The Supreme Court site includes a "For Educators" section which includes essays and teaching materials on gender equality, social rights, personal liberties, and equal access to schools. Also included are an interactive timeline of landmark cases handed down since 1792 and a searchable encyclopedia of terms and court cases of note.

The official site of the United States Federal Judiciary. Some highlights include federal rules of practice, procedure and evidence, organization of the judiciary system and its relationship to the legislative and executive branches of the government, and information on federal judges.

Federal Courts Statistics

This webpage from the Bureau of Justice Statistics provides a statistical overview and lists relevant publications.

This is a guide from the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data.  It provides an overview of federal statistical program agencies and their data collection efforts with access to dataset files.

The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS), through its Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center (FJSRC), compiles comprehensive information describing suspects and defendants processed in the Federal criminal justice system. The goal of FJSRC is to provide uniform case processing statistics across all stages of the Federal criminal justice system.  This website creates custom tables and provides links to publications.

This annual statistical report is published by the U.S. Sentencing Commission and provides descriptive figures, tables, and charts, and selected district, circuit, and national sentencing data.

TRAC is a data gathering, data research, and data distribution organization at Syracuse University.  The public web site, TRACReports, provides information on selected federal enforcement agencies, special topical reports, and "bulletins" about federal enforcement, staffing, and expenditures.  Look here for data on U.S. federal criminal prosecutions and data from individual federal agencies such as the Federal Bureau of Investigation, Drug Enforcement Agency, Internal Revenue Service, and the Department of Homeland Security.

 

Court Statistics

 

Government Publications

Logo for HeinOnline Database


HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,600 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase.

Below are collections CSU students, faculty and friends have access to through HeinOnline. All contain mostly primary source information, published by the government. 

A screenshot of HeinOnline's browse by Database Name section.

HeinOnline - Suggested Collections

Categories to consider looking in the database for are: 

The Supreme Court Library History of Supreme Court Nominations
Screenshot of the HeinOnline U.S. Supreme Court Library A screenshot of the collection of the History of Supreme Court Nominations collections in HeinOnline

 

Criminal Procedure

The University of Chicago Library's Lyonette Louis-Jacques' guide to "journal articles, book chapters, and treatises covering comparative criminal procedure generally, criminal procedure in multiple jurisdictions, and specialized research topics in comparative criminal procedure."

Cornell Law School's Legal Information Institute overview on criminal procedure including discussions on Investigatory and Accusatory Police Procedure, Pre-Trial Procedure, Trial Procedure, Right to Effective Counsel, Stages of a Trial and Sentencing. Access Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure as well as links provided in the beforementioned sections of their Overview.

Access state laws of criminal procedure as well as criminal codes by state at Cornell Law School's Legal Information Institute.

Juvenile Court

The OJJDP Statistical Briefing Book (SBB) enables users to access online information via OJJDP's Web site to learn more about juvenile crime and victimization and about youth involved in the juvenile justice system.  Pertinent sections include Juvenile Justice System Structure & Process and Juveniles in Court.

This online tool facilitates independent analysis of national estimates of the more than 30 million delinquency cases processed by the nation's juvenile courts between 1985 and 2005. With this application, users can perform unique analyses on the age, sex, and race of juveniles involved in these cases as well as the referral offense, the use of detention, adjudication, and case disposition.