Accessible Via GALILEO*
Public Access
Additional Information (hover mouse over icon)
Note: * Are titles can be viewed by the public, content may be restricted.
Need research or homework help and cannot come to the library? No problem! Type your question in the chatbox below, call the reference desk, send a text, or email and a library professional will respond to you shortly after, during our normal hours. If you submit your question outside of regular hours, we will respond as soon as possible when we return the following business day. Our subject-specific research and study guides can be very helpful,l as well.
Check out our list of reference faculty and staff if you have a subject-specific question and want to contact a librarian directly, who also often respond even after the regular chat and text hours. However, this is not guaranteed. The faculty and staff at CSU Libraries can be fairly flexible in meeting you virtually or one-on-one to assist you in your academic goals and pursuits.
See the home page of the FBI for information about job opportunities as well as a link to crime statistics and information about wanted and missing people. See the Resources tab for information about training and technology.
An agency of the U.S. Department of Justice whose goal is to protect public safety by ensuring federal offenders serve their sentences while providing safe, humane, and cost-effective facilities.
Provides information about careers, the agency, and its priorities. See the Resources tab to find the manual that governs the DOJ, its guidance documents, and publications.
Contains links to their statistics and guidelines. The By Topic tab contains links to reports on a variety of topics.
The world’s largest international police organization, with 188 member countries. Created in 1923, it facilitates cross-border police co-operation and supports and assists all organizations, authorities, and services whose mission is to prevent or combat international crime.
From the full list of state agencies, below are some of the most relevant to the topic of law enforcement:
Center for Problem-Oriented Policing, University of Albany
This non-profit organization, comprised of police practitioners, researchers, and universities, is dedicated to the advancement of problem-oriented policing. Published information available in their website's extensive Library which includes over 70 Problem-Oriented Policing guides to police practice for specific crimes, Response Guides which address common police responses, and Problem-Solving Tool Guides which analyze common methods and techniques applied to crime and disorder problems. A wealth of manuals, guidelines, and reports free of charge.
National Institute of Justice's webpage presenting research and evaluation of programs and practices related to law enforcement in the United States. See also the section on Crime & Crime Prevention at CrimeSolutions.org.
An extensive site for sources on law enforcement Equipment and Facilities such as Communications and Dispatching, Less Lethal techniques and technology and Protective Equipment; Investigations such as Task Forces; Operations such as Community Policing and Problem-Oriented Policing; Personnel issues such as Recruiting, Stress, and Training; Profiling and Use of Force.
Founded by the Vera Institute of Justice, PARC works with local, national and international law enforcement agencies and community organizations to provide independent, evidence-based counsel and research on effective, respectful, and publicly accountable policing. Their site includes Code 3, a monthly column by a veteran journalist who has covered police accountability issues for more than 25 years as well as PARC's public reports, investigations, and assessments.
The Police Foundation is a non-profit, non-partisan, and non-membership-driven organization dedicated to improving American policing through innovation and science. The Foundation's Publication Library is extensive and covers topics such as crime mapping, American policing, practices and strategies, terrorism, and body-worn cameras just to name a few. Included are their own publications such as Crime Mapping and Analysis News and their Critical Incident Reviews. A good source for useful resources such as their Use of Force Infographic aimed at educating the public on the appropriate police force and how incidences are investigated.
Official Directory of State Patrol and State Police
This directory of state patrol and police departments was founded by Senior Sergeant (Retired) Terrance D Martin. He provides links to official sites for state police departments in the U.S. as well as a few poems by and about state troopers.
Community Oriented Policing Services(COPS) - US Department of Justice
The Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies(CALEA)
Code of Conduct for Law Enforcement Officials- United Nations Rule of Law
A unique collection of first-person stories from inmates, correctional officers, lawyers, judges, parole officers, parents, victims and those whose lives have been affected by the criminal justice system; interactive quizzes, interactive corrections timeline from 600 to the present from a multitude of perspectives, a list of resources including curriculum, reading list, video and radio documentaries, and links to related sources.
ACA, founded in 1870, is the oldest association developed specifically for practitioners in the correctional profession with a stated purpose of improving the justice system. Their site includes professional development courses, certification and webinars; ACA Standards and Accreditation materials including legislation and best practices; information from the ACA Office of Correctional Healthcare; Conference details and proceedings; ACA Global Outreach; and access to Corrections Today.
Westlaw Campus Research
HeinOnline