The White House Briefings and Statements page is from whitehouse.gov and provides all of the official statements and press releases made during the current administration.
Presidential Actions provides all information related to the President's executive authority such as nominations to federal, administration, judicial, and all other positions dictated by law for the President to do so, executive orders, memoranda issued, and proclamations.
The Executive Branch
The executive branch carries out and enforces laws. It includes the president, vice president, the Cabinet, executive departments, independent agencies, and other boards, commissions, and committees.
American citizens have the right to vote for the president and vice president through free, confidential ballots.
Key roles of the executive branch include:
* Information is taken from Branches of the U.S. Government, usa.gov
"Every day, the President of the United States is faced with scores of decisions, each with important consequences for working families. To provide the President with the support that he or she needs to govern effectively, the Executive Office of the President (EOP) was created in 1939 by President Franklin D. Roosevelt. The EOP has responsibility for tasks ranging from communicating the President’s message to the American people to promoting our trade interests abroad."
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,600 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase.
Below are collections CSU students, faculty and friends have access to through HeinOnline. All contain mostly primary source information, published by the government.
The Public Papers of the Presidents, which is compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration, began in 1957 in response to a recommendation of the National Historical Publications Commission. Noting the lack of uniform compilations of messages and papers of the Presidents before this time, the Commission recommended the establishment of an official series in which Presidential writings, addresses, and remarks of a public nature could be made available.
Volumes covering the administrations of Presidents Hoover, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, George H.W. Bush, Clinton, and George W. Bush are included in the Public Papers series. Currently, FDsyscontains the Public Papers for Presidents George H.W. Bush, Clinton, George W. Bush, and Barack Obama. Additional volumes covering the administrations of Presidents Hoover, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, and Reagan will be made available from GPO in the future. Currently, volumes are published approximately twice a year, and each volume covers approximately a 6-month period.*
Note: Prior to Franklin D. Roosevelt, the Presidential Papers were published privately.
These online editions are available through a partnership between the Office of Presidential Libraries and the Office of the Federal Register.
*Taken from the Public Papers of the President page from the National Archives.
A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies
Branches of Government - An excellent outline of the branches of the U.S. government. Scroll down to the 'Executive Branch' and there will be a dropdown menu describing the offices, agencies, and executive positions.
