LibGuides: Political Science & Public Administration: Getting Started

Background Information

Before starting any research on your topic, you must have background knowledge of it. Books and websites can provide you with that knowledge.

This is important because:

Background sources give you the language people use to discuss your topic. You will use this language when you search databases for scholarly articles and resources on the topic.
This "pre-research" gives you a sense that your topic is focused enough. If your initial searches bring back so many results, you can't even figure out the language, so consider narrowing your topic.

Background Information Sources

Wikipedia
Yes it is ok to use Wikipedia to gather background information. Just don't use it as authoritative information or cite it.
Encyclopedia Britannica
database includes thousands of articles from the printed Encyclopædia Britannica, including thousands more that are not found in the print set. The resource also includes year-in-review articles from recent yearbooks, The Britannica Student Encyclopedia, and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus. Most articles are brief or of moderate length and discuss people, places, institutions, things, or concepts. Longer articles are divided into separate sections for easier access and more accurate searching.
The New Georgia Encyclopedia
The New Georgia Encyclopedia provides access to authoritative information on people, places, events, history, and other topics about the state of Georgia. The site includes articles and images on every aspect of the state and includes links to related Internet sites.
more...less...
Multimedia features of the site require the QuickTime player.

Database Provider: NGE is a project of the Georgia Humanities Council in partnership with the Office of the Governor, the University of Georgia Press, and the University System of Georgia/GALILEO.

21st Century Political Science by John T. Ishiyama (Editor); Marijke Breuning (Editor)
Call Number: e-Book
ISBN: 1452266360
Publication Date: 2011-01-31
Offering full coverage of major subthemes and subfields within political science this reference handbook includes entries on topics from theory and methodology to international relations and institutions.
Description based upon print version of record.
Political Science by Ann Hosein (Editor)
Call Number: e-Book
ISBN: 1622755472
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
This book traces the development of political science from ancient influences such as Plato and Aristotle to modern political shapers such as Robert A. Dahl. It covers changes to the field in both thought and practice due to the rise and fall of political regimes, world wars, colonialism, and social media. The book also includes thorough examinations of international relations, systems of government, constitutions, domestic policy, public opinion, and administration. The book ends with brief biographies of important people in the field of political science that specifies their various contributions.
Theory and Methods in Political Science by Vivien Lowndes (Editor); David Marsh (Editor); Gerry Stoker (Editor)
Call Number: JA71 .T497 2018
ISBN: 9781137603524
Publication Date: 2017-10-18
This leading text provides an ideal foundation for study and research in political science, bringing together renowned figures in the field to introduce the key approaches and methods used in the study of politics. The fully revised fourth edition features a considerable updating in the team of contributors and the range of coverage and examples.