Political Science & Public Administration

Georgia State Agencies, Councils and Commissions provides links to web sites maintained by many state agencies. Database Provider: Georgia.gov

Official website.

From LexisNexis

The Georgia Official and Statistical Register, published from 1923-1990 by the Georgia Department of Archives and History, is commonly known as the Georgia Blue Book. Considered an important reference work for historical research, the Register covers Georgia's executive, legislative, and judicial branches of government, providing biographical sketches of elected and other state officials. Georgia members of U.S. Congress and federal judges are included, as are county officials and regents of the university system. The Blue Books contain election returns, provide basic reference data on Georgia counties, and cover Georgia miscellany, such as the state flag, state flower, state song, rosters of Georgia governors, and legal holidays.

The Georgia Census Data provides access to the U.S. Census Bureau's State and County Quick Facts data. Broken into three sections: People Quick Facts, Business Quick Facts, and Geography Quick Facts, the site offers a break down of some of the key statistics associated with Georgia. Data can be limited to a specific county of city

GeorgiaDATA Includes information on agriculture, courts and crime, education, economics and finance, health, government, housing, and more.

Georgia History Ebooks from the University of Georgia Press includes early and seminal works on Georgia's history and culture, many published in the 1950s and 1960s that have long been out of print. Users also have the option of ordering print copies of these titles from the University of Georgia Press. Books in the University of Georgia Press History Ebook Project will be of interest to two main groups: historians and general readers of Georgia history. Included in the project are works by historians such as E. Merton Coulter and Kenneth Coleman, both faculty emeriti of the University of Georgia.

The Georgia Department of Archives and History maintains a web site of information on its organization, collections, and services. The mission of the Georgia Department of Archives and History is to identify, select, preserve, and ensure the accessibility of government and other information constituting Georgia's recorded history, including the official records of Georgia from 1732 to the present. In addition, it collects private manuscripts and photographs which complement existing archival holdings. Links to online publications, finding aids, and other web sites related to Georgia history and genealogy are provided.

GAfutures is a resource freely available on the Web designed to help Georgia high school students and others who are interested in attending college explore careers, prepare for college and learn about financial aid opportunities. Resources include tools for matching students to careers; detailed information on specific careers; SAT, ACT, and GRE test preparation; tools for comparing Georgia colleges and universities; online forms for loan applications, FAFSA, and Hope Scholarship/Tuition Equalization Grant; and tools for financial planning. Users can create a personal account that allows them to manage all their college and career information and can share their information with school counselors.

GAfutures is a collaboration of the GSFC, the University System of Georgia, the Technical College System of Georgia, the Foundation for Independent Colleges, the Department of Education, the School Counselors Association, the Office of Treasury and Fiscal Services, Georgia Public Broadcasting, the Professional Standards Commission, and the Georgia Public Library Service.

The New Georgia Encyclopedia provides access to authoritative information on people, places, events, history, and other topics about the state of Georgia. The site includes articles and images on every aspect of the state and includes links to related Internet sites.

This link will take you to all databases in GALILEO that are listed under the subject of Georgia.

Factsheets and reports for Georgia. Also included are Annual fact sheets providing statistics on the Social Security and Supplemental Security Income programs, including the number of people receiving benefits and the amount of total monthly payments, in each state, territory, and Congressional district.

Coverage from 1985 - present.

Economic reports and information about any state, published by the Bureau of Economic Analysis.

Find information on topics related to business, criminal justice, education, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, social issues, sports, STEM and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content including the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Columbus Ledger-Enquirer, USA Today and more.

Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content with archives that stretch back into the 1980s; from over 2,800 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, transcripts, video, and digital-first content in full-text format. Global Newsstream provides one of the largest collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Global Newsstream incorporates the U.S. Newsstream, Canadian Newsstream, and International Newsstream databases. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform.

This link will bring you to all Georgia newspapers in Newsbank Databases.