Skip to Main Content


Political Science & Public Administration

Information and research help for the discipline of political science and public administration.

The President and The White House

Image of the white house.

The Executive Branch


Executive Branch of the U.S. Government

The executive branch carries out and enforces laws. It includes the president, vice president, the Cabinet, executive departments, independent agencies, and other boards, commissions, and committees.

American citizens have the right to vote for the president and vice president through free, confidential ballots.

Key roles of the executive branch include:

  • President—The president leads the country. He or she is the head of state, leader of the federal government, and Commander in Chief of the United States armed forces. The president serves a four-year term and can be elected no more than two times.
  • Vice president—The vice president supports the president. If the president is unable to serve, the vice president becomes president. The vice president can be elected and serve an unlimited number of four-year terms as vice president, even under a different president.
  • The Cabinet—Cabinet members serve as advisors to the president. They include the vice president, heads of executive departments, and other high-ranking government officials. Cabinet members are nominated by the president and must be approved by a simple majority of the Senate—51 votes if all 100 Senators vote.*

The White House

  • The White House - Official website which provides links to government published information and images related to The White House. - Every president since John Adams has occupied the White House, and the history of this building extends far beyond the construction of its walls. The White House is both the home of the President of the United States and his family and a museum of American history.
  • The Executive Branch - From


* Information is taken from Branches of the U.S. Government,

The President and Vice-President of the United States

White House of the US President Logo

Image of President Joe Biden       



President Joesph R. Biden, Jr. 






Image is a portrait of Vice-President Kamala Harris       



Vice-President, Kamala Harris


The White House Administration

A portrait of the First Lady of the United States.       


Dr. Jill Biden





Portrait of Douglas Emhoff



Douglass Emhoff


The Cabinet

Image is of the cabinet's conference room.            The President's Cabinet

The Executive Office of the President of the United States

The seal for the Executive Office of the President of the United States.

From the Executive Office of the President of the United States:

"Every day, the President of the United States is faced with scores of decisions, each with important consequences for working families. To provide the President with the support that he or she needs to govern effectively, the Executive Office of the President (EOP) was created in 1939 by President Franklin D. Roosevelt. The EOP has responsibility for tasks ranging from communicating the President’s message to the American people to promoting our trade interests abroad."

The Boards That Compose the Executive Office


Presidential Primary Sources

Logo for Hein Online Database. Image link takes user to the database.


HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,600 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase.

Below are collections CSU students, faculty and friends have access to through HeinOnline. All contain mostly primary source information, published by the government. 

A screenshot of HeinOnline's browse by Database Name section.


Presidential Papers

The Public Papers of the President - 

The Public Papers of the Presidents, which is compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration, began in 1957 in response to a recommendation of the National Historical Publications Commission. Noting the lack of uniform compilations of messages and papers of the Presidents before this time, the Commission recommended the establishment of an official series in which Presidential writings, addresses, and remarks of a public nature could be made available.

Volumes covering the administrations of Presidents Hoover, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, George H.W. Bush, Clinton, and George W. Bush are included in the Public Papers series. Currently, FDsyscontains the Public Papers for Presidents George H.W. Bush, Clinton, George W. Bush, and Barack Obama. Additional volumes covering the administrations of Presidents Hoover, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, and Reagan will be made available from GPO in the future. Currently, volumes are published approximately twice a year, and each volume covers approximately a 6-month period.*

Note: Prior to Franklin D. Roosevelt, the Presidential Papers were published privately. 

Online Editions

These online editions are available through a partnership between the Office of Presidential Libraries and the Office of the Federal Register.

Print Editions

  • Contact CSU Libraries to view the print editions. 


*Taken from the Public Papers of the President page from the National Archives. 

Government Departments and Agencies

A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies

Branches of Government - An excellent outline of the branches of the U.S. government. Scroll down to the 'Executive Branch' and there will be a dropdown menu describing the offices, agencies, and executive positions. 

Image is a screenshot of the section of that describes the Executive Branch agencies.