LibGuides: Business: Statistics & Data

Getting Started - Datasets

Start with a general statistics database like the ones on the right to find tables on your topic. If more detail is needed, note the source of the statistics and then go to that source using the library catalog or a web search. For statistics in a subject area, try the sections on statistics by subject.

Need Statistical Information?

Statistical Abstracts of the United States
Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, the Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best-known statistical reference publication in the country, and perhaps, the world. You’ll find it behind nearly every reference desk in U.S. libraries as the authoritative go-to source. Librarians value the Statistical Abstract as both an answer book ("How much corn is grown in Iowa?") and a guide to statistical sources ("What organization has the most authoritative data on foreclosures?"). As a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, it is a snapshot of America and its people.
CDC (Centers for Disease Control)
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) website offers a variety of options for researching current health issues including, up-to-date information on current diseases and illnesses, vaccine information, general health information, safety, and wellness. Information is available not only for consumers, but for health care professionals as well. Access to statistical data and CDC publications is available.
Statista
A statistical tool to find quantitative company and industry research.
Economic Census
Business and Industry data from the U.S.Census
Country Business Patterns
Information put out by the U.S. Census collected at the country level.
Google Public Data

The U.S. Census

United States Census
The largest repository of demographics and statistics for and about the United States.
Economic Census
The Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy. It is conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau, and response is required by law.
Annual Survey of Manufactures (ASM)
The Annual Survey of Manufactures (ASM) provides sample estimates of statistics for all manufacturing establishments with one or more paid employee.
County Business Patterns (CBP)
CBP is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll.
Local Area Personal Income and Employment
Shows the geographic distribution of U.S. economic activity and growth. This data provides a consistent framework for analyzing and comparing individual state and local area economies.
National Data, GDP & Personal Income
Interactive website that includes National income and product accounts (NIPA) tables, providing the following data on the U.S. economy: gross domestic product (GDP), gross domestic income (GDI), national income, corporate profits, government receipts and expenditures, personal income and disposable personal income, personal consumption expenditures (PCE) or consumer spending, and personal saving.

All resources posted in this section are public access and published by Federal and Georgia agencies.

Economics Datasets

International Monetary Fund Data
Time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators.
Panel Study of Income Dynamics
The Panel Study of Income Dynamics - PSID - is the longest running longitudinal household survey in the world. Includes employment, income, wealth, expenditures, health, marriage, childbearing, child development, philanthropy, education, and numerous other topics.
Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD)
The mission of the OECD is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.
OEDC StatExtracts
OECD.Stat includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies

Business Reports

Business Report Guides by Dorinda Clippinger This book includes reports that managers originate often, reports they may create occasionally, organizational policies, procedures, and work instructions. Inside, the reader will discover guides for creating over 20 diverse reports; designing report forms; planning, writing, and formatting narrative reports; producing digital and print employee manuals; and locating the service providers and software that can improve your reports' cost-effectiveness.
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781631574184
Publication Date: 2019-01-16

Legend
	Access is provided through GALILEO. CSU Faculty/Students/Staff Sign In Required.
	Public Access
	Federal Government Publication (Public Access)
	Georgia State Government Publication (Public Access)

Business

Get Research Help

Google Datasets

Legend

Getting Started - Datasets

Need Statistical Information?

The U.S. Census

Economics Datasets

Business Reports