Provides access to Moody's full collection of Digital manuals offering corporate data from 1909 forward including: Bank and Finance, Industrial, International, OTC Industrial, Public Utility, Transportation and OTC Unlisted. Searchable by Company name, manual and year.
Chronicling America provides access to nearly 3,000 digitized newspapers. The site was developed as an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Use Chronicling America to search digitized newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information.
The Georgia Department of Archives and History maintains a web site of information on its organization, collections, and services. The mission of the Georgia Department of Archives and History is to identify, select, preserve, and ensure the accessibility of government and other information constituting Georgia's recorded history, including the official records of Georgia from 1732 to the present. In addition, it collects private manuscripts and photographs which complement existing archival holdings. Links to online publications, finding aids, and other web sites related to Georgia history and genealogy are provided.
The Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive is a project of the Digital Library of Georgia (DLG), a part of Georgia's Virtual Library GALILEO and is based at the University of Georgia Libraries. Since 2007, the DLG has partnered with universities, archives, public libraries, historical societies, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions to digitize historical newspapers from around the state. The archive is free and open for public use.
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. There are more than 90 partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide.
Encyclopedia of History of American Management by Morgen WitzelContaining more than 250 entries, this unique and ambitious work traces the development of management thinking and major business culture in North America. Entries range from 600 words to 2500 words and contain concise biographical detail, a critical analysis of the thinkers' doctrines and ideas and a bibliography including the subject's major works and a helpful listing of minor works.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2005-03-15
Historical Encyclopedia of American Business by Richard L. Wilson; Salem Press EditorsThis set addresses the full breadth of American business history. There are overviews on different sectors of the economy, such as agriculture and banking; individual industries such as advertising and electronics; and general topics like business cycles, consumer boycotts, and outsourcing. There are also overviews on general legal topics such as bankruptcy and patent laws.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2009-04-16
Helpful Books - CSU Only
Bubbles and Crashes : The Boom and Bust of Technological Innovation by Brent Goldfarb and David A. Kirschinancial market bubbles are recurring, often painful, reminders of the costs and benefits of capitalism. While many books have studied financial manias and crises, most fail to compare times of turmoil with times of stability. In Bubbles and Crashes, Brent Goldfarb and David A. Kirsch give us new insights into the causes of speculative booms and busts. They identify a class of assets--major technological innovations--that can, but does not necessarily, produce bubbles. This methodological twist is essential: Only by comparing similar events that sometimes lead to booms and busts can we ascertain the root causes of bubbles. Using a sample of eighty-eight technologies spanning 150 years, Goldfarb and Kirsch find that four factors play a key role in these episodes:
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2019
Crisis, Credibility and Corporate History by Alexander Bieri (Editor)Crisis, Credibility and Corporate History aims to describe current expectations and strategies held within companies, within academia and amongst the general public for using a company's history for communication and marketing purposes. Ranging widely across case studies from major international businesses such as IBM, Maersk and Roche, this timely volume includes contributions from marketing specialists, corporate archivists and scholars.
Turbulent Empires by Mike MasonAs Europe rebuilt after the devastation of the Second World War, the former colonies of the major imperial powers sought their independence at the same time that the United States extended its economic and political power globally. In Turbulent Empires Mike Mason analyzes the struggles for post-colonial sovereignty and economic domination and how these competing forces led to conflicts and shifting alliances around the postwar world. Turbulent Empires surveys the major polities and economies of Africa, Asia, Latin America, Russia, and the West and traces the trajectory of nationalist ruling classes bent on exercising sovereign control over economic resources.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2018-04-09
The Struggle over the Soul of Economics by Yuval P. YonayThis book provides a surprising answer to two puzzling questions that relate to the very "soul" of the professional study of economics in the late twentieth century. How did the discipline of economics come to be dominated by an approach that is heavily dependent on mathematically derived models? And what happened to other approaches to the discipline that were considered to be scientifically viable less than fifty years ago? Between the two world wars there were two well-accepted schools of thought in economics: the "neoclassical," which emerged in the last third of the nineteenth century, and the "institutionalist," which started with the works of Veblen and Commons at the end of the same century. Although the contributions of the institutionalists are nearly forgotten now, Yuval Yonay shows that their legacy lingers in the study and practice of economics today. By reconsidering their impact and by analyzing the conflicts that arose between neoclassicists and institutionalists, Yonay brings to life a hidden chapter in the history of economics.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 1998-05-11
Economists and Societies by Marion FourcadeEconomists and Societies is the first book to systematically compare the profession of economics in the United States, Britain, and France, and to explain why economics, far from being a uniform science, differs in important ways among these three countries. Drawing on in-depth interviews with economists, institutional analysis, and a wealth of scholarly evidence, Marion Fourcade traces the history of economics in each country from the late nineteenth century to the present, demonstrating how each political, cultural, and institutional context gave rise to a distinct professional and disciplinary configuration.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2009-03-09
Research in Economic History by Christopher Hanes (Editor); Susan Wolcott (Editor)Volume 34 contains articles on the economic history of Europe, North America and South America and brings new analysis, and newly created datasets to address issues of interest. Two of the papers present newly constructed datasets. In "Prices, Wages and the Cost of Living in Old Republic São Paulo: 1891-1930", Ball presents a newly constructed real wage index. São Paulo was the main destination for immigrants to Brazil in this period, but there has never before been sufficient data to analyse why. In "Multiple Core Regions: Regional Inequality in Switzerland, 1860 to 2008", Stohr uses the wealth of available Swiss data on agriculture and employment to create GDP measures for subregions in Switzerland. He uses these data to argue that aggregate inequality in Switzerland was low in the initial push to industrialization because there were multiple, similar centers industrializing simultaneously, thus mitigating inequality across regions.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2018-08-06
The Great Disruption by Adrian Wooldridge; The EconomistThe Great Disruption is a collection drawn from Adrian Wooldridge's influential Schumpeter columns in The Economist addressing the causes and profound consequences of the unprecedented disruption of business over the past five years. The Great Disruption has many causes. The internet is spreading faster than any previous technology. Emerging markets are challenging the west's dominance of innovation as well as manufacturing. Clever management techniques such as "frugal innovation" are forcing companies to rethink pricing. Robots are advancing from the factory floor into the service sector. But these developments are all combining together to shake business life -- and indeed life in general -- to its foundations.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2015-06-02
Obsolete American securities and corporationsThese volumes primarily list companies that failed or were merged in the nineteenth century with a few from the early years of the twentieth century. In some instances a reason for the failure is offered. The Robert D. Fisher Manual of Valuable and Worthless Securities, subsequently published by the R. M. Smythe Company, continues the work begun in these volumes.
Obsolete securities, prepared by Oliver C. KlingerThis volume is a comprehensive listing of companies chartered in Delaware and New Jersey which no longer had valid charters when this book was published (1923). The year the charter was lost is given for each company.
These freely available online resources provide valuable information and guidance to a business history researcher.
Images and information on over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955 related to radio, television, transportation, beauty, and hygiene, or World War II. From the collections of the Duke University's Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library.
"ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies."--Publisher's description.
This is the archived site that provides individual corporate histories by industry. List of links for business history departments in colleges and universities, business historians, museums, and historic sites. List of the 10 oldest companies in the US and a chronology of important business history dates. Also provides a search by industrial sectors.
The Business History Conference seeks to disseminate information on the study of business history and to facilitate communication among scholars in this field. The website offers a variety of research resources External for a business researcher including access to online publications; bibliographies on business history; research resources online; a database of experts engaged in different aspects of business history and books of interest page.
Also operates The Exchange External blog and H-Business External a discussion list for the business history community.
This online version of the "Directory of Corporate Archives in the United States and Canada," published by the Business Archives Section of the Society of American Archivists includes entries for companies that maintain their own historical records, as well as for those that contract with consulting firms. Also included are archives of professional associations. The directory is arranged alphabetically by corporation names and includes description and holdings information for the archives along with contact information.
Developed in response to frequent requests regarding old mining companies and their stock certificates, this site contains publication information on standard print resources; links to U.S. state and Canadian provincial agencies responsible for company incorporations, as well as a link to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. There are also links to several commercial firms which will research your old certificates for a fee and links to a number of scripophily dealers and organizations, which can provide information on collectible certificates.
Maintained by the International Institute of Social History and the Netherlands Economic History Archive, the site lists resources related to labor and business and economic history with sections for organizations, journals, exhibitions, conferences, and reference tools. Users may either browse the resources alphabetically or enter a keyword search.
Although general sources are included, this guide focuses specifically on sources for Buffalo and Western New York. However, the lists of local sources may suggest to the user the types of additional sources that may be available off-line in other localities to conduct this type of research. To locate a library in the area where the company in which you are interested was located, see the Library's Finding a Local Library guide.
The entries in this online guide link directly to substantive descriptions of special collections in the Library of Congress which contain materials of interest to researchers in a variety of disciplines, including U.S. business and labor history. Selected images from some of the collections may also be viewed online. Types of materials within each collection that may be of particular interest to the business/labor history researcher have been noted. Other business and labor-related materials may also be located by searching the Prints and Photographs Division online catalog, the LC Digital Collections, and A Guide to the Microform Collections in the Library of Congress.
A good overview of how to research the value of an old stock certificate, this page includes links to both print and online sources, as well as information on scripophily, the hobby of collecting old stock and bond certificates.
A digitized collection of 6,700 documents and media from FBI paper files, could be a valuable resource for business researchers looking for information on company crimes, public corruption, foreign intelligence, and investigations into all kinds of organizations. The collection can be browsed, or searched. Some full-text documents are searchable, however, digitized handwritten notes may not be searchable.
*From the Library of Congress Guide: Business Research