The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) and North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) are numerical classification systems created by the United States government. These systems are used to group/classify like companies into industries for the purposes of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. The SIC system was originally developed in the 1930s and was last updated in 1987. The NAICS system was first released in 2002, updated in 2007 and last updated in 2012.
While NAICS has "officially" replaced SIC, many business directories and databases still use one or both of the systems. Therefore, it is important to know about both SIC and NAICS.
Some library databases, books, and websites allow you to search using SIC and/or NAICS codes. It is very helpful to know what your industry code is before starting your research in Library and government resources.
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
Published on-line by the Economic Census. Contains detailed descriptions and a searchable index for the 2012, 2007, 2002 and 1997 NAICS Manuals.
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) System
Site maintained by the United States Department of Labor Contains detailed descriptions and a searchable index for the 1987 version SIC manual.
County Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll. This data is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for other statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses. Businesses use the data for analyzing market potential, measuring the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and developing budgets. Government agencies use the data for administration and planning.
Browse through the list of available industry profiles.
The Current Industrial Report (CIR) program has been providing monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity for many years. The primary objective of the CIR program is to produce timely, accurate data on production and shipments of selected products. The data are used to satisfy economic policy needs and for market analysis, forecasting, and decision-making in the private sector.
The Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy. It is conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau in years ending in 7 and 12. Much of the information is also available via American Factfinder.
| Databases For Company Specific Information | |
|---|---|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
Additional Business Topics |
