Sometimes it can be challenging to find the right keywords to locate the information you need. This box is intended to help generate some ideas for topics related to veterans and the military.
Two ways to search for information involve using keywords or subject headings (also called subject terms).
KEYWORD searches author, title, subject, and other descriptors of the article (or book, video, etc.). Sometimes (not always) keyword searches for words within the article. You perform a keyword search every time you search in Google. The upside to a keyword search is that it is easy, and you usually get plenty of results. The downside is that often too many results appear, and the results aren't always relevant to your search.
SUBJECT HEADINGS are specific words used by librarians to describe the main concept of an article. Once you find out what the assigned subject terms are for your topic, you can better locate relevant articles by doing a "subject" search. Subject heading searches are trickier than keyword searches because you have to figure out which subject heading works best for your topic. Subject heading searches are worth the effort because their results are most relevant to your information needs.
Have trouble finding relevant information? Here are some keyword and subject heading suggestions for topics related to veterans' health, veterans' healthcare, and military health benefits.
Looking for more veteran personal stories and narratives? Here are some suggested keywords and subject headings to help find the most relevant information sources.
Veteran stories*
Veteran oral histories
Military life
[insert military conflict] veteran stories (ex. World War I veteran stories*
Veteran biographies
United States military stories*
*use biography, autobiography, narratives in place if you are not finding relevant information
World War, 1939-1945 -- Campaigns -- France -- Normandy
World War, 1939-1945 -- Aerial operations, British
World War, 1939-1945 -- Aerial operations, American
World War, 1939-1945 -- Personal narratives, British
World War, 1939-1945 -- Personal narratives, American
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Personal narratives
Veterans' families -- United States -- Anecdotes
Veterans -- United States -- Family relationships
Veterans -- United States -- Anecdotes
Veterans -- United States -- Biography
United States -- Military history -- Anecdotes
United States -- Armed Forces -- Military life -- Anecdotes
Soldiers -- United States -- Anecdotes
Soldiers' writings, American
Veterans--Employment--United States
Soldiers--Employment--United States
Veterans--Vocational guidance--United States
Civil service-Veterans' preference-United States
Retired military personnel--Employment--United States
Vocational guidance
Career changes--United States
Job hunting--United States
Career changes--United States
. 
Voices of the Bulge by
The powerful German counteroffensive operation code-named "Wacht am Rhein" (Watch on the Rhine) launched in the early morning hours of December 16, 1944, would result in the greatest single extended land battle of World War II. To most Americans, the fierce series of battles fought from December 1944 through January 1945 is better known as the "Battle of the Bulge." Almost one million soldiers would eventually take part in the fighting. Different from other histories of the Bulge, this book tells the story of this crucial campaign with first-person stories taken from the authors' interviews of the American soldiers, both officers and enlisted personnel, who faced the massive German onslaught that threatened to turn the tide of battle in Western Europe and successfully repelled the attack with their courage and blood. Also included are stories from German veterans of the battles, including SS soldiers, who were interviewed by the authors.
Red, White, and True Stories from Veterans and Families, World War II to Present by
Even as we celebrate the return of our military from wars in the Middle East, we are becoming increasingly aware of the struggles that await veterans on the home front. Red, White, and True offers readers a collection of voices that reflect the experiences of those touched by war—from the children of veterans who encounter them in their fathers’ recollections of past wars to the young men and women who fought in the deserts of Iraq and Afghanistan. The diversity of perspectives collected in this volume validates the experiences of our veterans and their families, describing their shared struggles and triumphs while honoring the fact that each person’s military experience is different.
D-Day bombers : the veterans' story : RAF Bomber Command and the US Eighth Air Force support to the Normandy invasion 1944 by
This book is largely an eye-witness account of the heavy bomber contribution to the success of the D-Day landings and therefore to the winning of the war in Europe. It is told using considerable first-hand experience from the veterans of the campaign, something not really covered in any other books on the subject, together with background information from primary source documents on the tactics and strategy employed. Eight different aircrews, five RAF and three USAAF, tell widely differing stories of operations before, during and after D-Day. Their vivid and dramatic accounts are supplemented by numerous contributions from other aircrew and ground crew veterans, army personnel and French civilians, which have been carefully gathered by Stephen Darlow from interviews with veterans and their relatives, through correspondence and contemporary diaries.
When Janey Comes Marching Home Portraits of Women Combat Veterans by
While women are officially barred from combat in the American armed services, in the current war, where there are no front lines, the ban on combat is virtually meaningless. More than in any previous conflict in our history, American women are engaging with the enemy, suffering injuries, and even sacrificing their lives in the line of duty. When Janey Comes Marching Home juxtaposes forty-eight photographs by Sascha Pflaeging with oral histories collected by Laura Browder to provide a dramatic portrait of women at war. Women from all five branches of the military share their stories here--stories that are by turns moving, comic, thought-provoking, and profound. Seeing their faces in stunning color photographic portraits and reading what they have to say about loss, comradeship, conflict, and hard choices will change the ways we think about women and war. Serving in a combat zone is an all-encompassing experience that is transformative, life-defining, and difficult to leave behind.
During WWII, Caplan's father captains the 969th Field Artillery Battalion; they earn the Presidential Citation for Meritorious Service. Caplan reflects on hearing her father's war stories and the "epidemic of disconnection." Combat veterans are 1% of the U.S. population.
War Stories of Courage and Patriotism (CSU Only)
Bill Moyers revisits WWII veterans who are now in their 90s and one who suffers from macular degeneration. The veterans remain grateful for their lives, and some continue to tell their war stories to schoolchildren.
Alive Day Memories: Home from Iraq (CSU Only)
A new generation of veterans is returning from Iraq. For the first time in American history, some 90% of wounded survive their injuries. But a greater percentage of these men and women are coming home from Iraq with amputations, traumatic brain injuries, and severe post-traumatic stress. For the survivors, two days will forever memorialize their lives. The first is their birthday. The second is their Alive Day – the day they narrowly escaped death. These are the first-person stories of ten Alive Day heroes – as told to Emmy® Award-winning actor James Gandolfini. An HBO Production.
Unsung Heroes: The Story of America's Female Patriots (CSU Only)
Margaret Corbin sheds her blood-fighting in the Revolution. Years later, in Afghanistan, Leigh Ann Hester becomes the first woman to receive the Silver Star for combat heroism. Nurses have been in harm's way since the Civil War, and during WW I, thousands of women volunteer for service as Navy Yeomanettes and Army Signal Corp "Hello Girls." In a world where front lines no longer exist, America's female patriots confront the horrors of war as never before, and more suffer the effects of combat stress than at any time in the Nation's history.
Films On Demand - Veteran's Stories Class (CSU Only)
This link will take you to a virtual class space via Films on Demand, with many more videos related to veterans' personal stories throughout recent and past military wars and conflicts. This is not an exhaustive list of all videos available but includes more available. It will require you to create an InfoBase Account. When prompted, add the code: 7F7C9ADCB5EC
From We Will to at Will: A Handbook for Veteran Hiring, Transitioning, and Thriving in the Workplace by
A Complete Guide to Veteran Hiring for Employers, HR, and Today's Transitioning Veterans A quarter of a million service members transition from the military each year to the civilian workforce, and though much has been written, studied, and researched about the challenges of employing veterans, bridging the divide between the "We Will" environment of the military and the "At Will" reality of the private sector can be daunting. With expert recommendations and insights, real-world case studies, and state-of-the-art resources and tools, From We Will to At Will demystifies the culture and mind-set of today's veterans, presents the business case for hiring veterans, shows how to manage the hiring process, and provides a clear road-map to navigate the path from veteran-friendly to veteran-ready.
Coding Careers in the Military by
The military relies on computer systems for all sorts of tasks, including communication, data analysis, geospatial analysis, decision-making, weapons control, simulation, testing, and administration. Many of these systems are coded by enlisted members of the military or by outside contractors hired by the military. This cool volume introduces readers to the types of coding jobs available in the military today and in the future, and explores the types of technologies that military coders employ. Using vivid photographs, primary examples, and professional advice, it provides an outlet for budding coders in the military field and ensures they are prepared to tackle the future of the coding industry.
Breakthrough:Career Strategies for Women's Success by
It is an important time to celebrate the advancement of women. We have made visible progress in the last few decades. The number of women entrepreneurs, business owners, and leaders in corporate leadership roles is growing. However, there are still many challenges women face that are different from their male counterparts. Women sometimes have beliefs or career myths that may interfere with their personal career satisfaction and success. The book is based on a global survey of over 180 women and interviews with a dozen influential women in leadership and professional roles conducted from January to March 2018.
Becoming Leaders by
Co-published by ASCE Press and the Society of Women Engineers　 If you think this is just another book about women's issues, think again. This one is different. Becoming Leaders: A Practical Handbook for Women in Engineering, Science, and Technology, Second Edition is intended for people interested in the advancement of their own careers or in the development of human resources in their organization. Information is given in a reader-friendly format with easy-to-find bulleted lists supported by current research in sociology, education, and psychology. This second edition includes new information on implicit bias, other factors affecting leadership success, the impact of social media, management of diversity and inclusion initiatives, and creating respectful workplaces. Professional women in STEM, and managers interested in their progress, will quickly recognize the context of many of the information bytes and see the application in their own workplaces.
Out of Uniform: Your Guide to a Successful Military-to-Civillian Career Transition by
After completing military service, veterans can have a difficult time finding employment when returning to civilian life. Out of Uniform, Second Edition is designed to help all transitioning military personnel, regardless of service, branch, rank, rating, time in service, time in grade, or specialty. Although all service members share common denominators, each individual brings something unique to the job market. Not only does this book cover the basics--search techniques, networking, interview preparation, résumés, negotiation, and a new chapter on social media--it also offers guidance on topics that are often overlooked, specifically the central issues of self-knowledge, interviewing empathy, and the power of questions.
The HR Career Guide by
Featuring scores of proven career strategies and tactics from SHRM's popular Q&A columnist and New York Times bestselling author Martin Yate, The HR Career Guide is packed with practical, honest, real-world guidance for successfully navigating the challenges commonly faced throughout the complete career cycle, including: Starting Your HR Career, Resumes, Interviews, Networking, Job Searches, Job Stability, Leadership, Promotions & Transfers, Job Change, and Career Change.
Helping Soldiers Leverage Army Knowledge, Skills, and Abilities in Civilian Jobs by
This report discusses the results of occupation surveys administered to soldiers in selected Army military occupational specialties (MOSs) to assess the level and importance of the knowledge, skills, and abilities needed in these MOSs and to develop better crosswalks between military and civilian occupations. The report identifies both a broader range of military-civilian occupation matches and higher-quality matches than existing crosswalks.
Veteran Hiring in the Civil Service : Practices and Perceptions. by
Organizations and employers are currently managing an inter-generational workforce, and the most prudent of these are seeking to enhance the careers of new entrants. HRM, careers, and work researchers have begun to explore career-related differences among the four generations of workers currently in employment, but to date there has been very little in the way of full-length comparative studies. In Generational Career Shifts: How Veterans, Boomers, Xers, and Millennials View Work, Eddy S. Ng, Sean T. Lyons, and Linda Schweitzer develop a timely, wide-ranging examination of inter-generational differences in work priorities, career attitudes, career experiences, and career outcomes. Offering a comprehensive overview of existing research, and drawing upon the authors' own largescale study of students and knowledge workers, this book documents how careers have fundamentally shifted over the past five decades. Along the way, it offers crucial insights into what these shifts mean for employers and their management strategies. Generational Career Shiftsis essential reading for career researchers, generational researchers, practitioners within executive education, as well as for career counsellors, human resource departments, corporate libraries, and people managers.
The Lonely Soldier: The Private War of Women Serving in Iraq by
The Lonely Soldier--the inspiration for the documentary The Invisible War--vividly tells the stories of five women who fought in Iraq between 2003 and 2006--and of the challenges they faced while fighting a war painfully alone. More American women have fought and died in Iraq than in any war since World War Two, yet as soldiers they are still painfully alone. In Iraq, only one in ten troops is a woman, and she often serves in a unit with few other women or none at all. This isolation, along with the military's deep-seated hostility toward women, causes problems that many female soldiers find as hard to cope with as war itself: degradation, sexual persecution by their comrades, and loneliness, instead of the camaraderie that every soldier depends on for comfort and survival. As one female soldier said, "I ended up waging my own war against an enemy dressed in the same uniform as mine." In The Lonely Soldier, Benedict tells the stories of five women who fought in Iraq between 2003 and 2006. She follows them from their childhoods to their enlistments, then takes them through their training, to war and home again, all the while setting the war's events in context.
Women at War by
In the very first text of its kind, Women at War brings together all available information and experience on women's physical and mental health in one resource to enlighten the practitioners caring for them. Our U.S Department of Defense is approximately 15% women with over 300,000 womenhaving deployed since September 11th, 2001. This book reviews the epidemiology, changes in policy and demographics of women in the services, the factors affecting their health and health care while serving in austere environments, issues related to reproductive and urogenital health and how healthcare providers can help prepare and prevent illness.The book also looks at mental health issues to include PTSD and other psychological effects of war, intimate partner violence, sexual assault and suicide, as well as the veteran experience. The book brings together researchers, clinicians, and service member experience and presents the informationin a practical, actionable format. It also highlights areas where data is lacking and more study is demanded.
Women in War by
Women have made a difference in every field imaginable, and they continue to do so today. Women's Lives in History introduces readers to dozens of these remarkable people. Women in Warfeatures groundbreaking figures in medicine, on the front lines, on the homefront, and in many other roles. Compelling text and vivid photographs bring these women to life. Features include essential facts, a timeline, a glossary, additional resources, source notes, and an index. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Race and Gender in Modern Western Warfare by
This book fills a gap in the historiographical and theoretical fields of race, gender, and war. In brief, Race and Gender in Modern Western Warfare (RGMWW) offers an introduction into how cultural constructions of identity are transformed by war and how they in turn influence the nature of military institutions and conflicts. Focusing on the modern West, this project begins by introducing the contours of race and gender theories as they have evolved and how they are employed by historians, anthropologists, sociologists, and other scholars. The project then mixes chronological narrative with analysis and historiography as it takes the reader through a series of case studies, ranging from the early nineteenth century to the Global War of Terror. The purpose throughout is not merely to create a list of so-called "great moments" in race and gender, but to create a meta-landscape in which readers can learn to identify for themselves the disjunctures, flaws, and critical synergies in the traditional memory and history of a largely monochrome and male-exclusive military experience.
Women in War Films by
War has been depicted in cinema for more than a century, from early silent films to more recent blockbusters such as Saving Private Ryan and Lone Survivor. Most war films, especially combat films, are about men engaged in battle. But while Hollywood has reinforced the cultural stereotype of war as a man's job, women have not been completely invisible in many of these films, whether waiting for their men to return home or standing shoulder to shoulder with their male counterparts on the battlefield. In Women in War Films: From Helpless Heroine to G.I. Jane, Ralph Donald and Karen MacDonald examine the representations of females in war throughout the history of film. They identify various types of women portrayed in these films, from home-front wives and daughters supporting their loved ones from afar to nurses and doctors stationed near the front lines of combat.
Women and the American Civil War by
The scholarship on women's experiences in the U.S. Civil War is rich and deep, but much of it remains regionally specific or subsumed in more general treatments of Northern and Southern peoples during the war. In a series of eight paired essays, scholars examine women's comparable experiences across the regions, focusing particularly on women's politics, wartime mobilization, emancipation, wartime relief, women and families, religion, reconstruction, and Civil War memory. In each pairing, historians analyze women's lives, interests, and engagement in public issues and private concerns and think critically about what stories and questions still need attention.
Women with Wings by
Women with Wings discusses how in the 1940s, women broke free from traditional gender roles by piloting aircraft both on the homefront and in combat, making critical contributions to the Allied victory in World War II. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
When Janey Comes Marching Home Portraits of Women Combat Veterans by
While women are officially barred from combat in the American armed services, in the current war, where there are no front lines, the ban on combat is virtually meaningless. More than in any previous conflict in our history, American women are engaging with the enemy, suffering injuries, and even sacrificing their lives in the line of duty. When Janey Comes Marching Home juxtaposes forty-eight photographs by Sascha Pflaeging with oral histories collected by Laura Browder to provide a dramatic portrait of women at war. Women from all five branches of the military share their stories here--stories that are by turns moving, comic, thought-provoking, and profound. Seeing their faces in stunning color photographic portraits and reading what they have to say about loss, comradeship, conflict, and hard choices will change the ways we think about women and war. Serving in a combat zone is an all-encompassing experience that is transformative, life-defining, and difficult to leave behind.
War Flower by
Brooke King has been asked over and over what it's like to be a woman in combat, but she knows her answer is not what the public wants to hear. The answers people seek lie in the graphic details of war--the sex, death, violence, and reality of it all as she experienced it. In her riveting memoir War Flower, King breaks her silence and reveals the truth about her experience as a soldier in Iraq. Find out what happens when the sex turns into secret affairs, the violence is turned up to eleven, and how King's feelings for a country she knew nothing about as a nineteen-year-old become more disturbing to her as a thirty-year-old mother writing it all down before her memories fade into oblivion. The story of a girl who went to war and returned home a woman, War Flower gathers the enduring remembrances of a soldier coming to grips with post-traumatic stress disorder. As King recalls her time in Iraq, she reflects on what violence does to a woman and how the psychic wounds of combat are unwittingly passed down from mother to children.