Need research or homework help and cannot come to the library? No problem! Type your question in the chatbox below, call the reference desk, send a text, or email and a library professional will respond to you shortly after, during our normal hours. If you submit your question outside of regular hours, we will respond as soon as possible when we return the following business day. Our subject-specific research and study guides can be very helpful,l as well.
Check out our list of reference faculty and staff if you have a subject-specific question and want to contact a librarian directly, who also often respond even after the regular chat and text hours. However, this is not guaranteed. The faculty and staff at CSU Libraries can be fairly flexible in meeting you virtually or one-on-one to assist you in your academic goals and pursuits.
MS Teams (must be logged into your Microsoft 365 Account provided by CSU):
Log into Microsoft Teams (in your Microsoft 365 account)
Click on the 'Chats' 
icon
Type Alison Cook or my email into the search bar
Once you find my contact information, click on new chat in the top right corner of your contacts list
If I am available I am happy to help and will respond. I am usually in my office 9 AM - 6 PM. However, I can accommodate your work around your schedule. Email me to make an appointment.
If you need step-by-step help to find information, I can share my screen so you can see exactly what I do to find the information.
This guide is intended to help find information about careers in the military and veterans-related topics using Columbus State University Library Resources, focusing on database searching. Visit the Veterans Research Guide for military career information published by the federal government and the VA.
HeinOnline has a new collection available! See the Military and Government Collection to discover primary resource information related to the branches of service, Department of Defense, Department of Homeland Security, legislation, & more.
You'll be able to locate congressional hearings, government documents, books, photographs, and other media related to military and government topics.
This database is available to CSU faculty, staff, and students. However, the general public is welcome to use one of our computers at the main campus or music library to search our databases. Check out their Libguide for more information about the collection.
Selected National PapersAddtional Titles Available via GALILEO |
|
|---|---|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
Newspaper DatabasesDatabases Are Not Limited to Titles Listed Below |
|
 |
 |
Georgia News Sources |
International Newsstream |
US News |
Global Newsstream |
America's News |
Global Breaking Newswires |
Click on the link below and view all the newspaper databases accessible to CSU faculty and students.
National Archives: Records of the Dept. of Veterans Affairs 
Guide to the National Archives holdings of Veterans Administration records covering the years 1773-1985.
National Archives: Veterans Resources
Links to request military service records, research military records, replace lost medals and awards, locate veterans and service members, and browse WWII photos. Includes link to Online Veterans and Military Documents. (Note: most military records, including veterans' military service records, are not online.)
From the American Folklife Center of the Library of Congress, this project "collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war." Includes correspondence, personal narratives, and visual materials.
