Legend |
|
|---|---|
|
|
Content is transcribed directly from the website, typically when defining the goals and objectives of organizations. Content will be or the corresponding image will be linked. |
|
|
Publically accessible source. |
 |
Government Published Source |
 |
Available through GALILEO. Access to students, faculty, and staff only. |
Consumer Protection: Recalls, Data Security and Congressional Issues by
Consumers, manufacturers, and auto dealers use publicly available auto recall information differently. Chapter 1 addresses: how consumers and industry stakeholders use such information and how easy to use do consumers find the auto recall areas of NHTSA.gov, among other objectives. Ticket pricing, resale activity, and fees for events vary. Chapter 2 review issues around online ticket sales including what is known about online ticket sales, consumer protection issues related to such sales, and potential advantages and disadvantages of selected approaches to address these issues. The Telephone Consumer Protection Act of 1991 (TCPA) regulates robocalls. A robocall, also known as "voice broadcasting," is any telephone call that delivers a prerecorded message using an automatic (computerised) telephone dialing system, more commonly referred to as an automatic dialer or "autodialer." Chapter 3 addresses robocalls that are both illegal under the TCPA and intended to defraud, not robocalls that are defined only as illegal. Chapter 4 addresses FTC's role and authorities for overseeing Internet privacy, stakeholders' views on potential actions to enhance federal oversight of consumers' Internet privacy, and breaches of personally identifiable information. Chapter 5 provides a brief overview of federal regulation of Wells Fargo and a timeline of key events involving the company since the scandal's disclosure. It then discusses a few relevant policy issues, including consumer protection and corporate governance, and highlights recent instances of congressional oversight of the bank. Chapter 6 summarises measures FTC has taken to enforce consumer reporting agencies (CRA) compliance with requirements to protect consumer information, measures CFPB has taken to ensure CRA protection of consumer information, and actions consumers can take after a breach. Chapter 7 examines issues related to federal oversight of CRAs. This chapter discusses measures FTC has taken to enforce CRA compliance with requirements to protect consumer information, measures CFPB has taken to ensure CRA protection of consumer information, and actions consumers can take after a breach. Chapter 8 reviews gender-related price differences for consumer goods and services sold in the United States. Chapter 9 summarises P.L. 115-174 as enacted and highlights major policy proposals of the legislation.
Financial Issues: Banking, Consumer Credit and Financial Protection by
Regulation of the banking industry has undergone substantial changes over the past decade. In response to the 2007-2009 financial crisis, many new bank regulations were implemented pursuant to the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act of 2010 or under the existing authorities of bank regulators to address apparent weaknesses in the regulatory regime. Chapter 1 provides a broad overview of selected banking-related issues, including issues related to "safety and soundness" regulation, consumer protection, community banks, large banks, what type of companies should be able to establish banks, and recent market and economic trends. Chapter 2 provides a broad overview of various banking topics--key concepts in banking, overview of regulation, recent banking legislation, and policy issues.Banks generally must comply with a variety of requirements to hold minimum levels of capital. Chapter3 provides a brief overview of these requirements and examines related policy issues. Chapter 4 first provides background information on the consumer data industry and various specialty areas. It then examines one prominent specialty area--consumer scoring--and describes various factors used to calculate credit scores. Next, it provides a general description of the current regulatory framework of the consumer data industry. Finally, the chapter discusses selected policy issues pertaining to consumer data reports. Chapter 5 provides an overview of consumer lending markets, pricing, and legislative efforts designed to facilitate efficient credit allocation and pricing.The 2010 Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act (Dodd-Frank; P.L. 111-203) established the Bureau of Consumer Financial Protection (CFPB) to implement and enforce federal consumer financial law while ensuring consumers can access financial products and services as reported in chapter 6. Chapter 7 reports on the results of the audits of the fiscal years 2017 and 2016 financial statements of the Bureau of Consumer Financial Protection, known as the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB), which is incorporated in the enclosed Financial Report of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau for Fiscal Year 2017.Chapter 8 provides an overview of how accounting and auditing standards are created and regulated in the private sector, the federal government, and state and local governments
Good Money (Build and Become) by
Good Money examines the behaviours that drives our financial habits and provides you with essential tools to boost your financial well-being.
Fillable PDF Forms to help guide what you may need during an emergency situation and provide an online tool to gather your important information all in one place. This is beneficial to have during an emergency so all information is easily accessible.
Below are the forms and spreadsheet files for you to download and use as needed.
eBooks in this section are accessible via GALILEO and are available to CSU faculty, staff, and students.
National Foundation for Credit Counseling (NFCC)
Since 1951, the National Foundation for Credit Counseling® (NFCC®) has helped millions of people lead a more financially fit life. As the largest and longest-serving nonprofit financial counseling organization in the U.S., our mission is to help all Americans gain control over their finances.
Helpful information from the Bureau of Consumer Financial Protection (BCFP) on how to manage debt and solutions to debt problems.
Credit Counseling and Debtor Education
A state-by-state listing of agencies approved by the U.S. Justice Department for credit counseling and debt education.
Smart About Money—Credit and Debt
A basic self-paced course from the National Endowment for Financial Education (NEFE).
Buy the Avocado Toast: How to Crush Student Debt, Make More Money, and Live Your Best Life by
What if the solution to student debt was reinvesting in yourself? Are you a smart, hard-working person who always seems to struggle financially? Do you ever second-guess decisions to pursue higher education because of your student loans? Has extreme budgeting eliminated joy and comfort from life, yet you're still several years away from being debt-free? Conventional wisdom tells us the formula for success is simple: go to school, get a job, work hard, repeat as needed until you retire. It tells us that debt is the result of poor choices and irresponsible spending. Unfortunately, such advice fails to take into account the recent (and not-so-recent) graduates for whom predatory student lending rates have set them back tens or even hundreds of thousands of dollars before they even enter the job market. In Buy the Avocado Toast, Stephanie Bousley shares lessons learned through years of working hard and perpetually undervaluing herself while coming to terms with owing almost $300,000 in student debt. Through a holistic approach to both net worth and self-worth, Bousley offers readers hope for their own financial situations by providing step-by-step instructions on reducing debt, living better, and rooting out the self-defeating beliefs that keep us broke.
Millionaire Teacher by
Adopt the investment strategy that turned a school teacher into a millionaire Millionaire Teacher shows you how to achieve financial independence through smart investing -- without being a financial wizard. Author Andrew Hallam was a high school English teacher. He became a debt-free millionaire by following a few simple rules. In this book, he teaches you the financial fundamentals you need to follow in his tracks. You can spend just an hour per year on your investments, never think about the stock market's direction -- and still beat most professional investors. It's not about get-rich-quick schemes or trendy investment products peddled by an ever-widening, self-serving industry; it's about your money and your future.
Credit Repair by
Bad credit can get better A bad credit report can prevent you from getting a mortgage, car loan, credit card, apartment or even a job. The sensible strategies in Credit Repair help you take control of your finances, clean up your credit report and rebuild your credit. Learn how to: prioritize debts and create a budget reduce debts and cut expenses negotiate with creditors correct credit report errors and remove old information add positive information to your credit report adopt strategies to rebuild your credit, and avoid identity theft and credit repair scams.
Solve Your Money Troubles by
Struggling with debt? Find solutions here. Conquering overwhelming debt starts with understanding your options. Solve Your Money Troubles gives you the tools you need to get your finances back on track. Learn how to: stop debt collector harassment cold negotiate down your debt with creditors reduce your student loan payments, and create a healthy financial plan that you can live with. But that's not all. Solve Your Money Troubles helps you handle the big issues, too. Find out how to: stop a wage garnishment from leaving you penniless get your car back after a repossession prevent a foreclosure by applying for a loss mitigation program respond to an action if you get sued, and decide if it's time to wipe the slate clean by filing for bankruptcy. In addition to up-to-date legal information, you'll find practical tools, such as sample creditor letters and budgeting worksheets. And, if the law changes, you won't be left out of the loop. You'll have online access to all of the latest debt, credit, and bankruptcy developments.
eBooks in this section are accessible via GALILEO and are available to CSU faculty, staff, and students.
The Foreclosure Survival Guide: Keep Your House or Walk Away With Money in Your Pocket by
Facing foreclosure? Put together a plan. Take action. When you're in foreclosure, there's no time to waste. You need to know your options and The Foreclosure Survival Guide's can help. You'll learn how to: determine whether you should try to keep your house find loan workout programs that could help you save your home apply for a loan workout with your lender bring your loan current in Chapter 13 bankruptcy, and if you can't stay in your home, avoid unnecessary costs by filing for Chapter 7 bankruptcy. The powerful, yet practical advice in this edition also explains: your most important tool--the 120-day foreclosure waiting period before foreclosure starts how the foreclosure process works potential tax consequences, and more. Finally, if the law changes, you won't be caught unaware. You'll find significant developments posted on The Foreclosure Survival Guide's online legal update page.
articles in this section are accessible via GALILEO and are available to CSU faculty, staff, and students.
Dealing with Debt and Financial Stress by
Australia's economy has experienced a record quarter-century of sustained growth, however alarm bells are ringing over climbing household debt. Are we heading towards a debt crisis? Many Australians are struggling to meet their repayments for mortgages, investments, personal debt, student debt and credit card debt. It has been estimated that two million Australians are experiencing high financial stress which prevents them from coping in difficult situations and in the face of unexpected expenses. What is financial stress, and how do factors like housing affordability, higher debts and overspending on low incomes contribute to financial pressure? How does stretching the bottom line affect people's health, relationships and financial security? This book is a helpful guide for young people to understand their personal finances, featuring ample advice on how to deal with debt, manage money through budgeting and savings, and develop financial literacy. Make the most of your money and learn how to manage debt, without the stress. Also includes: worksheets and activities, fast facts, glossary, web links, index. Titles in the Issues in Society series are individual resource books which provide an overview on a specific subject comprised of facts and opinions. The information in this resource book is not from any single author, publication or organisation. The unique value of the Issues in Society series lies in its diversity of content and perspectives. The content comes from a wide variety of sources and includes: newspaper reports and opinion pieces, website fact sheets, magazine and journal articles, statistics and surveys, government reports, and literature from special interest groups.
Behind on Debts? Know Your Rights - Kiplinger's Personal Finance (2021)
As more creditors go to court, defaults increase: Pew study sounds alarm over growth of debt collection lawsuits - Indiana Lawyer - (2020)
CFPB's Interim Final Rule Pandemic Debt Collection Practices Effective May 3, 2021 - Business Law Today - (2021)
eBooks and articles in this section are accessible via GALILEO and are available to CSU faculty, staff, and students.
This is a link published by Ohio State University linking current United States laws regarding credit lending and credit cards.
The article discusses the implications for the debt buying industry of the U.S. Supreme Court decision in Henson v. Santander. Topics covered include a background information on the debt collection industry, the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, and the need for federal regulation of debt buyers collecting on delinquent debt.
Community Banks and Credit Unions: Effect of Regulations and Compliance Burdens by
Community banks ... generally small and locally focused institutions ... are important sources of credit to small businesses. Since the 2007 ... 2009 financial crisis, regulators have made significant changes to the regulatory environment. Chapter 1 examines the data regulators use to measure small business lending, as well as the extent of any regulatory effects on the amount of community banks' small business lending and their lending processes, changes in bank populations, and financial performance. Chapter 2 examines (1) the regulations community banks and credit unions viewed as most burdensome and why, and (2) efforts by depository institution regulators to reduce any regulatory burden. GAO analyzed regulations and interviewed more than 60 community banks and credit unions (selected based on asset size and financial activities), regulators, and industry associations and consumer groups.
Financial Issues: Banking, Consumer Credit and Financial Protection by
Regulation of the banking industry has undergone substantial changes over the past decade. In response to the 2007-2009 financial crisis, many new bank regulations were implemented pursuant to the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act of 2010 or under the existing authorities of bank regulators to address apparent weaknesses in the regulatory regime. Chapter 1 provides a broad overview of selected banking-related issues, including issues related to "safety and soundness" regulation, consumer protection, community banks, large banks, what type of companies should be able to establish banks, and recent market and economic trends. Chapter 2 provides a broad overview of various banking topics--key concepts in banking, overview of regulation, recent banking legislation, and policy issues.Banks generally must comply with a variety of requirements to hold minimum levels of capital. Chapter3 provides a brief overview of these requirements and examines related policy issues. Chapter 4 first provides background information on the consumer data industry and various specialty areas. It then examines one prominent specialty area--consumer scoring--and describes various factors used to calculate credit scores. Next, it provides a general description of the current regulatory framework of the consumer data industry. Finally, the chapter discusses selected policy issues pertaining to consumer data reports. Chapter 5 provides an overview of consumer lending markets, pricing, and legislative efforts designed to facilitate efficient credit allocation and pricing.The 2010 Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act (Dodd-Frank; P.L. 111-203) established the Bureau of Consumer Financial Protection (CFPB) to implement and enforce federal consumer financial law while ensuring consumers can access financial products and services as reported in chapter 6. Chapter 7 reports on the results of the audits of the fiscal years 2017 and 2016 financial statements of the Bureau of Consumer Financial Protection, known as the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB), which is incorporated in the enclosed Financial Report of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau for Fiscal Year 2017.Chapter 8 provides an overview of how accounting and auditing standards are created and regulated in the private sector, the federal government, and state and local governments
Consumer Protection: Recalls, Data Security and Congressional Issues by
Consumers, manufacturers, and auto dealers use publicly available auto recall information differently. Chapter 1 addresses: how consumers and industry stakeholders use such information and how easy to use do consumers find the auto recall areas of NHTSA.gov, among other objectives. Ticket pricing, resale activity, and fees for events vary. Chapter 2 review issues around online ticket sales including what is known about online ticket sales, consumer protection issues related to such sales, and potential advantages and disadvantages of selected approaches to address these issues. The Telephone Consumer Protection Act of 1991 (TCPA) regulates robocalls. A robocall, also known as "voice broadcasting," is any telephone call that delivers a prerecorded message using an automatic (computerised) telephone dialing system, more commonly referred to as an automatic dialer or "autodialer." Chapter 3 addresses robocalls that are both illegal under the TCPA and intended to defraud, not robocalls that are defined only as illegal. Chapter 4 addresses FTC's role and authorities for overseeing Internet privacy, stakeholders' views on potential actions to enhance federal oversight of consumers' Internet privacy, and breaches of personally identifiable information. Chapter 5 provides a brief overview of federal regulation of Wells Fargo and a timeline of key events involving the company since the scandal's disclosure. It then discusses a few relevant policy issues, including consumer protection and corporate governance, and highlights recent instances of congressional oversight of the bank. Chapter 6 summarises measures FTC has taken to enforce consumer reporting agencies (CRA) compliance with requirements to protect consumer information, measures CFPB has taken to ensure CRA protection of consumer information, and actions consumers can take after a breach. Chapter 7 examines issues related to federal oversight of CRAs. This chapter discusses measures FTC has taken to enforce CRA compliance with requirements to protect consumer information, measures CFPB has taken to ensure CRA protection of consumer information, and actions consumers can take after a breach. Chapter 8 reviews gender-related price differences for consumer goods and services sold in the United States. Chapter 9 summarises P.L. 115-174 as enacted and highlights major policy proposals of the legislation.
eBooks and articles in this section are accessible via GALILEO and are available to CSU faculty, staff, and students.
A source of educational tools to learn about the many elements of credit, debt, and dealing with debt.
The Three Major Credit Reporting Agencies and What They Do
Provides information about Equifax, Transunion, and Experian credit bureaus and how they work.
Published by the AARP, this site goes into detail on how the major credit agencies work and how to protect and/or raise your credit score.
Through this site you can request a free credit report once every 12 months from the only authorized online source for free credit reports under federal law.
Federal Trade Commission: Tips and Advice
On this site, you will be able to find answers to questions about money and credit, mortgages, jobs, and making money, and privacy and identity. It also provides tips for knowing your rights regarding financial issues, and how to avoid scams.
Better Business Bureau: Get More Money Now
This site is a wealth of information and resources to guide you to smart money decisions, avoiding investment scams, and tools to learn more about managing credit, investing, and programs available.
How Your Credit Score Impacts Your Financial Future
An overview from FINRA on the importance of good credit.
A guide published by the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) on what you can do to help fix your credit rating, should your score be lower than you want it to be.
Resources in this section are publically accessible.
Good Money (Build and Become) by
Good Money examines the behaviours that drives our financial habits and provides you with essential tools to boost your financial well-being.
Mastery of Money for Students by
The knowledge and ability to make, manage, save, and invest money is critical to your overall success in life. "Mastery of Money For Students" is an easy-to-read, story-filled journey through the fundamental building blocks of pursuing Mastery. Your financial future is entirely up to one person--YOU. The earlier you start on the path to understanding money, the faster you'll experience your own version of success. "An investment in knowledge always pays the best interest." -- Ben Franklin
Young Money: 4 Proven Actions to Design Your Wealth While You Still Can by
Rising star and financial guru Dasarte Yarnway shows readers that you don't have to wait to build intergenerational wealth until you're older, have a better job or more stability - the time to start is now. In most personal finance books you'll read, almost redundantly, that the road to wealth is made up of 80% behavior and 20% application. You'll also read that building wealth is about the long game and planning for the future. The overwhelming majority of successful financial planners know this to be true - so why are the bulk of young Americans still fixated on the get rich quick mentality? Because they haven't received adequate advice on how to identify their true motivations for building wealth - until now. In order to build wealth that lasts for generations, we must access our deepest desires, whether that is sharing with our community, security for our family, or leaving behind a legacy. This book is designed to help people under 30 envision building multigenerational wealth by committing to a mindset of discipline that goes beyond retirement planning but instead, plan for a legacy. Yarnway walks readers through the different decades of their life, from the "roaring twenties" through the "thrifty fifties and beyond," explicitly showing how readers will be building intergenerational wealth at each stage. Wealth building isn't something that can be left until later - financial stability depends on the disciplined mindset that is created now.
Buying Your First New Car : How To Find Your Very First Car And Be Satisfied With It by
Discover what dealers do not want you to know and save up to thousands of dollars when buying a new car. So you've finally done it - you've passed your driving test and it's time to think about buying a car.
eBooks in this section are accessible via GALILEO and are available to CSU faculty, staff, and students.
