An easy-to-read report from the Congressional Research Office (CRO) highlighting key points in the issues related to student loan debt.
A report from 2017 outlining problems related to older Americans and student loan debt. Published from the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB).
All resources in this section are publically available and are published by US Government agencies.
Does the State Have a Special Program That Provides State Contributions to 529 Plans for Low-Income Residents Only? 50-State Comparison: 529 Education Savings Plans - Education Commission of the States
Bridging Financial Wellness and Student Success: Effective Models for Community Colleges - Association of Community College Trustees
The Top Five Mistakes of Federal Student Loan Borrowers - Journal of Financial Service Professionals
eBooks in this section are accessible via GALILEO and are available to CSU faculty, staff, and students.
Legend |
|
|---|---|
|
|
Content is transcribed directly from the website, typically when defining the goals and objectives of organizations. Content will be or the corresponding image will be linked. |
|
|
Publically accessible source. |
|
Government Published Source |
|
Available through GALILEO. Access to students, faculty, and staff only. |
Types of Aid (Military families, scholarships, state money, grants, etc.)
All resources in this section are publically available and are published by US Government agencies.
The Ultimate Scholarship Book 2020 : Billions of Dollars in Scholarships, Grants and Prizes by
Information on 1.5 million scholarships, grants, and prizes is easily accessible in this revised directory with more than 300 new listings that feature awards indexed by career goal, major, academics, public service, talent, athletics, religion, ethnicity, and more. Each entry contains all the necessary information for students and parents to complete the application process, including eligibility requirements, how to obtain an application, how to get more information about each award, sponsor website listings, award amounts, and key deadlines. With scholarships for high school, college, graduate, and adult students, this guide also includes tips on how to conduct the most effective search, how to write a winning application, and how to avoid scams.
The Impoverishment of the American Student by
The Impoverishment of the American College Student clarifies the central issues and provides plentiful data to support its key points. It is a must-read for anyone who believes that maintaining access to and the affordability of public colleges are vitally important to our society's future.
Student Loans and the Cost of College by
Getting into college is one giant hurdle to clear, and paying for it is quite another. This book breaks down the expenses associated with higher education, the various payment options available for students, including student loans, need-based scholarships, and merit-based scholarships, and what other avenues may exist for families to ensure that costs associated with tuition, room, and board stay reasonable. Concerns about paying off student loans, interest rates, and timelines are also addressed in this informative collection.
A New U: Faster + Cheaper Alternatives to College by
Every year, the cost of a four-year degree goes up, and the value goes down. But for many students, there's a better answer. So many things are getting faster and cheaper. Movies stream into your living room, without ticket or concession-stand costs. The world's libraries are at your fingertips instantly, and for free. So why is a college education the only thing that seems immune to change? Colleges and universities operate much as they did 40 years ago, with one major exception: tuition expenses have risen dramatically. What's more, earning a degree takes longer than ever before, with the average time to graduate now over five years. As a result, graduates often struggle with enormous debt burdens. Even worse, they often find that degrees did not prepare them to obtain and succeed at good jobs in growing sectors of the economy. While many learners today would thrive with an efficient and affordable postsecondary education, the slow and pricey road to a bachelor's degree is starkly the opposite. In A New U: Faster + Cheaper Alternatives to College, Ryan Craig documents the early days of a revolution that will transform--or make obsolete--many colleges and universities. Alternative routes to great first jobs that do not involve a bachelor's degree are sprouting up all over the place. Bootcamps, income-share programs, apprenticeships, and staffing models are attractive alternatives to great jobs in numerous growing sectors of the economy: coding, healthcare, sales, digital marketing, finance and accounting, insurance, and data analytics. A New U is the first roadmap to these groundbreaking programs, which will lead to more student choice, better matches with employers, higher return on investment of cost and time, and stronger economic growth.
Book titles are provided through GALILEO and are available to CSU faculty/staff/students only.
The Economics of Higher Education in the United States by
In The Economics of Higher Education in the United States, editors Thomas Adam and A. Burcu Bayram have assembled five essays, adapted from the fifty-second annual Walter Prescott Webb Memorial Lecture Series, that focus on the increasing cost of college--a topic that causes great anxiety among students, parents, faculty, administrators, legislators, and taxpayers. Essays focus on the funding of colleges, the funding of professional schools, and the provision of scholarships and student loans for undergraduate students to reveal the impact of money on the structure of institutions of higher education and the organization of colleges. The cost of higher education has risen dramatically as both states and the federal government have significantly lowered their contributions to offset that cost. With rising tuition and cost of living--on top of a growing student population--too many graduates find themselves in financial trouble after earning their undergraduate degree. Mounting student debt prevents an increasing number of young professionals from embarking on the very life for which their education was supposed to prepare them.
Unprofitable Schooling : Examining the Causes Of, and Fixes For, America's Broken Ivory Tower by
Most economies advance by simultaneously decreasing costs and increasing quality. Unfortunately, when it comes to higher education, this has been turned on its head. Costs keep rising while quality declines. How has this happened? What can be done?This exceptional volume looks at the issues facing higher education from the perspective of both economics and history. Each chapter explores how the lessons learned from market competition in other sectors of the economy can be applied to higher education in order to bring about innovation, improved quality, and lower costs.The opening section offers a history of for-profit education before the Morrill Act—the federal legislation that funded land-grant universities; reviews the Act's impact; and concludes with an exploration of federal student aid and how it prevents new funding options from entering the market. Section two examines higher education as it stands today—what is driving up college prices; tenure; administrative bloat; and university governance. And, the concluding third section shows how robust competition in higher education can be energized, and takes a deep look at for-profit vs. non-profit institutions.Unprofitable Schooling provides a sober and informative assessment of the state of higher education, critically covering historical assumptions, increasing government involvement, reflexive aversion to profit, and other, maybe unexpected, conclusions.
The Rising Cost of Education by
The Rising Cost of Education covers the skyrocketing tuition fees for higher education, explaining just how expensive tuition is as well as what causes its increase and the risks it poses for Americans. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Books are accessible via GALILEO
