"Every day, the President of the United States is faced with scores of decisions, each with important consequences for working families. To provide the President with the support that he or she needs to govern effectively, the Executive Office of the President (EOP) was created in 1939 by President Franklin D. Roosevelt. The EOP has responsibility for tasks ranging from communicating the President’s message to the American people to promoting our trade interests abroad."
Facts, Firsts and Precedents The Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies provides interesting pieces of information about presidential inaugurations.
History of Presidential Inaugurals In this 1993 C-Span interview, Philip Brooks discusses memorial presidential inaugurations.
"I Do Solemnly Swear...": Presidential Inaugurations This Library of Congress American Memory site is a collection of approximately 2000 digital files from all of the inaugurations from George Washington's in 1791 to the latest.
Inaugural Addresses of the Presidents of the U.S. Lists the presidents in chronological order.
Inauguration History Quiz This inauguration quiz is presented by the Washington Post.
Presidential Inaugurals: Historical Perspective A transcript of the PBS show in which the NewsHour's historians Michael Beschloss, Haynes Johnson, Steven Ambrose, Doris Kearns Goodwin, and Roger Wilkins talk to Margaret Warner about the history of inaugurations.
Presidential Inaugurations Quiz Test your knowledge about past Presidential inaugurations in this activity, designed by the Harry S. Truman Presidential Library.
Records of Presidential Inaugural Committees Record Group 274, 1933-1989. Held at the National Archives.
The American Presidency Project A study of the American presidency established in 1999 at the University of California, Santa Barbara. The site offers 104,792 documents related to the study of the presidency.
American President: A Reference Resource This site from the Miller Center at the University of Virginia gives biographical information about each of the presidents, a speech archive, and classroom resources.
Connecting Presidential Collections (CPC) This is a centralized site for searching across presidential collections. It is funded by the Institute of Museum and Library Services and the Miller Center at the University of Virginia.
"Escorting a Presidency into History: NARA's Role in a White House Transition" Nancy Kegan Smith's Prologue article describes how NARA collects transfers hundreds of millions of textual, electronic, and audiovisual records, and tens of thousands of presidential and vice presidential gifts.
POTUS: Presidents of the United States Biographies of the presidents. Includes "background information, election results, cabinet members, notable events, and some points of interest on each of the presidents."
Presidential Libraries Information about presidential libraries and the documents they maintain. Includes links to all of the presidential libraries administered by the National Archives.
"The Presidential Libraries Act after 50 Years" Raymond Geselbracht and Timothy Walch discuss legislation that provided for the establishment of presidential libraries in this Prologue article.
The Presidents This website from PBS provides documentaries on nine of the 20th-Century presidents. Also included are biographies of all of the presidents, articles, interviews, photographs, and educational resources.
Public Papers of the Presidents The Public Papers of the Presidents are available online through the Government Printing Office (GPO) beginning with George H.W. Bush in 1991. They contain papers and speeches of the President that were issued by the Office of the Press Secretary, presented in chronological order.
"School House to White House: The Education of the Presidents" This Prologue article describes a NARA exhibit that reveals the report cards, homework, athletic prowess, and musical abilities of our modern presidents when they were students.
"Standing in for the President" This Prologue article by W. Dale Nelson looks at the role of the Presidents' press secretaries.
