LibGuides: Chemistry: CHEM 3311 & 3312

Welcome to the Library

Schwob Memorial Library
Located in the center of the CSU campus, the Schwob Memorial Library serves as CSU's premier information resource. It provides a book collection of over 350,000 volumes, as well as access to thousands of electronic journal articles via GALILEO, Georgia's impressive collection of electronic databases.
The staff of the CSU Libraries is comprised of library faculty and staff members who strive to provide quality service for all library users. Among their goals are the enhancement of student learning and making both libraries the intellectual hubs of their respective campuses.
Liaison Program
In order to better serve the needs of the CSU community the responsibilities for collection development, classroom education, and communication with students and faculty have been divided among the library faculty by department and subject area. Library liaisons are also responsible for compiling the subject guides.

Reference Resources

Subject & Research Guides
Access course- or subject-specific guides on a variety of topics
Ask a Librarian
Chat, text, or email CSU's librarians and library staff with your questions
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a more targeted and scholarly search than basic Google searching
Boolean Searches
Boolean searches allow you to combine words and phrases using the words AND, OR, NOT (known as Boolean operators) to limit, broaden, or define your search.

Scholarly Reading Strategy

Art of reading a journal article: Methodically and effectively
The first step for a reader is to choose a right article for reading, depending on one’s individual requirement. The next step is to read the selected article methodically and efficiently.
Ten simple rules for reading a scientific paper
Having good habits for reading scientific literature is key to setting oneself up for success, identifying new research questions, and filling in the gaps in one’s current understanding; developing these good habits is the first crucial step.
How to (seriously) read a scientific paper
Online article from Science about how to approach a scientific article
How to read a scientific paper (infographic below)
Article supporting the infographic shown below

Assistance for Science Writing

CSU Graduate Writing Center
The Graduate Research & Writing Boot Camp is open to all CSU graduate students and undergraduate juniors and seniors. Workshops are held in the fall and spring and are designed to assist students with all levels of the research process. Videos on helpful topics are listed on the website.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
The Purdue OWL® offers free resources including Style Guides for APA, MLA, IEEE, and Chicago Guide.
OWL by Discipline
Purdue's OWL website listing citation styles by academic discipline
ACS Style Quick Guide
Quick guide to ACS style and formatting

Synthesis Assignment for CHEM 3311

Example Article for Literature Assignment
Palladium-catalyzed allylation of 2- and 4-alkylpyridines via N-allyl alkylidene dihydropyridine intermediates

Using SciFinder

ABOUT SCIFINDER-N

SciFinder-n is a robust chemistry database that could be used to complete most or all of the organic chemistry lab assignment. It is vital to professional chemistry researchers and chemistry lab students and can be very helpful for locating information on substances, articles about any chemistry topic, structures, and reactions.

References – Search for literature by topic.
Substances – Get information on a specific chemical.
Reactions – Search for reaction information.

https://cas-product-help.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/9807831464845-Introduction-to-Searching

https://cas-product-help.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/9890453959565-Find-Reactions-by-Name-Registry-Number-Reaction-Number-or-Document-Identifier

thanks to NCSU

Scifinder

Search for substances, reactions, patents and references. SciFinder is the interface to CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) databases. First time users need to register with a free academic account.

Reach SciFinder through the CSU Library website

SciFinder Quick Reference Guide
Helpful instructions to assist your SciFinder searching
Reference Video
CAS collaborated with SciFinder customers to develop a set of training videos that cover practical, real-world examples of SciFinder features and capabilities. Averaging only three minutes, these videos will quickly give you the information you need for using SciFinder effectively and advancing your research.
Additional SciFinder training resources
These on-demand SciFinder® training resources are short, targeted materials, organized by search type.

Selected Chemistry Journals & Databases

Chemistry Journals @ CSU
Link to general chemistry journal access at CSU

Listed below are some popular chemistry databases

First time user for SciFinder
If you have not yet created an account, this will allow you to open your own SciFinder account
SciFinder
Once you have login credentials, use this link to access SciFinder
SciFinder Quick Reference Guide
Helpful instructions to assist your SciFinder searching
Biomed Central
A fairly large collection of mostly free full text life science journals. Topics range from genomics to ecology.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window A full-text database that covers a wide variety of topics. JSTOR attempts to include all issues of covered titles back to volume 1. Some titles extend back to the mid-1800's. Many titles go back to the early 1900's. Most titles have a publisher's embargo, so the most current volumes are not available.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals.

Nature Chemistry
Nature Chemistry is a monthly journal dedicated to publishing high-quality papers that describe the most significant and cutting-edge research in all areas of chemistry. All editorial decisions are made by a team of full-time professional editors.
Science
Science is a leading outlet for scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research.

Citizen Science

EPA: Participatory Science Projects
Participatory science engages the public in advancing scientific knowledge by formulating research questions, collecting data, and interpreting results. Other terms include citizen science, community science, volunteer monitoring, or public participation in scientific research.
Chattahoochee Riverkeeper
Established in 1994, Chattahoochee Riverkeeper employs a variety of strategies to protect and preserve the Chattahoochee River, its lakes and watershed.
Caretta Research Project
Caretta Research Project is a hands-on research, conservation and education program dedicated to studying and protecting loggerhead sea turtles on Wassaw National Wildlife Refuge off the coast of Savannah, Georgia.
Beekeeper Workshops @ Oxbow
Spring Beekeeper Course presented by the Chattahoochee Valley Beekeeping Association, hosted by Oxbow Meadows, is holding a six-week course that will take you from a beginner to a beekeeper!
Smithsonian Transcription Center
The Smithsonian Transcription Center seeks to engage the public in making our collections more accessible. We're working hand-in-hand with digital volunteers to transcribe historic documents and collections records to facilitate research and inspire learning in everyone.

Chemistry: CHEM 3311 & 3312

Course Guide for CHEM 3311 & 3112