| Legend | |
|
|
Access is provided through GALILEO. CSU Faculty/Students/Staff Sign In Required. |
 |
Public Access |
 |
Federal Government Publication (Public Access) |
 |
Georgia State Government Publication (Public Access) |
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
Resources For Small Business Owners |
|
|---|---|
 |
|
 |
|
 |
|
- Publically Accessible
Georgia Small Business Resources |
|
|
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
- Publically Accessible
Celebrating more than 80 years representing America’s small-business owners, NSBA is a staunchly nonpartisan organization with 65,000 members in every state and every industry in the U.S. We are proud to be the nation’s first small-business advocacy organization.
Resources for taxpayers who file Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Schedules C, E, F or Form 2106, as well as small businesses with assets under $10 million.
The Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) and Small Business Technology Transfer (STTR) programs are highly competitive programs that encourage domestic small businesses to engage in Federal Research/Research and Development (R/R&D) with the potential for commercialization. Through a competitive awards-based program, SBIR and STTR enable small businesses to explore their technological potential and provide the incentive to profit from its commercialization.
LLC or Corporation?: Choose the Right Form for Your Business by
LLC vs. C-Corp vs. S-Corp: The most important business decision you'll make Whether you are starting a new business or thinking about an existing one, the big question is "Which legal structure is best?" The answer has important legal and tax consequences.LLC or Corporation? explains: the basics of all business entities why sole proprietorships and partnerships are usually a poor choice how to avoid being personally liable for business debts how to pay less tax by choosing the right entity how to convert from one business entity to another, and requirements for doing business out of state. LLC or Corporation? is packed with real-world examples to help you make the best choice for your company. The 9th edition is updated with COVID-related information for small businesses.
The Tax and Legal Playbook : Game-Changing Solutions To Your Small Business Questions by
The Tax Rules Have Changed. Your Business Should, Too.The Tax Cut and Jobs Act of 2017 marks the biggest tax reform in more than 30 years. The changes to the tax code are complex (especially for the small-business owner), but you don't have to go it alone. CPA and Attorney Mark J. Kohler delivers a comprehensive analysis of the new tax and legal structure you desperately need to help make the new tax law work for you.In this revised edition of The Tax and Legal Playbook, Kohler reveals clear-cut truths about tax and legal planning and delivers a practical, play-by-play guide that helps you build wealth, save on taxes, and protect your assets. Using real-world case studies, tax-savvy tips, game plans, and discussion points, Kohler coaches you through the complexities of the tax game of the small-business owner. You'll also learn how to:Examine your business needs and pick the right business entity for youBuild your personal and corporate credit in eight stepsImplement affordable asset protection strategiesTake advantage of underutilized business tax deductionsPick the right health-care, retirement, and estate plansBring on partners and investors the right wayPlan for your future with self-directed retirement fundsReading from cover to cover or refer to each chapter as needed, you will come away wiser and better equipped to make the best decisions for your business, your family, and yourself.
Form a Partnership: The Legal Guide for Business Owners by
The nuts-and-bolts guide to forming a partnership A solid partnership agreement is the foundation for a lasting and successful business partnership. Don't skip this essential step, or you might run into major problems later. Form a Partnership helps you create the agreement you need for your shared business venture. It takes you through the important issues, then helps you write your own partnership agreement tailored to your needs, clause-by-clause. The book covers: cash, property, and service contributions financial and tax liabilities how partners will make decisions allocating profits and losses admitting new partners what happens if a partner wants out buying out a partner's interest the death of a partner and much more. The 11th edition--completely updated to reflect current law and business issues--provides the forms, worksheets, and legal information you need to create a partnership agreement. With Downloadable Forms: download and customize partnership agreements (details inside).
Patent Pending in 24 Hours by
Everything you need to protect your invention now The provisional patent application (PPA) is a quick, inexpensive and legal way to claim your invention--and buy yourself time to determine whether it's worthwhile to pursue a regular patent. Patent Pending in 24 Hours shows you how to: conduct a patent search online complete all the necessary forms evaluate potential hurdles to patentability prepare informal drawings file your application, and file a new PPA to reflect modifications The 8th edition covers the latest implications of the "America Invents Act," as well as recent revisions to patent rules and regulations. Thousands of people have used Patent Pending in 24 Hours successfully. You can too! Includes key PPA-related forms: nondisclosure agreement, patent assignment, prototype-maker agreement, and joint-ownership agreement.
Books and eBooks are accessible through 
How to Write a Business Plan by
Step-by-step advice on preparing a business plan You need a sound business plan to start a business or raise money to expand an existing one. For over 30 years, How to Write a Business Plan has helped fledgling entrepreneurs--from small service businesses and retailers to large manufacturing firms--write winning plans and get needed financing. This bestselling book contains clear step-by-step instructions and forms to put together a convincing business plan with realistic financial projections, effective marketing strategies, and overall business goals. You'll learn how to: figure out if your business idea will make money determine and forecast cash flow create profit and loss forecasts prepare marketing and personnel plans find potential sources of financing, and present your well-organized plan to lenders and other backers, and learn about best practices for raising money, from SBA loans to equity crowdfunding.
In business, the term franchise refers to the exclusive right given to someone to market a company’s goods or services in a designated territory. In return for a specified fee and usually a share of the profits, the franchisor provides the product, the name, and sometimes the physical plant and the advertising. One well-known example of a franchised business is McDonald’s, the fast-food restaurant chain.
The Franchisee Handbook by
Is Franchising Right For You? Why start a business from scratch when you can have a piece of the greatest expansion strategy ever conceived? Franchising is BIG and getting bigger in every sector--from restaurants and coffee chains to pet care and insurance. There is a franchise for everything and everyone. As a potential franchise owner, you can be in charge of your own success while being supported by a known brand. Franchising gives you that ability, along with the satisfaction that comes only with building something that can last a lifetime and beyond. And, if you are successful, you eventually stop sweating the details and have the freedom to enjoy your life in a way that most around you cannot. In The Franchisee Handbook, franchise expert Mark Siebert walks you through the process of vetting and buying a franchise, helps you ask the right questions of franchisors and yourself, and gives you the resources you need to decide if franchising is right for you. Siebert shows you how to do your homework before making what could be the greatest financial decision of your life. You will learn how to: Accurately assess the risks of buying a franchise Determine if a franchise is a good fit for your personal goals Research and vet potential franchise opportunities Create a startup plan that meets your business goals Prepare your franchise for success Why dream about owning a franchise when you can take concrete steps to make it happen today? With The Franchisee Handbook as your guide, you have the power in your hands to start your own franchise journey right now.
The Franchise Era by
As Hollywood shifts towards the digital era, the role of the media franchise has become more prominent. This edited collection, from a range of international scholars, argues that the franchise is now an integral element of American media culture. As such, the collection explores the production, distribution and marketing of franchises as a historical form of media-making - analysing the complex industrial practice of managing franchises across interconnected online platforms. Examining how traditional media incumbents like studios and networks have responded to the rise of new entrants from the technology sector (such as Facebook, Apple, Amazon, Netflix and Google), the authors take a critical look at the way new and old industrial logics collide in an increasingly fragmented and consolidated mediascape.
Franchise Bible: How to Buy a Franchise or Franchise Your Own Business by
The Insider's Guide to Buying a Franchise or Franchising Your Business In this easy-to-read guide, franchise expert Rick Grossmann and franchise attorney Michael J. Katz impart decades-worth of insight and advice on what it takes to make your franchise operation successful. Grossmann and Katz share expert tutorials, tricks of the trade, and access to sample franchise documents, checklists, and questionnaires designed to get you organized, support you through the process and get your new franchise off the ground. If you're thinking of buying a franchise, you'll learn how to: Determine if running a franchse is right for you Navigate franchise disclosure documents and agreements Identify the signs of a good franchise opportunity If you're thinking of franchising your existing business, you'll learn how to: Pick the best method for expanding your business Understand the keys to establishing a successful franchise system Evaluate potential franchisees and grow your franchiseWhether you want to buy a franchise or franchise your own business you'll learn what to expect, how to move forward, and how to avoid costly mistakes--makingFranchise Bible required reading.
Titles are available through GALILEO
