Spanish Linguistics: PHONETICS- SPAN 3165

Keywords to Consider for your Research:

• Dialectology (of Spanish-speaking world)
• Phonetics (of Spanish-speaking world)
• Phonology (of Spanish-speaking world)
• Ethnology/Ethnography (of Spanish-speaking world)
• Sociolinguistics

Columbus State University

Department of Modern and Classical Languages

Spanish Phonetics, SPAN 3165

Final Project Explanation

The Project consists of 6 sections: 

1. An abstract 
2. An annotated bibliography (with at least 3 sources)
3. A research paper (at least 3 pages plus a works cited page; sociolinguistic analysis, a phonetic rule analysis and an analysis of theparticipants most noteworthy phonological features)
4.  An orthographic transcription (of at least 3 spoken minutes by the participant)
5. A phonetic transcription (of the orthographic transcription and including the orthographic transcript)
6. A presentation of the final project

 OTHER IMPORTANT INFORMATON:

• The project will be broken down into smaller steps during the semester.  See the professor for further details.

• You can write this project in either Spanish or English.  Please use APA style. 

• The participants were chosen from auditory archives in the library.  Every student will receive a CD with an interview.  The participant is the interviewee (do not include the interviewer in the phonetic transcription).

*This project is made possible by the ethnographic work of Mr. Adalbelio Garcia; the Schwob Memorial Library and Prof. Paula Adams; and, the CSU Archives and Archivist, David Owings. *

CSU Libraries Archives

Hours: 9am-12pm & 1pm-5pm

Established in 1975, the Archives serves as a repository for materials documenting the history of Columbus State University and the greater Columbus region. Because of this dual mission, the Archives comprises two distinct collections; the Columbus State University Collection, and the Chattahoochee Valley Historical Collections. Donations for each collection are welcomed, and potential donors should contact the archival staff. Please use the menu bar at the left to learn more about our collections and conducting local history research.