Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CSU

CSU LIBRARIES GENERAL COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY: General Collection Development Guidelines: Section III

Section III

Storage

 

Due to the limited amount of space within Schwob Library and the Music Library, storage of collections is a major consideration when accepting donations, adding, or discarding items in or out of the collection.

 

CSU Libraries also has a limited amount of space where collections can be placed in a climate controlled environment, should items under consideration require a climate controlled storage environment. In addition, should items donated or purchased require a controlled environment, CSU Archives would be consulted to determine if the library can house the items and maintain the integrity of the items.  

 

Remote Storage & Plans for Renovation

 

CSU Libraries does not have a remote, or off campus, storage location. Due to the renovation plans to begin at the end of 2018, this may change. If remote storage is used to store collections while the renovation is ongoing, the library will make available how to acquire materials in remote storage, if possible.

 

Collections that would be considered for remote storage would be selected by factors such as subject, circulation history, number of copies available, and online accessibility. A plan of where and when items will be stored will be made available prior, and during, the library renovation.