AUDIO-VISUAL MATERIALS
CSU Libraries purchases multimedia materials (CDs, DVDs, Streaming Video Databases) to provide scholarly and curricular support for all CSU programs.
TEXTBOOKS
As a general rule, CSU Libraries does not add textbooks to its the collections except at the discretion of one or more subject librarians. CSU faculty are allowed to place personal or publisher copies of textbooks on reserve.
SUBJECT SCOPE & COVERAGE
The Columbus State University Libraries builds its collections to support the needs of CSU academic programs. The scope and coverage levels of each subject area may vary according to individual program needs. The following list describes differing levels of subject coverage, and the institutions to which they apply. CSU librarians assess each subject area annually to assure that subject coverage fully supports program needs.
COMPREHENSIVE LEVEL - All recorded works of any significance
RESEARCH LEVEL - Major source materials required for graduate & post-graduate-level independent
research including all of the specialized reference works, many specialized monographs, and the journals and research databases specific to the subject. Collections at this level are typically available at larger research institutions such as University of Georgia, Athens.
STUDY LEVEL - Resources which fully support the graduate and undergraduate teaching curriculum of the institution. A study-level collection consists mainly of monographs, works of leading writers in the discipline, leading journals and research databases, and major reference sources. This level is usually available at most regional state universities
BASIC LEVEL - Selective materials intended to provide a broad overview
MINIMAL LEVEL - Subjects outside the library’s scope where little or no
collecting activity takes place. This level
included only the most basic reference sources.