Accessible Via GALILEO*
Public Access
Additional Information (hover mouse over icon)
Note: * Are titles can be viewed by the public, content may be restricted.
Need research or homework help and cannot come to the library? No problem! Type your question in the chatbox below, call the reference desk, send a text, or email and a library professional will respond to you shortly after, during our normal hours. If you submit your question outside of regular hours, we will respond as soon as possible when we return the following business day. Our subject-specific research and study guides can be very helpful,l as well.
Check out our list of reference faculty and staff if you have a subject-specific question and want to contact a librarian directly, who also often respond even after the regular chat and text hours. However, this is not guaranteed. The faculty and staff at CSU Libraries can be fairly flexible in meeting you virtually or one-on-one to assist you in your academic goals and pursuits.
This page provides suggestions and guidance to find information sources related to victims of crime and victimology. The sources below are grouped by topic and information sources, which are offered by CSU Libraries. Also included in this guide are official online webpages of government entities and their divisions and other credible and authoritative information sources about victims and crime.
National Crime Victimization Survey Resource Guide
This guide is from the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data. It gives an overview of the survey and methodology and discusses access to data files and options for online analysis.
Criminal Victimization in the United States - Statistical Tables
Presents 110 tables with detailed data on major variables measured by the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS).
Summary findings and additional resources.
Summary findings and links to bulletins and crime data briefs discussing specific categories of victims (i.e. students, intimate partners, juveniles, age, race, etc.) and types of crimes (i.e. identity theft, gang violence, sexual assault, etc.)
Crime and the Nation's Households
Presents information on households or persons in households who experienced one or more violent or property victimizations. Measuring crime by counting the affected households gives an understanding of whether the crime is concentrated in fewer households or spread among more households in the Nation. Estimates are from data collected in the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS).
National Crime Victimization Survey Resource Guide
This guide is from the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data. It gives an overview of the survey and methodology and discusses access to data files and options for online analysis.
Includes Victimology Research Database on research in progress, news bulletins, and many links to victimology sites worldwide.
Information on grants, victim assistance, technical assistance as well as statistics, web resources and full-text publications.
Database of federal and state laws, cases, rules, attorney general opinions, etc. on Victim's law. Also listings of victimology resources.
DOD policy, reports, research and information for victims of sexual assault in the military.
Child Maltreatment
Crimes Against Children Research Center - Reports on the Developmental Victimization Survey conducted by researchers at this center.
Child Maltreatment - This page from the Center for Disease Control's Violence Prevention program includes fact sheets and links to data sources.
National Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect - Provides information about datasets from researchers in the child maltreatment field.
National Child Abuse & Neglect Data Systems - A data collection program of the Administration for Children & Families.
Child Maltreatment: reports from the states to the National Child Abuse & Neglect Data System
Juvenile Delinquency & Youth Violence
Report from the Bureau of Justice Statistics.
"Presents findings of violent crime committed against or by juveniles from 1993 to 2003. Comparisons are made in the report between younger teens (ages 12-14), older teens (ages 15-17), and adults. Data are drawn from the National Crime Victimization Survey for nonfatal violent victimization and offending {rape/sexual assault, robbery, aggravated and simple assault} among those 12 years and older, and from the FBI’s Supplemental Homicide Reports for fatal victimization and offending of the entire population. Analyzes include characteristics of the victim, offender, and of the criminal event such as weapons, location, and time of day."
The Monitoring the Future study ongoing longitudinal survey of American Youth ask questions about behaviors, attitudes, and values. This annual publication reports the findings on adolescent drug use. Data sets are archived with ICPSR.
The National Center for Juvenile Justice is a private non-profit research organization devoted to understanding, prevention and control of child and family justice. Publications provided on the website include statistical factsheets and reports, such as the annual Juvenile Arrests bulletin.
A longitudinal study conducted by the Institute of Behavioral Science at the University of Colorado. In this study youth self-report delinquent behaviors. Data sets are archived with ICPSR.
The OJJDP Statistical Briefing Book (SBB) enables users to access online information via OJJDP's Web site to learn more about juvenile crime and victimization and about youth involved in the juvenile justice system.
Web Resources
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Includes a number of reports on these issues, a selection of which are presented below. Please review the publications page for a full listing.
Presents data on trends in nonfatal intimate partner violence among U.S. households from 1993 to 2011. Data are from the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), which collects information on nonfatal crimes reported and not reported to the police.
Presents findings on nonfatal stalking victimization in the U.S., based on the largest data collection of such behavior to date. Data were collected in a supplement to the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS) and sponsored by the Office on Violence Against Women (OVW).
The Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Data Resource Center provides information on how data are collected and used in the states. Funded by the Bureau of Justice Statistics, this Center seeks to identify the types of information currently being captured by state and local agencies.
This page from the Center for Disease Control's Violence Prevention program includes fact sheets and links to data sources.
An overview of national surveys from the National Institute of Justice.
A project of the National Resource Center on Domestic Violence, this website features research reports on sexual and domestic violence as well as links to relevant data sets for the study of violence against women.
This report from the U.S. Government Accountability Office provides an overview of relevant national data collection programs.
Citations and statistics presented by the National Institute of Justice.
This page from the Center for Disease Control's Violence Prevention program includes fact sheets and links to data sources.
This is a guide from the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data. It provides an overview of relevant datasets in the archive, including those available for online analysis. Links to other topical websites are also included.
2017 National Crime Victims' Rights Week Resource Guide: Crime and Victimization Fact Sheets.
A guide by the UCLA Law Library documenting all Hate Crime law and legislation in all states. Link will go directly to the Georgia hate crime statutes.
Tackling Disability Discrimination and Disability Hate Crime by
Placing the experiences of victims at its heart, this book provides an authoritative overview of disability hate crime - explaining what it is, how it happens, its legal status, the impact on victims and how individuals and agencies should respond. The guide outlines innovative projects developed to address the problem, and provides tailored guidance for professionals spanning education, health and social care, and criminal justice. It also offers recommendations for effective multi-agency working.
Restricted Access by
How reconsidering digital media and participatory cultures from the standpoint of disability allows for a full understanding of accessibility. While digital media can offer many opportunities for civic and cultural participation, this technology is not equally easy for everyone to use. Hardware, software, and cultural expectations combine to make some technologies an easier fit for some bodies than for others. A YouTube video without closed captions or a social network site that is incompatible with a screen reader can restrict the access of users who are hard of hearing or visually impaired. Often, people with disabilities require accommodation, assistive technologies, or other forms of aid to make digital media accessible--useable--for them. Restricted Access investigates digital media accessibility--the processes by which media is made usable by people with particular needs--and argues for the necessity of conceptualizing access in a way that will enable greater participation in all forms of mediated culture.
Crimes against people with disabilities. by 
Insane by
An urgent exposé of the mental health crisis in our courts, jails, and prisons from a veteran public radio journalist. America has made mental illness a crime. Jails in New York, Los Angeles, and Chicago each house more people with mental illnesses than any hospital. As many as half of all people in America's jails and prisons have a psychiatric disorder. One in four fatal police shootings involves a person with such disorders. In this revelatory book, journalist Alisa Roth goes deep inside the criminal justice system to show how and why it has become a warehouse where inmates are denied proper treatment, abused, and punished in ways that make them sicker.
Hard Time by
Hard Time: A Fresh Look at Understanding and Reforming the Prison, 4th Edition, is a revised and updated version of the highly successful text addressing the origins, evolution, and promise of America's penal system. Draws from both ethnographic and professional material, and situates the prison experience within both contemporary and historical contexts Features first person accounts from male and female inmates and staff, revealing what it's actually like to live and work in prison Includes all-new chapters on prison reform and on supermax correctional facilities, including the latest research on confinement, long-term segregation, and death row Explores a wide range of topics, including the nature of prison as punishment; prisoner personality types and coping strategies; gang violence; prison officers' custodial duties; and psychological, educational, and work programs
Mentally Ill Persons Who Commit Crimes: Punishment or Treatment?
The Sentencing Project: Mentally Ill Offenders In the Criminal Justice System
Ill-Equipped: U.S. Prisons and Offenders with Mental Illness
A report from the Bureau of Justice Statistics comparing crimes against persons age 65 or older with those in younger age groups using data from the National Crime Victimization Survey and the Uniform Crime Reports.
This page from the Center for Disease Control's Violence Prevention program includes fact sheets and links to data sources.
A program of the U.S. Administration on Aging. Look on the navigation menu under the library for statistical resources.
While no data is readily available on this website, lists of publications with relevant studies are cited.
Gale Encyclopedia of American La - Victims of Crime Act of 1984 by
An article taken from Gale Encyclopedia of American Law defining and describing Victims of Crime Act of 1984
Westlaw Campus Research