Skip to main content

CSU

Government Documents: Using the Collection

The Government Documents Department supports the Libraries' objectives by providing federal and state resources, instruction and other services for Columbus State University and the local community.

Introduction

Established as a federal depository library (No. 0120A) in 1975, the collection of United States government documents at Columbus State University covers a variety of topics to assist students with their curriculum needs and provide resources for the community. 

Searching for Online Documents

Many of CSU Libraries' government documents collections are online.  There are several ways to find online U.S. government documents.

Many of found in the Libraries' online catalog, GIL-FIND.  Many older documents are available through the Hathi Trust Digital Library at:  https://www.hathitrust.org/.

Other online resources that you may find helpful are:

  • GovInfo:  Database provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
  • Catalog of U.S. Government Publications:  Finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available.

You can also browse this Subject Guide.  There are many resources linked to it that you may find useful for your research.  Please explore!

Important Information for Depository Visitors

CSU Libraries houses a large collection of print government documents. 

To search the collection, please use GIL-FIND.  Instructions on how to search in GIL-FIND are online here.

The vast majority of the tangible government documents collection is located on the first floor of the library building. 
 
Several computer workstations and microfiche readers are located on the first floor of the library. 
 
The depository documents are available for in-house use to all patrons.  Some serial, frequently used and reference government publications are designated "non-circulating".  Otherwise, all patrons possessing a photo-identification enjoy circulating privileges for government publications that are not designated as "non-circulating". 
 
 Access to electronic government publications is provided online through the computer workstations that are located on the main floor of the library.   
 
Reference librarians and staff on duty provide government documents service.

GovBookTalk

GovBookTalk highlights some of the best government documents available.

Below are some current highlights:

Loading ...